We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #147 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Stay here”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here for my wifes 30th birthday and can seriously recommend staying here.
Location is fantastic with Times Square 1 block away. Rooms are spacious for NYC and kept very clean by the maids.
High floor and ear plugs recommended to avoid street noise but if this bothers you don’t come to NYC full stop (and don’t be so boring) : >
A special thank you to Tennile Boyd & Joanna for arranging flowers and cakes for the occasion, service throughout the stay was fantastic.
Thanks to Donald the porter for organising taxis etc too, very pleasant.
Only quibble is the reception could be bigger/more inviting but who spends time here anyway.
Look forward to coming back here again soon.
Thanks for having us.
Rob & Nic

Room Tip: High floor facing 8th, away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Robert D,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review with travel community. I am thrilled to learn that our team made your stay a memorable one and that your wife enjoyed gifts for her Birthday.
On behalf of the entire HGI Team we would like to wish your wife a very Happy Birthday and we hope that if visiting NYC one day, you will stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,739
    2,432
    478
    127
    84
See reviews for
2,093
2,364
354
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Strategic location. Walking distance to most Manhattan highlights and restaurant, short cab ride to the rest, this is my definition of a gem. The check in took somewhere between 25 and 30 seconds. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom small but it covered all of our needs. The Pigalle restaurant is adjacent to the hotel and you can walk to it directly through the hotel (the bar tenders are world class). Yes, there are more elegant and swankier hotels in Manhattan, but this place gave us absolutely everything we were looking for - at the right price!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gianna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Gianna51,
I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It’s great that our hotel and its location was just what you were looking for and I hope that on yoru next trip to NYC you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is the perfect hotel for tourist near everything just a couple blocks from time square Central Park ...we walked everywhere it was so easy best location ...the staff of the hotel were very helpful.
What was nice you could help yourself to free tea or coffee in the morning to start your day the rooms were very comfortable the bed lovely very very clean.
I would really recommend this hotel not one fault.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie047Hertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear blondie047Hertford,
Thank you for sharing your experience with travel community. It is great to know that location of the hotel was convenient and that the staff was there when you needed them. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of complimentary coffee and tea in the morning and that you enjoyed comfort of our rooms.
We hope that in the future you will give us a chance to welcome you back!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was an awesome place to stay for a family trip to NYC. Great location. Close to subway, Rockefeller Center, Tmes Square and even a grocery store. We loved it!! I would reccommend this as a great hotel for family visits or couples.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Ashley L,
I am thrilled to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time while staying with us and that hotel location was convenient to all your points of interests.
I hope that if your travel will bring you back to NYC one day you will stay with us again!.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

For a tourist visiting New York, this is the perfect hotel. The location is excellent, just a couple of blocks from Times Square and in the theater district. Our room was first class, very clean and quiet. The staff could not be more helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel, you won't regret it.

10 out of 10 for Joanna and the staff.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a great view of the theater district
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guy g,
I am thrilled reading your review and knowing that we were able to “wow” you with our service and that you enjoyed hotel location and comfort of our rooms.
I will make sure to share your wonderful feedback with my team. Thank you for giving us opportunity to call you Our Guest and we will be looking forward to welcome you back on your future trip to Big Apple!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
537 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is not the newest or the most luxurious, but it's an awesome location for a good NYC value. The upscale restaurant region of Hell's Kitchen is one block away. Times Square and the Broadway theater district is around a corner or two. In our estimation, this hotel is the perfect location. And if it weren't so cold, we would have walked more and taxied less. Anyway, the hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. Kudos to the housekeeping staff! The only negative is a one person, small bathroom. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel, but not owned by it. We got ourselves our Starbucks (complimentary), in the lobby and then went into the restaurant for breakfast. Beware, they will not let you bring your coffee in, so drink up before you go in for breakfast if you are a Starbucks fan like I am. Great location, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staff. Can't go wrong here for your NYC stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear EmEs,
Thank you for sharing experience on your recent stay with us with travel community. It’s great to know that hotel location and neighborhood dining options were to your like as well as cleanliness and spaciousness of our rooms. I understand your concerns in regards to small bathroom but I am a little puzzled with your mention about one person being negative. Could you provide me with more details at your earliest convenience?
I will make sure to extend our kudos to our housekeeping team; they really work hard to make sure our guests are enjoying cleanliness of our rooms.
Pigalle is not a part of the hotel that is the reason why they don’t’ allowed outside beverage to the restaurant, I’m sorry that you were inconvenienced by this fact.
I hope that if your future travels bring you back to Big Apple you will stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is well located and offers spacious rooms at a decent price. It is suitable for both business and leisure trips. My HHonors gold status was fully recognised; management even contacted me beforehand by e-mail to check on my preferences which were fully accomodated.
Of course, please bear in mind that this is a city hotel with a lot of rooms - so please do not expect a palace with signature service.
The "Pigalle" restaurant has somme room for improvement, especially regarding the choice of dishes offered at the buffet which are all about eggs...

Room Tip: High floor (nice views, quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerAnimateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear DerAnimateur,
Thank you so much for sharing experience on your recent stay. I am glad that your Hilton Gold membership was recognized and you were able to enjoy all included benefits. Also it's good to know that email communication prior arrival allowed us to personalize your stay. I’m sorry that restaurant came out short with their menu options and I will make sure to address your comments with their management.
I hope that on your next visit to NYC you will consider staying with us again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,313 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,980 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing