We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #153 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rep of Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Straight off the bat, for those who get impatient reading reviews, this is a really great hotel and I’d recommend it to anybody. I stayed here for 5 nights last week and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff in the hotel are some of the friendliest and most helpful I’ve come across. Checking is was a doddle and the hotel even checked us in early without any bother. Check out was also very straightforward.

Rooms
I’ve stayed in NYC hotels before and the rooms are generally very very small, but my room (Rm 321, 2 very comfy Queen Beds) was quite spacious by NY standards. The room included a proper fridge, microwave, 37” LCD TV, coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. The air-con was very good too. The bathroom is smallish but well appointed and with a good hot powershower. Bathroom towels etc were good quality and the complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body cleanser etc is nice Neutrogena.

Location
The Hilton Garden Inn is located on 8th Ave and is about 2 Blocks away from 50th Street Subway which goes north to Central Park and South all the way to Ground Zero. I found it very handy for getting around. The Hotel is also less than 5 minutes walk from the main Broadway Theatres’ if you plan on catching a show e.g. Phantom of the Opera at The Majestic Theatre, it’s about 3 mins away. You can walk to Times Square in 5 mins also and there are a number of nice restaurants nearby. If you’re hungry, there’s a Food Emporium 1 Block to the north which has lovely salads, deli, freshly made sushi, confectionary, pretty much all the nice food you’ll ever want. You can either take it away or sit in by the window and watch 8th Avenue go by!

Overall I found this hotel to be immaculate, ideally located for my tourist needs, very good value and the staff friendly, helpful and professional. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to my family and friends. Don’t take an age searching for other hotels in NYC. Trust me, this one’s worth it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daithi28RepofIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,765
    2,456
    488
    129
    85
See reviews for
2,117
2,383
357
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wisc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

the location of hotel was great only a FEW BLOCKS from Time Square... Glad it was'nt right at Time Square to (to carazy and noisy there) Great Food Emporium (Grocery & Deli) on the corner. Other eatries on same street.... Hotel very CLEAN ...Very Friendly......Frig, Micro & iron in rooms...updated rooms...... would definitely would stay here again....... Grayline Tours a block away.... great to use for getting around NYC (can hop on off anytime)...... taxi from LaGuardia $34.... location location location this hotel was it.....scale of 1-10 a 9999

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I stayed 6 days in September meeting with clients on Wall Street and taking clients to the US Open. The hotel staff are very friendly and provide top notch service. The hotel is clean and on the upper floors the only sounds you frequently hear are the doors closing. The amenities are in line with the HGI brand.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldExplorer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Service was great.
Room was very nicely decorated. Flat screen TV is nice, roomy for NYC. Nice art work of the city.
Location is great.
Housekeeping is pretty good.

I will say the same as the other reviewers - great location! Two blocks from the heart of Times Square, two blocks from the subway station. I highly reccommend learning the subway system. We were in NYC for a week and taking the subway everywhere saved us a ton of money - not having to take cabs every where - and time - not having to walk every where. The subway system is fairly easy to learn and there are plenty of people willing to help you out!

I was surprised to learn that the fire station across the street lost the most fireman in 9/11 because they specialized in tall building fires. Very sad to see the flowers and candles lit there on 9/11. Being on the 15th floor the sounds of the street and fire trucks did not bother me. The windows are very sound proof. In fact, it was fun to open the windows and to hear the sounds of NYC. I LOVE this city.

We are Hilton Honors members and got the free breakfast in the ajoining restaurant which was good, however, I wouldn't have spent the money to eat there. Pretty pricy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kal55128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square for a 4 night vacation in September.

With this being my fifth visit to NYC, I do like to rotate my stays, thus opted for this Hotel following the positive reviews that I have read on Trip Advisor and due to the fact that I am a Hilton Honours member. I was not disappointed on my arrival to the Hotel when I was I was allocated Room # 1106, which was a well appointed room. Although they could offer me an upgrade of room during my stay, I received breakfast and water vouchers to redeem at the restaurant and shop respectively.

Location: The Hotel is located on 8th Ave/49 St and is only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Times Square. You've also got various Theatres located nearby, including the Ambassador which I saw Chicago at one night. Your also only a 10/15 minute walk to 5th Ave, which is a must if you love shopping.

Hotel Facilities: Room was excellent and was extremely spacious a nice large LCD TV and FREE WiFi to utilise at the end of a busy day to upload your photo's or keep in touch with people back home via your laptop. Room was kept clean every day by the team of housekeepers. The 'complimentary' breakfast provided was a great addition every morning to start off the day. Although choice from menu wasn't massive, it was still a nice offer from the Hotel.

Overall: This Hotel made my fifth stay in NYC another fantastic and memorable visit to this great City. Location of the Hotel was at the heart of the City where everything was happening and whilst you had all the hustle 'n' bustle of NYC, you always felt safe in the surrounding area. A good value Hotel in a fantastic location - would definately consider staying here on my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmngham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Booked through Expedia after reading reviews on here.

Very pleased with Hotel, service from staff was excellent, everyone very friendly and polite. Extremely well maintained, staff always seemed to be cleaning corridors etc.

Free wireless in rooms, flat screen HD TV, huge bed, fridge, microwave, coffee maker (but no kettle). Room was much larger than I was expecting and certainly plenty large enough for us, bathroom was cosy but fine.

We were there for my husband's birthday and the cleaning lady obviously saw the card and the next day he had been left a gift bag from the hotel with a little note and a few goodies - a nice gesture.

Good location, not actually on Times Square, on the corner of 8th Avenue & 48th St. However also very close to a Fire Station altough this did not wake me up.

The only thing we weren't keen on was the roof top bar, found it to be a bit conceited and v. expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONESH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Good budget choice for NYC.

Pros:
- location is terrific, near subways, restaurants and Times Square
- clean lobby and rooms
- typical nice HGI linens
- pretty reasonably-priced for Manhattan
- free wireless and printing
- rather quiet. our room was in the back so we didn't get the usual honking horns and sirens. the main source of noise was other guests slamming their room doors, which was pretty darn annoying but what can you do?

Cons:
- rooms are small as compared to other HGI's, but let's remember this is New York City
- the hotel is a converted Holiday Inn and it shows in the hallway deco, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well they remodeled it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#103 of 468 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 468 in New York City
5,282 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing