We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Peculiar, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location & Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have stayed here twice while on weekend getaways to see some shows & take in the sites. Excellent location close to Times Square but away from the chaos. Within walking distance to many theatres, Hell's Kitchen, Restaurant Row, Rockefeller Center, Ed Sullivan Theatre, & Radio City Music Hall. Also subway stations very close and a Gray Line office across the street. Rooms are clean, decent size, and quiet. Staff very professional & courteous. Look forward to many more visits in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeetscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Skeetscat and thank you for choosing out hotel as a destination for your weekend gateways. It’s great to know that location is convenient to your needs and that you enjoy comfort of our rooms and professionalism of our staff.
We look forward to your future stays!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,676
    2,353
    461
    121
    80
See reviews for
2,032
2,311
341
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton,Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very average hotel. Rooms are small. Service in hotel is only fair. Great location however for subways and Broadway shows. Probably would not stay here again. Stayed here last December and for the rate it was a good bargain. However in June it was more expensive than seem to be as nice.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davef1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Davef1027,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with travel community. It’s good to know that you found hotel location to be convenient to your needs however It is unusual to hear that our rooms are small as we are well known for our oversized rooms and exceptional service. I am very sad to hear that we failed to provide you with this experience. I understand your concern in regards to difference in the rate however our rates fluctuate and are based on season and events that are on in NYC.
I hope that maybe one day you will give us another chance!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Excellent location. Walking distance from broadway, central park and macy's. we stayed for 4 nights with family. The rooms are large by new york standards..but quite basic. You do have free wifi and coffee machine in the room, other than that its fairly basic. Beds are comfortable and there is no view to talk about. This place is all about location and to be honest with the city buzzing outside, why would you want to spend time indoors. Avoid the breakfast at the bistro next door which is connected to the hotel. We had a terrible experience. their breakfast was pricey and the food they got us was cold. Ask for the Hilton VIP access pass when you checkin and you will be entitled to some sweet discounts at the restaurants around new york.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Ash2501 and thank you for taking time to review our hotel! It’s great to know that you enjoyed hotel location and comfort of our rooms. I am sorry to hear that the experience in the attached restaurant was not the best one but it’s great that you took advantage of the restaurants offer provided by Hilton Grand Vacation club.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Check in took 30 minutes, though I have hhonors gold status. I complained but never received satisfaction. Nice room but drab. Only plastic cups. Great location:I saw 3 plays and musicals, all within 2 blocks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Terrance Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Terrance Q,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. I am disappointed to see that we failed to provide you with an exceptional experience as so many of our guests have. Please know that we aim to provide all of our guests with a speedy check in, however sometimes due to the volume of arrivals there are slight delays that cannot be avoided.

Also, the change to plastic cups was implemented by Hilton and as taken place in all Hilton Garden Inn hotels within the US. We would love to welcome you back, and I encourage you to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have stayed here once before and it has become our "go to hotel". The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location could not be better, walking distance to everything. We requested a high floor as we were travelling for our anniversary and they accommodated. We came back to our room one evening and found a lovely surprise, a beautiful card and cupcakes and bottled water for our anniversary...awesome. This hotel is very clean, beds comfortable and room size is good as we did not travel to NY to sit in a hotel room .And they also have upgraded to a keurig coffee maker which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello Krista1822 and thank you for your wonderful review! I am thrilled that you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and that you enjoyed little treat to honor this special occasion!
We will be looking forward to welcome you back again!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a nice hotel. Not a "five-star" but good quality, very helpful staff, typical and functional rooms, and outstanding location close to theaters, restaurants,, and obviously times square. I had no problems with check in or check out. Our room overlooked the street (48th?) and we did hear some traffic noise at times, especially some sirens, but was ok. Our rate included breakfast. Breakfast quality was ok, service was slow at times since they were very busy and the buffet choices don't change, but it was fine. We had two queen beds and they were comfortable. The lady that cleaned our room was especially friendly. We even left a nice gift for her when we left. Hotel is close to subway stops on a few different lines, so that provides flexibility getting around the city. This was a good choice for us (two adults, two kids) and we would stay here again when we visit NY.

Room Tip: upper floors, possibly on back side away from 48th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi there steve h,
I am so happy to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and you found hotel to be conveniently located to all your points of interest. I am also thrilled that you found our housekeepers being friendly and I will make sure to share your comments with their department.
We will be looking to welcome you and your family back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just stayed 4 nights in August. Location was outstanding, Easy walk to most theaters, subway on the corner and another line one block away. Many great restaurants and pubs within a few blocks. The room was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room felt plenty spacious, we were on the 14th floor with a great view of 8th Ave. We could see the Hudson river and cruise ships coming and going. Noise was never a problem. We did use the laundry/dry cleaning-done on time. Bellman were very friendly and helpful. Check in and out went smoothly. The front desk even called every few days to make sure everything was OK. Over all it was an excellent choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello ptmom,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your 4 nights trip to NYC. I am extremely happy to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hotel location was convenient to all your points of interest.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,358 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,019 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,685 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing