We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #155 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
novi
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“What I Expected”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

No surprises...typical HGI. One of the cheaper hotels in this vicinity but a little less expensive at $180 per night. Rooms were clean, complimentary breakfast in a nice clean restaurant-style room attached off of the lobby and well located to walk to the Theater district or Central park.

Close to Times Square - the Center of the Universe - but surprisingly quiet/close & clean. An $86 fixed cab ride away from Newark Liberty Airport or an $80 cab ride to JFK.

Cheap, clean & close to all. How can you go wrong??

Room Tip: Concierge seems to know all...even tips to keep my marriage alive. Don't forget to ask for Fran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear m w (novi),
Thank you for sharing experience on your recent stay with travel community. It’s good to know that our hotel met your expectations and that the hotel and its location were to your satisfaction.
I hope that if planning another visit to NYC you will stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,793
    2,491
    496
    131
    89
See reviews for
2,152
2,408
358
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
weston super mare
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with our 2 children. Perfect location, quiet rooms with a great view from the 11th floor. All staff friendly and helpful. Everything from check in to check out was smooth. Great restaurant next door - lovely food and drink selection.

Room Tip: We wanted a view - got 11th floor facing 8th avenue and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapland741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear lapland741,
Thank you for choosing our location on your recent trip, I am thrilled to learn that you and family enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was my first trip to NYC and Times Square. Loved the location of this hotel!

It wasn't directly in the center of Times Square, but I was glad it wasn't in the middle of constant chaos! It is just a few blocks away though and we walked everywhere! Bring comfy shoes... depending on weather, I recommend snow/rain boots. The surrounding restaurants are quite expensive, so I was very happy to come across a McDonald's so close by!

Hotel was beautiful. Had one elevator that kept messing up... other than that, can't complain at all! I would stay here again. Hotel staff was quite nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Heather J,
Thank you so much for your review. We are honored that you chose our hotel on your first trip to NYC and it is so great to hear that you loved the hotel and location. I am sorry that the elevator did not work properly during the stay.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I needed a hotel last minute and this place was recommended by a friend. Front desk very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean, nice size and great price. This is definitely a hotel I will be frequently using whenever I need to stay overnight whether business or personal!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Christine B,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review! I am really happy that your recent stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you found our team friendly and comfort of the rooms was to your like. We will be looking forward to welcome you real soon!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn was very hospitable and welcoming to us as soon as we arrived. While unloading our luggage at the curb, we were immediately greeted and assisted in with our multiple bags. Great location for walking to wonderful restaurants and the subway stop across the street. Very clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Toyfair,
Thank you fro taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s great that you found our staff helpful and location and comfort of the hotel were to your satisfaction.
I hope that next time when visiting NYC you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A large group of us stayed here last weekend and its definitely a good place, particularly if you want to be near Times Square and the Theater District. We were one short block from Times Square in one direction and from New World Stages in the other. Tons of restaurants within visual distance makes it very convenient. I appreciate that the HGI's are very consistent in what you come to expect from this brand: very comfortable beds, spacious rooms, friendly service. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sandy H,
We truly value your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It is great to know that hotel location gave you opportunity to be close to all your points of interest as well as dining options. I am happy that comfort of our rooms was to your satisfaction and I hope to get opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel offers a very good bargain given its location near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. My room was very spacious by NYC standards. Everything was clean and fresh. The workout room is small; but adequate for the average traveler's needs. Rooftop bar offers good view of city and restaurant Pigalle is very good, though not inexpensive. The staff are very helpful: not at all like the brusque characters one might expect in this city.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want a nice city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Orso52,
Thank you for sharing comments on your recent stay with travel community. It’s great to know that the location of the hotel was convenient and that the comfort of the room was to your satisfaction. I am happy that you took advantage from the attached restaurant as well as the roof top bar and that our staff was there when you needed them.
I hope that on your future travels to NYC you will pick out location again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
6,698 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,476 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#176 of 467 in New York City
7,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,205 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 467 in New York City
5,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing