We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing for disabled guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #145 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dobbs Ferry
1 review
“Very disappointing for disabled guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We requested a handicapped accessible room, which consisted solely of a chair-height peephole and a rail in the tub enclosure, which was an ordinary commercial tub (not flush with the floor). This meant my disabled family member had to navigate over a 2 foot tub rim without a rail to assist. The room was so small the wheelchair could not get between the chair and desk. Also, the security was non-existent: no one seemed to be at the front checking for room keys as the sign declared, and the street entrance was extremely close to the elevators.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor that faced 8th Avenue, which was a little noisy but didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi LocalTraveler22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience as this is not the norm at our hotel as my entire team is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. We have a sufficient number of rooms that have a number of accessible features including roll in showers.

I will be more than happy to further investigate what went wrong during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly to provide me with additional details.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,710
    2,397
    474
    124
    83
See reviews for
2,070
2,341
347
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights here and was happy with our stay. We were looking for a hotel that was reasonably priced (by Times Square standards) and close to everything we wanted to do in our 5 days in NYC. The location proved to be as perfect as we suspected. Beyond that, it was a pretty uneventful stay. It's kind of weird...I felt like the hotel didn't have a lot of personality, but we were gone from the hotel for most of the day and evening, so we didn't have much interaction with the staff or the facilities. The front desk folks were friendly and the bellman were always helpful in flagging down a cab. Our room was relatively small, but it was clean and suited our needs for this trip. The housekeeping staff did a great job in keeping our room clean. We also appreciated being able to check in a couple of hours early when we arrived - I imagine that the efficiency of the housekeeping staff had something to do with that. We didn't try the restaurant. There are lots of other superior choices around the city. We considered it for breakfast, but it was rather pricey, so we opted for bagels from the Food Emproium on the next block.
All in in all, it was a positive experience and we were pleased with the facilities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi DHWDetriot,

Thank you for your favorable review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the front office staff was able to accommodate your early check in and assist you with hailing taxis throughout your stay. I will be certain to share your wonderful feedback regarding the cleanliness and accommodations with our housekeeping staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next NYC visit.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
646.710.5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our anniversary trip to New York. The staff was fantastic, the room clean and quit, and we were located near all sorts of attractions. If your looking for somewhere to relax after a busy day of shopping and sightseeing, this is the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL9380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi AL9380,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's always nice to hear when we were able to create such a memorable experience. I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff and we hope to welcome back you and your wife on your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
646.710.5713
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here two nights in August. The hotel was great; clean, comfortable - boy was it comfortable - and close to everything. Walking distance to Broadway, to times square and all other attractions, plus there were subway stations all over so you could get anywhere in the manhattan in 15-20 minutes. This is a great place to stay and I would advise anyone to stay here and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yardcore_9t7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi yardcore_9t7,
Thank you for your review and high recommendation. I am pleased to know that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional experiences and it is wonderful to know that we accomplished this goal during your stay.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel is in a Great Area ,with many things that are so well, food looking every were, you are able to shop as well as being on Broadway. And all the restaurant's were very great, I went on a bus and then on the park with the zoo, we were on a buggy to see all the sites in the park.

Room Tip: If you want to see out of your room ,it is Graet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annskurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Annskurka,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and easy access to local attractions. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have stayed here twice. Great location to Times Square without being in midst of the fantastic chaos, and within comfortable walking distance to good restaurants and Broadway theaters. Lots of convenient stores near by. Rooms are good sized, clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Neta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Neta D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff at this hotel went above and beyond to make our stay remarkable. They helped make a big (engagement) surprise happen without a flaw! This hotel is centrally located in NYC, prime location for walking to most local attractions. The room was very clean and well updated. The bellman was top notch and we were able to store our luggage without hassle until we needed to depart for the airport. We stayed Thurs-Sunday night, checking out Monday; the fares were very reasonable for such a great location. Would highly recommend this hotel and will most definitely return for any future stays in NYC!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Kristi P and thank you for your wonderful review! I am thrilled to learn that your stays with us exceed your expectations and that our staff went above and beyond to assist you during your stay!
I hope to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,179 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,839 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing