We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #153 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super spot”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel was a bit pricey at around 320 plus taxes but it was very near Times Square but away from all the noise. It was near most of the theater shows so we were merely seconds away. The staff at the hotel were the best, very helpful and very knowledgeable. There is a microwave and a fridge in each room which was a plus for our stay. We had our breakfast in the room and an evening snack. We left early in the morning and came back around 5 or so having our dinner at lunch time which saved a fair amount of money. Go for the higher floors to avoid the noise of the subway and stay in the back if you can unless you want to hear the hustle and bustle of a city that definitely never sleeps. By New York standards the room was very large. Our room had a pull out couch as well. This hotel is good for couples and families. The cleaning staff were very nice and polite as well. We had a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel and take a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hankster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi there hankster2014 and thank you for sharing your thoughts with travel community! We are thrilled to know that your stay with us was a fabulous experience and you enjoyed hotel and comfort of the rooms. I will make sure to share your comments with my entire team and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,829
    2,520
    502
    132
    90
See reviews for
2,183
2,432
361
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn is close to Times Square but far enough away to be relatively quiet. It is in the heart of the theater district and there are a number of grocery stores nearby which is handy as there is a microwave and fridge in the hotel. We had an excellent stay although it was a bit pricey when we where there in June, 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank hankster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello hankster2014,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am so happy to know that our stay was an excellent experience. I understand your concern in regards to the rate. Usually rates around that time are very high. due to high demands and popular, Times Square location.
I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and two grown up sons stayed here for a five day break in May. We chose the hotel because of its good reviews and central location. we had rooms on the 5th floor overlooking the avenue outside.
We were high enough to miss the sound of the subway mentioned in other reviews but heard lots of sirens and traffic etc. it is just a block off of Times square, a short walk to the Metro and a little way away from central park.
The staff are fantastic, very cheerful and enthusiastic, they cannot do enough to help.
The rooms were immaculate, showers great, comfortable beds and good facilities.
we would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie1965148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello robbie1965148,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! It is wonderful to know that you and your family enjoyed your 5 night stay with us and our staff impressed you with their service. I am happy that you enjoyed hotel location as well as comfort of our rooms and we will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!

Until Next Time!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family and I just returned from a fantastic stay at this hotel. All our requests were met and we arrived to two lovely clean rooms. The room had tea and coffee facilities, a mini fridge and the bathroom contained some lovely Neutrogena products. The beds were really comfortable and made for a good night sleep after a long day of taking in the sights. Our room was on the fifth floor but we all wore ear plugs at night so can't say if it was noisy, I can say that both rooms offered great views for people watching. What was most impressive about this hotel was the service. After our preordered car service had failed to arrive over an hour after it was due and just when we were starting to panic the excellent concierge (I think her name was Alison) went above and beyond to help us and with the help of the fantastic Jules, they managed to arrange a car with a lovely driver to get us to the airport on time. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely stay here again. I have stayed in numerous hotels in NYC including The Casablanca but would put this above them all.

Room Tip: The restaurant next door offers a great breakfast although it is a bit expensive it is a great way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolnagard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi there coolnagard and thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am thrilled to learn that your stay was a memorable one and our staff went above and beyond to assist you with airport transportation. I will make sure to extend your compliments to Allison and Jules and I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future!

Until Next Time!

Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

At one time this block was part of Hell's Kitchen. Once it was an Irish stronghold. There are still unwashed masses on the streets; but mostly these are just the bridge and tunnel crowd. The crowds, during play time, are very feisty. You will have to fight to move or stay on the sidewalk. Do this hotel, when your purpose is to see everything on Broadway.

Room Tip: The back side of this property has a view of the street over a vest pocket park area. Makes it a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sculler-in-charge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello sculler-in-charge and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear that you found our hotel to be conveniently located to all Broadway shows.
I hope that maybe in the future you will decide to stay with us again!

All the Best!

Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We so enjoyed our four night stay on the 23rd floor with a great view of 8th Ave! The four of us were treated to a great room and with our daughter's 25th birthday.. the night we arrived... there was a great edible birthday surprise awaiting her in the form of mini decorated cupcakes. The reception desk was so accommodating.....Michael was right on our plans and also helped us with a great private car back to LaGuardia awaiting us exactly at our plan time. The La Pigelle restaurant that adjoins the hotel was perfect for our late morning breakfasts each day, reminding us of our Paris trip a year ago. Our Hilton Gold Honors was met with passes to the breakfast buffet...amazing! Also, we chose to add a late check out that was honored with perfection. We certainly enjoyed our Broadway shows, Aladdin and the Cripple of Inishmaan (with Daniel Radcliffe aka Harry Potter). We walked everywhere.. including our Seth Meyers show! Thank you Hilton Garden Inn Times Square....we will be back again!!!

Room Tip: View of 8th Ave from a high floor! We were on the 23rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geojourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Geojourneyman and thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy that your daughter had a memorable 25th Birthday celebration and our staff helped you with arranging airport transportation.
I hope that on your next visit to NYC you will choose our hotel again!
All the Best!

Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Fond memories, room was exceptionally clean, reception desk staff were very accommodating. Very close to the subway and to all attractions in New York. Great breakfast next door!! and if you are lucky you can be offered a complimentary buffet!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank krsm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear krsm14,
I am thrilled to learn that we were able to create a memorable stay and that you enjoyed hotel location and amenities.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future!

All the Best!

Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 466 in New York City
6,783 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 466 in New York City
9,562 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#166 of 466 in New York City
5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing