We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #143 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I decided to book this hotel after reading great reviews on Tripadvisor and wasn't disppointed. The hotelv and has been renovated and so the rooms are modern, spacious and clean. I also got a package that includes breakfast at the next door restaurant and it was delicious.The location is perfect, within walking distance from all main attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr_Iris_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Dr_Iris_B,
I am thrilled to know that all great reviews on Trip Advisor convinced you to stay wit us and it’s great that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay!
I hope that if your travels will bring you back to NYC one day you will choose our location again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,169 - 3,175 of 7,453 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

5 ladies in our 40's went to NYC for 3 nights, wanted a central hotel within walking distance of Times Square, that had 2 x American size Queen beds. From check in to check out this hotel offered everything over and beyond our expectations. The rooms were the biggest rooms I've ever stayed in NYC, 2 King (American Queen) Beds with lots space all around. The staff were so helpful and friendly, it is spotlessly clean, we had breakfast in the hotel, offering hot and cold buffet & was excellent. Less 5 minute walk to Times Square so close enough but not right beside the bright lights. We caught a Broadway show again 3 minutes from hotel, loads of local restaurants offering pre theatre dinners. 6 blocks from Port Authority as we took a bus trip. a few dollars in a cab to 5th Avenue. This hotel is a winner for family, romantic or a girls weekend away, I'd definitely recommend and go back. p.s. as a group we are generally hard to please (including myself!), & this is only 2nd review i've ever written, but it was so good I had to share!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 8th Avenue are quieter, if needing 2 x Queen beds get on the 5th floor as this is the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello Mandy H,
I am truly grateful for your wonderful review! It is great to know that we were able to exceed your expectations during the stay. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an experience which exceeds expectations, and I am delighted to learn that we accomplished this goal during your stay.
I will make sure to share all your kind words with my entire team and we will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The only reason I have given this hotel a four star is the slight outdated decor and fittings of the bathroom and carpets,having said this the complimentary toiletries were five star.The heating system was alittle noisy but not enough to disturb our sleep, every other aspect of this Hotel we found excellent. maid service was excellent and helped us with several aspects in our room including working the coffee machine and microwave.nothing was too much for them. large television as well as iron and safe, The hotel could not be anymore Central being only yards from Times Square .we were on third floor and had no view except for wall of next building but this helped in a way as there was no residual street noise. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgeen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear bridgeen29,
Thank you for sharing your comments with travel community. I am surprised that you found décor of the bathroom being outdated as we completed rooms’ revitalization last year July. However is good to know that the room amenities were to your satisfaction and that our housekeeping team went above and beyond to assist you.
I am happy that location of the hotel was convenient to your travels, If you decide to stay with us in the future feel free to contact me and I will make sure to reserve a nice room with a view on your future stay.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We decided on this hotel for our first trip to New York. We were not disappointed. The location is fantastic. Situated on 8th Avenue, so just a street away from the main corner of Times Square on 7th, or a street away in the other direction you are in the middle of Hells Kitchen on 9th, which is fantastic for bars and restaurants.

Our hotel room was really great, it had the biggest bed I've ever slept in, and it was so comfortable (king revolution room) my partner and I couldn't reach each other if we slept at either side.

We were on the 6th floor and had a street view, which was nice, just to watch the world go by. Large flat screen TV, although we never used it, and also a microwave and fridge which were handy for dining in-room as there are so many fantastic places to take out if you're too tired for the restaurant experience any time. There was an ice machine on every floor, and also vending machines.

Our room was immaculately clean, and the daily maid service was superb.

There are lots of souvenir shops nearby, cafe's, deli's and restaurants. I would recommend Chai Thai about a block up from the hotel on 8th for a lovely Thai meal which was incredibly cheap for the standard of food. If you like to start off your night out with a drink locally, then don't overlook "Social" across the street, it's much nicer inside than it looks, and has a really good vibe at night.

The staff at the Hilton Garden Inn were polite and friendly at all times, and we would definitely return to this hotel when we book our next trip to NY! Loved it.

Room Tip: A higher floor may be a little quieter if you are a light sleeper, as there is a little noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Catriona K,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel on your first trip to NYC. I am thrilled to know that we were able to create a memorable stay for you and your partner. It’s great to know that comfort of the room and hotel amenities were to your satisfaction as well as hotel location.
I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with my staff.
We will be looking forward to welcome you on your future travels to NYC!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was our second time staying here within a couple of years. It has only gone downhill. The last stay we had superior customer service. This time....not so much. The rooms have all been redone, and they were fine. The bellhop at the door was an elderly gentleman who looked bothered that he had to help us after check in. No one ever spoke when we came in and out of the hotel. The attendant at the desk didn't look happy to be there, either. The hot water in the lobby had leftover coffee grinds in it, and I had to send it back. The Starbucks teas and coffee were nice. We had a late check out with our rate, and when I called to confirm it the night before, they knew nothing about it. They said to call down the next morning. I did. They, too, knew nothing about it. I had to get dressed, go down to the manager, and actually show it to her on my computer.....really? Then, she said it was only there weren't already too many late check-outs. How about, "I'm sorry you had to come down here and show me since I didn't believe you...." Overall, the hotel was fine. The management and workers just need some customer service training. That was the one thing last time, that brought us back. We will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank c2nlilmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi c2nlilmom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very disappointed to hear that you had an experience which was less than exceptional. I will be sure to review your comments with the staff to prevent any such future occurrence. I’m happy that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms and complimentary Starbucks in the lobby.

I will love the opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel and should you ever decide to stay with us please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to personally attend to your reservation.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton in February for my niece's birthday and loved the hotel. The rooms were a good size with really luxurious, comfortable beds. Bathroom was a bit small but did have bath with a good shower. The location was perfect for us with a lovely bar opposite selling great cocktails! There was also a deli where we bought our breakfast most days. It's a good choice if central hotel with friendly staff, close to the subway. Communal areas are minimal but that didn't concern us. A great stay in snowy New York! I'd go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello JackyLa,

We will gladly accept you back tomorrow!! I am absolutely delighted to learn that you had such a memorable experience and we were able to provide your niece with an enjoyable birthday. As a small hotel in the big city we do try to make up for our lack of communal space with our energetic and friendly staff.

Upon your return, please feel free to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to attend to your booking.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is clean, tidy and comfortable. Ideal for anyone who wants a central location (2 minute walk from Times Square) and a base to dump your bags after shopping and get a good nights sleep. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Collette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi Collette T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel clean and the location convenient and the staff pleasant. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and I pleased to know that we accomplished this goal during your stay with us.

If I can ever be of any assistance now or in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 471 in New York City
8,344 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 471 in New York City
9,979 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 471 in New York City
7,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 471 in New York City
5,649 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing