We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #141 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

“Nice hotel, service could have been even better”

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights 1st-3rd Oct 2013- this was a surprise trip for me and my boyfriend proposed to me after our first night there! The hotel was very welcoming and nicely decorated. Beds were comfortable and for a NYC room near Times Square the rooms were a good size. The hotel was in a great location. The only negative point is that my boyfriend had snuck a bottle of vintage champagne all the way from the UK to celebrate our engagement before going out for the evening but, after asking at reception, the restaurant, bar and room service, we had to settle for drinking it out of the glass tumblers in our room as they refused to provide us with champagne flutes or even wine glasses! We realise it was a bit of a protest to us not buying the champagne from them, but still we found it disappointing- you only plan get engaged once in your life! Worse still, we told them what we were celebrating and they did not even say congratulations. This was the only bad point of our entire stay in New York, which was a bit of a shame.
less

Room Tip: ooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Bin S,
I would like to take a moment to personally thank you for submitting your review. Congratulations on your engagement!! I am very disappointed hearing that we were not able to provide glasses for this special celebration. Please understand that we are not a full service hotel and the restaurant is not affiliated with the hotel that is why they could not provide you with glasses. We always do our best have some glasses at the front desk but for the last few weeks there have been many guests celebrating special occasions in the hotel and we must have run out, I am really sorry that your celebration was not what you expected and that our team did not recognized it in the proper way. I can assure you that I will discuss your comments with my team. I hope that maybe in the future you will give us a chance to make up for this experience. I strongly encourage you to contact me directly if you have any further questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,306 - 3,312 of 7,394 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

A group of three of us stayed here for a 4-day girls getaway at the beginning of December. Due to the time of year the cost was more due to the season but compared to other hotels in the area, we found it to be a good value. The location is excellent for seeing the sights and the theatre. There is a subway station nearby that will take you to the 911 memorial area. The room we occupied on the 12th floor was clean, beds were comfortable, and the room was spacious and relatively quiet for the city(only once did I hear the fire truck sirens during the 4 nights there). The area felt safe to me and I would not hesitate to stay here solo. The staff here is the best! From check-in to check-out, they were always helpful and did so with a smile. Need directions or information about the subway, no problem. They even helped arrange our transportation back to the airport at a very reasonable price. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Mary S,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review! I am so happy that you chose our hotel for your 4 days girls’ getaway! It’s great that location of the hotel was suitable to all your destinations and that hotel and rooms were clean and made you feel safe. I am delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one and helped you with directions and airport transportation. I hope that if you will be planning another girls getaway you will choose our hotel again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights 1st-3rd Oct 2013- this was a surprise trip for me and my boyfriend proposed to me after our first night there! The hotel was very welcoming and nicely decorated. Beds were comfortable and for a NYC room near Times Square the rooms were a good size. The hotel was in a great location. The only negative point is that my boyfriend had snuck a bottle of vintage champagne all the way from the UK to celebrate our engagement before going out for the evening but, after asking at reception, the restaurant, bar and room service, we had to settle for drinking it out of the glass tumblers in our room as they refused to provide us with champagne flutes or even wine glasses! We realise it was a bit of a protest to us not buying the champagne from them, but still we found it disappointing- you only plan get engaged once in your life! Worse still, we told them what we were celebrating and they did not even say congratulations. This was the only bad point of our entire stay in New York, which was a bit of a shame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lysd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear lysd85
I would like to take a moment to personally thank you for submitting your review. Congratulations on your engagement!! I am very disappointed hearing that we were not able to provide glasses for this special celebration. Please understand that we are not a full service hotel and the restaurant is not affiliated with the hotel that is why they could not provide you with glasses. We always do our best have some glasses at the front desk but for the last few weeks there have been many guests celebrating special occasions in the hotel and we must have run out, I am really sorry that your celebration was not what you expected and that our team did not recognized it in the proper way. I can assure you that I will discuss your comments with my team. I hope that maybe in the future you will give us a chance to make up for this experience. I strongly encourage you to contact me directly if you have any further questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This trip, our first to New York was to celebrate a special occasion. The hotel is ideally located for easy access to most attractions either by walking and / or by tube. The Hotel staff as a whole are welcoming although that cannot be said of the management of the restaurant "Pigalle's" which is not owned by the Hilton group neither is the roof top bar, both of who feature on the Hilton website. You are forced to eat at least breakfast at the restaurant if on a B&B rate and if you like cold food that is good. There are a number of other bars, restaurants to eat at locally offering far better value for money and I would strongly advice doing so. The room (530) was of a good size although a little noisy to start with but you get use to the bustle of people and tubes. The tube stations are close by and are easy to use and understand. Walking distance to the theatres.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Terry P,
Thank you for taking time to share experience on your recent stay with us. Congratulations on your special celebration! I am glad to hear that you found our staff being friendly and I am sorry that the restaurant came out short on this trip. I will make sure to address your comments with their management. I truly apologize for the noise, we are located in the busy Times Square neighborhood and the vibe of the city might be noisy if you are not used to it. I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future, I strongly encourage you to contact me prior your next trip and I will take care of assigning a nice and quiet room.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I always return to this hotel since the staff, venue and facilities are always excellent. It is a small walk to the theater district, Times Square and there are several close by locations for public transportation if you cannot walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear James W
It is a great pleasure and honor to know that you have chosen our hotel on several trips to NYC and that our staff and facilities and location are to your satisfaction. We will be looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would like to thanks for the good service from your staff all around our stay at this hotel. I have already recommended the facilities to a few friends. The room was excellent in space and equipment available for guests, compared to other expensive hotels in NYC where we have stayed. The Restaurant and Bar connected to the lobby makes a great alternative mainly for breakfast and after a long walk relax. The fitness room is small but comply with purpose. Continue your excellent job and I hope to return to your hotel next year or soon. Merry Christmas!!!!!

Room Tip: If are couples ask for the king bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberto-SJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Roberto-SJPR
I am so happy to hear that we created a memorable stay for you during visit to Big Apple! It was great honor to call you our guest and it’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed hotel and its location. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends back in the future. I will be happy to assist you with any requests you might have on your next trip so please feel free to contact me.
Have a wonderful Christmas!!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton Times Square during the Busy Christmas season.The rooms are very comfortable,very clean, and quiet. The location is fantastic for tourists, and it is safe!The hotel staff was very courteous and obviously well trained. I would definitely recommend staying at this quality hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Foodieman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hi Foodieman4,

Happy Holidays!!! Yes this is one of our busiest times of year as we welcome wonderful travelers like yourself from all over the world, in town to see our great city during this magical time; there is nothing like NYC during Christmas time. I hope you had the opportunity to throughly enjoy the city, if not there is always next year.

Hope to see you then,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713 | Fax: 212-974-0291

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#190 of 470 in New York City
8,282 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 470 in New York City
9,897 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#112 of 470 in New York City
7,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,815 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing