We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 4 night stay @ Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #153 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
“great 4 night stay @ Thanksgiving”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during Thanksgiving week. We loved everything about our stay and we will be staying here when we return to NYC. We had a room on the 12th floor with a view of 8th ave. We attended the Macys Parade which was an easy walk from the hotel. All the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was excellent. We had no complaints. And I'd like to thank Joanna for leaving a card and cupcakes for my friend as I requested, much appreciated. Also, we got a goodie bag because we were their guests of the day. Thank you Hilton Garden Inn :)

Room Tip: 12th floor facing 8th ave. quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellySW1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Susan S,

WOW!!! It appears as if you absolutely saw our beautiful city in all it's splendor. Thank you for your great comments, I am glad that after a very busy and exciting day touring and exploring our great city, we were able to warmly welcome you back to your temporary home away from home.

We look forward to your return, please feel free to contact me upon your next visit if I can be of any assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,765
    2,456
    488
    129
    85
See reviews for
2,117
2,383
357
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I admit it...I'm a bit of hotel snob. I love everything from trendy boutique stays to grand traditional spaces. But, for my money and the ease of it, I genuinely enjoy Hilton Garden Inn in TS. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable and quiet, and Pigalle is not what you think of when you think "hotel restaurant." It's delightful. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Dana S,

Thank you for your kind words, we are humbled and extremely appreciative of your high praise. I am glad that the hotel and the services of Pigalle met your expectations and added ease and comfort to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you back to NYC.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I fear that this place is by no means Excellent or even Very Good. It is in a reasonable location on 8th Avenue a few blocks south of Central Park and not far from Times Square, though the immediate area is somewhat scruffy. We found the reception staff less than charming, though the exception was the tall man who looked after the luggage for us when we left and who was very pleasant and helpful. He seriously merits promotion to manager. The room was big and clean though in rather drab browns and beiges. The real problem was the noise. The building seems to be badly built. The whole structure reverberates noisily when a subway train goes by, which is very frequently. We had a room at the front and the noise from 8th was not adequately excluded by the double glazing. And lastly, the room walls seemed paper thin. We were kept awake by the couple on one side when trying to sleep and woken up by children on the other side at 6.00 am in the morning. We did not eat there. Plenty of reasonable diners are nearby. We would not go back.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back. Grim view, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Freeman1948,
I would like to take a moment to personally thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. Reading your comments I am sad to learn that we were not able to create a memorable stay for you. It is really disappointing that the hotel and our desk staff what not what you expected and that the noise was a major disturbance. NYC is a city that never sleeps and our hotel is located in a central location where busy theater district neighborhood and the vibe of the city might be noisy if you are not used to it. I wish you would give us a chance to rectify all those problems during your stay and turn things around for you.
I hope that maybe in the future you will give us another chance to make up for this experience. I encourage you to contact me directly on your next trip to NYC if you decide to stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We (me, my wife, 16 year old son and 14 year old daughter) stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn TImes Square for four nights based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel was exactly what we wanted - a convenient and clean place to sleep and shower in between seeing all the sites in NYC. Below is a summary of our experience at the hotel:

LOCATION: The hotel is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan and is a block or two from Times Square, the Theatre District and the subway. It is also close to many restaurants, including the Food Emporium (a convenience store-like restaurant with prepared foods and groceries).

ROOM: Our 5th floor room was slightly smaller than the usual Hampton Inn (our typical choice of hotel), which we expected in NYC. The room was quiet, the beds were very comfortable, the shower pressure was excellent, the HVAC responsive and the free wi-fi greatly appreciated.

SERVICE: We were pleasantly surprised by how good the service was at the hotel. We arrived at 11:45am from the airport and they were prepared to let us check in. We did not want the room they offered (next to the elevator), thus we put our luggage in storage and toured Central Park. Upon returning at 3pm, we checked into our room (away from the elevator). We also experienced great service when requesting a late check-out (1pm), with storing our luggage a second time and when inquiring about staying an additional night due to inclement weather. The doorman (Charles) was particularly helpful and charming as he entertained as we waited for our taxi to take us back to the airport.

EATING: The hotel does not include a free breakfast unless you are a gold or platinum Hilton Honors member. We did not mind as we wanted to sample the various bakeries in the neighborhood. Nearby restaurants included the aforementioned Food Emporium (one block), Carve (great deli-like breakfast two blocks away), Pongsri (nice Thai restaurant one block away), Patzeria (tiny takeout Italian three blocks away) and Tony Di Napoli (more formal family style Italian six blocks away). We never did eat at the hotel's restaurant, which looked nice. Lastly, the hotel offers free starbucks coffee in the lobby and there are two Starbucks within two blocks of the hotel.

GYM: The hotel had a modest gym that included two ellipticals, two treadmills, dumbbells and a mat for stretching.

CLEANLINESS: The hotel's overall cleanliness was acceptable. Our room was spotless and always serviced nicely every day by housecleaning. The lobby was also well maintained. The only shortcoming was dirty floor mats in the elevators that needed to be vacuumed.

BUSINESS CENTER: The hotel had a small business center with four computers with internet connection, a printer and a copier.

SUMMARY: This is a great hotel for visitors seeking a clean and convenient stay at a reasonable cost. We will stay here again if we ever visit NYC in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherTschieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi ChristopherTschieder,

Many thanks for your glowing review. I am delighted to know that you found your accommodations comfortable and clean and the staff especially Charles to be friendly and helpful. We want our guests to be happy and I am glad we accomplished this goal during your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a great hotel at a reasonable price, especially considering its excellent location near Times Square and the theater district. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. Our room was immaculate and fairly spacious by NYC standards. The hotel has lovely restaurant which was a bit pricey but well within the range of usual prices for food in New York. We've visited New York multiple times and this was overall the best hotel we've found.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewebb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi ewebb50,

We are delighted and honored that you consider us to be the best hotel that you've visited in NYC thus far. We want our guests to enjoy themselves and I am glad that we accomplished this goal during your time with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on your return trips.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

great location.2 blocks from all the action.Good bagel shop 3 blocks up, and a very good salad bar(carve) which is 2 blocks down.The hotel is clean and has large rooms by New York standards.They answered our request by allocating us on the 8th floor, and arrived with cup cakes and a card for birthday wishes.well done to the client liason officer.I would highly recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: as high as possible with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Good Day kevin s,

Happy Belated Birthday!! I am glad that we were able to accommodate your requests and make your day as special and memorable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back and calling you our guest once again.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My mum & I had 9 nights stay here & we loved staying here!! The staff were very friendly & our room was very spacious & clean! The housekeeping staff were very pleasant & friendly too. It's in a fantastic location, just minutes walk to Times Square & subways are just around the corner. We have been to NY many times before (we are from Australia!) & we have now found the perfect hotel to stay!!! I would now not stay anywhere else if I was reassured of one thing prior to my arrival........

So why have I rated it a 4 out of 5?? I requested in my booking a room on a higher floor as I read in some reviews the noise experienced in the lower levels from the subway that obviously runs straight underneath the hotel. We were given a room on the 5th floor & we were at first overwhelmed with the regular noise of the subway. We were out all day & not getting in until late at night so the noise/rumbling only affected us during the night. We got use to it after a while so we didn't let it ruin our very enjoyable stay here!!

We would absolutely stay here again as we loved it, (& I would definitely recommend it to all my family & friends), but only if we were guaranteed a room on a much higher level than 5!!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillabet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest of Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Good Day Lillabet75,

We honored that you have made us your premier choice hotel when traveling to NY and would be elated to welcome you back time and time again. I am sorry to hear that you were affected by the noise from the subway and we were not able to accommodate your request for a higher floor. Please be advised that the rooms in certain room categories are only located on floors 2-5, for instance our Standard Double Queen so we you very well may have been placed on the highest in the category booked.
While room assignments can never be guaranteed, I encourage you to contact me when you are planning to return and I will do my very best to place you in a room on a high floor.

Thank you and I hope to see you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#103 of 468 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 468 in New York City
5,282 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing