We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Front Desk Staff Let Them Down, Otherwise It's A Decent Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #153 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Front Desk Staff Let Them Down, Otherwise It's A Decent Hotel...”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Myself and my colleague booked this Hilton for two nights in September.
I booked it via Expedia, and got a good rate.

I have a Hilton Honours Diamond card and I was a little bit miffed at how negative, perhaps even bordering on rude, the front desk clerk was about us having booked via Expedia, and because we had my Diamond card counted for nothing.
I wasn't looking for points, but a smile and a "Sir, we've given you a nice room", (even if they haven't!), wouldn't have been difficult for the snooty man.

That aside, this is a nice hotel.
The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable.
There was a fridge in the room too, and I think there was also a microwave oven.

The hotel is well placed for Times Square and we were able to walk to lots of good bars and restaurants.

There is a fire house nearby, and they were letting folk sit in the engines to get their picture taken.
If you stay there you should check it out.
The guys are really nice, and I salute them for doing such an amazing job!

This hotel isn't at the top of my NYC list, but there is nothing wrong with it.
I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Travelling_Scot_10,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square during you September visit to the Big Apple! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the condition of our rooms and the location of our hotel. We are certainly proud to be the neighbors of the amazing FDNY Ladder 4.

Our Hilton Honors program is a great way to reward our guests for their loyalty. Unfortunately by booking with Expedia we are not able to honor the benefits because the room was paid with them. However, I have GREAT NEWS! Hilton will match the rate for you, that way you can enjoy the low rate and the benefits of our reward program.

Although there is never a second chance for a great first impression I am committed to make your next stay a wonderful one. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of additional service.

Kind regards,

Laura Maldonado
Rooms Division Manager
212-581-7000
laura.maldonado@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,769
    2,462
    489
    129
    88
See reviews for
2,124
2,390
357
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I just returned from 6 days in New York City. I went for an early birthday celebration. I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. The hotel couldn't have been better. From the time I arrived until I left I was treated with warmth, respect and kindness. The room was a great size (especially based on NYC hotels). I want to especially thank Carolina Torres and Laura Maldonado for their kindness and "hospitality". The entire staff was exceptional - the bellmen were friendly and when asked "hailed" a cab for me. When I left in the morning they spoke to me and when I returned at night I was greeted with a smile. Also, there was a staff member close to the elevator ensuring only hotel guests were entering the elevator. Although the hotel isn't in a bad part of town this was very nice touch. The hotel is located in a wonderful location. It is close to the theatres and restaurants. It is only about one block from Times Square. I ate in the onsite restaurant several times for breakfast and lunch. The food and service were quite good.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I go back to NYC. I recommend it to anyone looking for a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

All the staff were pleasant, appreciative of my business, polite, and professional. Charles was very attentive and made my night with his friendliness. The room was very comfortable, plenty of room especially for a city hotel. Multiple power outlets easy to access for my electronic accessories. I've stayed in a few other hotels lately where that was not the case.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromTheFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for business twice a month for the last five years. They have the friendliest desk staff - Noemi, Joanna, Estella and bellmen - Charles etc. Laura, the guest services manager, is fabulous. The location is great. The rooms are a nice size for NYC and the renovations are beautiful. Love the beds. I also appreciate the business center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiostater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I was staying here because i wanted to be in relative walking distance from Times Square, Central Park and One Penn/Madison.

One block away from the tip of Times Square, nice morning walk (6 blocks) to columbus circle and 8 or so to penn.
Clean hotel, the room we had the AC seemed a bit loud but still slept through it. Bathrooms are small but it is NY. All in all a great stay.

On a busy street with some realy late pizza joints around - the side roads to get to the other streets might seem a bit seedy at times of night (i'm from suberbia)

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jf005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We travelled in January and I must admit when we pulled up outside the hotel i was a little worried as it didn't look as fancy as other Hiltons we had stayed in, but just shows you that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover and although the room was a little dated it was clean and we hardly spent any time in there anyway.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a short walk and your in the centre of all the action with a tour bus stop minutes away.
The Staff are extremely helpful and very friendly and as we arrived early evening and decided to get our bearings the concierge mapped out a walking route for us that took about an hour full circle. This was great and really set us off for our adventures the next day as we had already found major tourist points from our evening stroll.
We booked bed and breakfast and you are given vouchers to use in the adjoining Pigalle restaurant and you can choose from an extensive buffet, including porridge, pancakes, eggs and fruit or pay extra for things off the menu. we found the buffet had plenty to choose from and was definitely worth booking before we went. There is a Starbucks 2 Min's walk from the hotel though if you prefer.
We used the gym every morning and although it is only small it was usually empty so a good addition for us.
Overall we would go back to this hotel, as it was very conveniently located, the staff were friendly and it was clean. You don't spend much time there anyway as the trip to New York is all about getting out and about.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samiejo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is in the perfect location for lots of sightseeing in NYC. It's within easy walking distance of theaters, Times Square, the subway and so many great restaurants. Three of us split a king room with a pull-out bed. With the extra space taken up with the pull-out the room got a little tight and the bathroom wasn't extra large but sufficient. Take caution if you're a light sleeper. There is a fire station on the same block and they sounded the siren while coming and going especially at night. There was renovations going on at the time of our stay but I didn't even notice it.

Room Tip: Higher off the street the less noise you'll encounter. 14th floor was great and had a western f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurraah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 468 in New York City
6,645 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,419 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 468 in New York City
7,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 468 in New York City
5,288 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing