We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #153 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, Great hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was ideally located for our stay in NYC - perfect for
Times Square and all the sights. Gray Line tour office is just across the road which is handy for tickets and tours, loads of restaurants nearby. I had a Kingsize bed in a recently refurbished room - it had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, TV - everything you could need, free WiFi. The room was great size and everywhere was clean and well maintained. We were room only so the complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea in the foyer every morning was handy. The hotel had a laid back feel and I really enjoyed my stay. My fridge was not working on arrival but it was replaced within an hour or so of reporting it.

We were on the eighth floor and the noise levels were fine - you could still hear the street noise but it was not a problem, the subway could be heard rumbling away but nothing to keep me awake and I like it quiet to sleep. I would not have wanted to be any lower than the eighth floor.

The only minor point we had was whilst we were waiting for our shuttle to the airport we asked for assistance to ring the shuttle company to check our times- we couldn't get through on our mobiles and reception refused to ring for us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Sandra S,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It’s great to know that hotel location was convenient to your needs and that you enjoyed comfort of the rooms and amenities provided. I am happy that promptly took care of replacing the fridge in your room.
Please accept my apologies that my team was not able to assist you with shuttle services.
I hope that if you decide to visit NYC again one day you will choose our hotel again!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,766
    2,459
    488
    129
    85
See reviews for
2,118
2,386
357
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in the hilton gardens inn hotel in New York, what a great hotel and location. We booked from reviews on trip advisor and it did not disappoint. A great location near to broadway as we went to watch a show, les mis which was fantastic. We stayed in newly refurbished rooms, really nice, spacious and clean. In the morning they serve tea / coffee in the lobby and between 3pm and 6pm there is a happy hour. Fantastic eatery nearby called "carve" which sells fantastic breakfasts, pizza and cakes that are to die for. Fantastic food court nearby which we used to stock up the fridge with.

Room Tip: Definitely the rooms higher up are best as I would think it would not be as noisey. We stayed in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Joanne J,
I am so happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience and you enjoyed the location as well as comfort of our rooms.
I hope that if you decide to visit NYC again one day you will choose our hotel again!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just left today after a six night visit. Hotel is in a great location and we did not use cabs or subway once. Room was very clean and king size bed was very comfortable. Only one small down point, they were unable to cash travellers cheques for us but OK to oath the bill with.

Room Tip: Rooms 27 to 31 have a view down 48th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello Rick H,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your 6 night’s trip to NYC! It’s great that the hotel was conveniently located to all your points of interest and that you enjoyed comfort of our rooms.
I am sorry that we were not able to assist you with cashing the traveler’s checks.
I hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again.
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Everything was great about this city centre hotel but most noticeable was the relaxed atmosphere and engagement with all the staff we met. It is near all the great mid town places with buses and subway just around the corner. Good value for money. (Sorry roof top garden was being renovated but we had a good roof top view from our quiet room round the back)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Celia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello Celia F,
It’s great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel and location were to your satisfaction.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First time I have stayed at your hotel. Was very pleased with everything. Location is superb. Rooms a good size. Room was cleaned every day by the early afternoon. Housekeeping did a great job! Will definitely stay there again and will recommend to friends planning to visit NYC. All employees very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 355lillianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear 355lillianf,
Thank you so much for writing your wonderful review. It’s great that your first time with us was a memorable experience and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We typically stay a bit more upscale when visiting NYC, but this trip was just me and my 12 year old son. I figured we would spend virtually no time in our hotel room (which was true), so why spend the extra money if we didn't need to. The Hilton Garden Inn was perfect for our needs. I love the location on 8th Avenue... so close to everything but just a little off the beaten path. When we arrived, I found out that American Express travel had not cancelled one of my reservations, so we actually had two rooms reserved instead of one. The manager very nicely removed one room without any penalty, and gave me her card in case I had any trouble getting my refund from Amex. The room was simple but had everything we needed. I especially liked having the refrigerator. There was a concierge on site but we never needed their services. The bellman were helpful storing our luggage at check out, and everyone was very friendly. There is a parking garage right next door to the hotel, so even though the hotel has no valet, it really didn't matter. The bellhop even helped carry our bags next door to the garage when we left. This hotel is nothing fancy, but there's nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillaxBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello there ChillaxBoston_MA,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and it’s great to know that you and your son had a good time with us while enjoying time in Big Apple. I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here recently. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to time square and surrounded by subway stations. Bus Station is down the road also for buses to woodbury common. Deli across the road has great food and turn right when you come out the door of the hotel and you hit a supermarket. Dont get anything in the shop downstairs. Its way overpriced. $6.50 for 2 bottles of coke. Vending machine on 7th floor they were $1.50 each. Room was adequate. Small bathroom but unfortunatly for us the view was not good. So we left the curtains drawn. Eat in John Pizzeria around the corner but order a small as they are huge!
Staff all friendly at the hotel and check in and out were fast. They ordered us a car to JFK and told us it would be $60 but driver said its $65. irritating but not a life changer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrenireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Darrenireland,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travelers. I am happy that overall you enjoyed the stay and hotel location. I am sorry that the view from your room was not appealing and that you found the pantry being overpriced. I will make sure to share your comments with my bell staff to assure that they clearly communicate price information when arranging airport transportation.
I hope that if you decide to visit NYC again one day you will choose our hotel again!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,626 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#170 of 468 in New York City
5,284 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#146 of 468 in New York City
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing