We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location for last minute NYC trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location for last minute NYC trip”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the great value and location of this hotel when we made a last minute trip to see Newsies in NYC last summer. It was close to subway locations and right in the heart of Times Square/Broadway. The staff was very friendly and the hotel room was so quiet even though we were right above a very busy street. Well definitely stay here any time we come to New York for a quick weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4fromatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear 4fromatl,
I’m happy that your last minute stay with us turned out to be a pleasant experience and you enjoyed location and the hotel. We will look forward to your next stay with us real soon!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,739
    2,429
    478
    127
    84
See reviews for
2,090
2,364
354
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Have stayed here in the past and loved it. Stayed here on Dec. 15 and found the staff to be inattentive. Arrived before room was ready and wanted to store bags, the attendant at desk waved his hand in the direction of three men and said a name of someone that would help us. One was on a personal phone so I asked one of the other ones to store our bags. Seemed like it was a bit of trouble for him but did comply. Returned later to check in, same thing to retrieve ours bags with a whole different crew. Another wave of the arm to direct me to someone to retrieve our bags. Since I am a honors member I was given a voucher for a bottle of water in the store located in the lobby. Clerk was on a personal phone, asked him which water was complimentary and with another wave of an arm in the direction of the water I found what I was looking for. He said nothing and just took my voucher and continued his personal conversation on his phone.
With that being said this is still a great room in a great location. Managers- please train your staff to be more inviting! This was the only issue we had with this property. Room, cleanliness, toiletries, morning tea and coffee were top notch! But staff turned this property into just average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookieburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Cookieburns,
Thank you for taking time to submit your review and share comments on your recent stay with us. I a very disappointed to learn that on your previous stay was much better experience than this one. I am sorry that our staff did not make you feel welcome this time and I want to assure you that your comments will be address with my team members. We strive to make our guests feel like home and I’m sorry that we dropped the ball this time. I’m happy however to know that room cleanliness and amenities were to your satisfaction.
I hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us in the future. I encourage you to contact me prior your next trip to make sure that this time we make it a memorable stay.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An absolutely superb experience. Very friendly staff, ideal location (especially for theatregoers like us), and large comfortable room with a decent view. The thing that was most surprising to me was how quiet it was. While there was the inevitable noise of trucks backing up, construction, and garbage pickups, for the most part, it was as silent as the tomb -- with one unfortunate exception: the doors just -want- to slam. If you can take precautions to close them quietly, you're okay, but unfortunately, some folks just didn't want to take precautions. (Oh, and the hotel could benefit from using "Do Not Disturb" signs that don't fall off the door handles.) Overall, one of the best hotel experiences I've had, especially in New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear dsikula,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travelers. I am happy to hear that your stay was a superb experience and that you found our staff being friendly. It’s great to know that hotel location was convenient and that the comfort of the rooms was to your like. I am sorry that the noise from the slamming doors disturbed your peace but it’s good that it did not impact your overall stay.
I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square has a very good location, close to Times Square but not to close, rooms are comfortable, bed is excellent and the staff is very friendly. Subway station located on corner of 8th & 50th makes for easy access to the rest of the city, in addition there is an on site Icon parking garage (download coupons from app) free WiFi, on site restaurant, and tons of additional options nearby. There are pricier and cheaper options then the Hilton Garden Inn, but not many will offer a better value

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CKTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear CKTours,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers. I am happy to hear that your recent stay was a pleasant one and that the comfort of the hotel and convenience of location was what looked for. I hope that when planning your next trip to NYC you will consider staying with us again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

the hotel has been recently updated and was in a great location. we walked from penn station and then continued to walk the 3 days we were there. I read the reviews on trip advisor and found out the subway goes under the hotel so to make sure to be above the 5th floor. we were on the 6th flr. at the end of the hall so it was quiet except for 8th ave. but, that was ok. we grabbed food a the food emporium one block up and then found other places to eat, lots of little neighborhood restaurants. the broadway shows are all very close by, go the day you want to see the show and get good prices right at the theatre. we saw Jersey Boys, great.
the concierge in the hotel got us tickets for Empire State so no lines, go before 10am and the crowds.
Everyone should go at Christmas and see the store windows and all the decorations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear June B,
Thank you for sharing experience on your recent stay with us. I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you with a relatively quiet room and that hotel location was convenient with all dining options and theaters.
We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will choose our hotel again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have been to NYC and stayed in Times Square many times but this by far was our best hotel experience. Before arriving I contacted Joanna Butcher about this being a special occasion as we were celebrating a birthday and a welcome home for my daughter who had been overseas for four months. On arrival, the staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. When we arrived in the room, there were yellow roses with a Birthday card and a goody bag with fabulous gourmet cupcakes. Thank you Joanna for the nice surprise!! Charles at the front desk was wonderful!!! He brightened our day each morning with a big smile and always asking how he could help us!! The women at the concierge desk were excellent with directions and answering questions. YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL STAFF that is very rare focused on customer experience!! I have finally found MY Hotel in NYC!! I will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view of the city!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Valerie D,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. It was my pleasure to assist you prior and during your stay and I am very happy that you enjoyed amenities in the room. I will make sure to extend your compliments to Charles and our concierge. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Big Apple and please do not hesitate to contact me prior your next trip!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for 4 different Christmas Season visits to New York starting with the first year it operated as the HGI. The quality of service has been consistently excellent with friendly and helpful staff. The location is ideal with theatres and restaurants all within easy walking distance, and we are seniors, or a quick and inexpensive taxi ride. There is a good restaurant associated with the Hotel that has efficient service and a nice varied menu for breakfast, lunch or dinner and efficient staff. Rooms facing 8th Ave. may afford some view of New York's street life and skyline but tend to be noisier than the rooms at the back that face an alley so we recommend asking for a quiet room and chances are you will be at the back. After all you are probably not in New York for scenery from your Hotel room. Our room with a king sized bed was large, comfortable, clean and quiet. Bathroom a little small but well appointed and modern.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back and not facing 8th Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfbb0541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear by tfbb0541,
I am very happy to know that you have been staying with us for the last few years during Christmas time and your stay was always a pleasant experience. It is an honor to call you our guest and we will be looking forward to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,307 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,973 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing