We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hotel, for the rest of us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #152 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel, for the rest of us.”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

The Hilton Garden Inn on 49th Street and 8th Avenue is a very pleasant surprise. In fact, if it didn’t have the HGI name on it, a visitor might easily mistake it for a new boutique hotel. (Note to Hilton—why are some of the most interesting initiatives rolled out at HGI and Hampton properties? For example, amazing to get mouthwash at an HGI, but not at a full service Hilton. . .hmmmm. Ditto for good, wifi—free and everywhere)

If there is a more convenient location in New York, I am not familiar with it. The C and E trains are across the street, the 1 trains are a block away, and Radio City/Rockefeller Center are just a few blocks beyond that subway station. Times Square is close at hand, and beyond the theatres, this area is home to countless restaurants, both on 46th Street’s Restaurant Row (between 8th and 9th Avenue) and the main 9th Avenue spine of the Hell’s Kitchen neighborhood between 43rd and 55th Streets. Central Park is less than ten blocks’ walk.

The staff of the hotel is uniformly helpful, cheerful, and proactive. My room was not ready when I checked in, and the restaurant was still serving breakfast—so the front desk agent bought me breakfast in Pigalle, the hotel’s bistro. Note to other hotels: This kind of proactive hospitality should be a part of all hotels’ arsenal. As well, I didn’t need to ask for it. . . In the evening, be sure to snag a cookie or two at the front desk—they put them out, and it is a nice touch in a hotel filled with them.

Pigalle’s breakfasts are very good, and as a Hilton HHonors Gold member, I receive breakfast for free when I stay at HGIs. This restaurant feels like an independently run bistro—if the hotel does indeed run it, this is a concept that should be replicated elsewhere—and the full American breakfast is a plated cooked-to-order menu, rather than a buffet some other Hiltons/HGIs/Hampton Inn feature. And for late risers, it is great that breakfast is served until 11:30 each morning. The restaurant’s likely theme, theatre district location, and prix fixe specials have it busy during all its operating hours—the vibrancy of the place is a great addition to the hotel—complete with a traditional bistro bar.

This hotel had a previous life as a motor lodge, but the renovation has been complete. The hallways are bright and well decorated, with well done black & white photos of NYC displayed. The rooms are nicely sized for NYC—normal for other cities I guess—with granite top desks, a microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker, and easy chair. For a mid-city location, the hotel room is notably quiet. HGI takes special pride in its beds, and while the mattress is not the cushy or heavenly variety other hotels favor, the comfort is noteworthy—with white duvets and New Zealand lambswool mattress covers. Wireless internet is free throughout the hotel for guests, and there are printing facilities in the lobby’s business center.

The bathroom is adequate and nicely finished with granite and a curved shower rod—though the space is small enough that if you are not careful, the end of your shower curtain will wind up dipping into the toilet bowl.

With all these advantages, why isn’t my score for this hotel higher? Well, while I used points to stay at this HGI, the online rate for the evenings I overnighted here was $389. And while the breakfast was a part of my Gold HHonors benefit, that rate would not include breakfast customarily. There is no doubt that New York can be an expensive city, but $389 is an outrageous rate for an HGI—however convenient the location or stylish the redesign. For $389, a visitor can and should have a beachfront room in a Caribbean resort in high season, or three nights in a suite at The Venetian in Vegas in December. If I were to pay $389, I should be enjoying one of NYC’s storied hotels—not an admittedly very pleasant HGI on 8th Avenue.

So value is important consideration in the rating of a hotel. If this property has the $150-$200 rate that is reasonable for a stay of this quality—my rating would be a solid 4 dots—and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. For the management of this hotel to charge nearly $400 a night (with NYC’s taxes, at four night stay will easily surpass $1700 here at that rate) is sheer profiteering. And this hotel is just not worth that.

Kudos to the management, staff, and designers of this great little hotel. The pricing people, however, need to reread the definition of value and start doing their jobs accordingly. To price this hotel at nearly $400 a night during a recession is just obscene—so shame on the people at this hotel or the owners who prompt such greed that they taint an otherwise noteworthy hotel with rates unbecoming to it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,829
    2,520
    502
    132
    90
See reviews for
2,183
2,432
361
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

What a great place to stay. Booked a last-minute overnight with a friend for a 3-show in 2-days theater marathon.

Location: The Hilton Garden Inn is in a PRIMO location for a theater/eating getaway! Walk 3-4 minutes to Times Square, see a show, gawk at the spectacle, then retreat to a nice quiet room away from the crowds. 2 minute walk to the subway.

Food nearby: The hotel is located on 8th Ave. 8th Ave and 9th Ave are cheap-to-moderate dining havens. Decent wine shops, drug stores and an excellent supermarket also close by the hotel. The room had a handy in-room fridge, coffee maker and microwave.

Service: Everyone says this, and I did not believe the reviews, but it is really true - the service was beyond fantastic. I seriously could not get over how nice, polite and efficient the staff was. Got to NYC a bit earlier than expected (4 hours early!); it was raining and cold outside, and I was pretty tired. So, I stopped by the check-in desk to see if a room just happened to be available early. The sweetest young gentleman said that our room was not ready, but that he would call my cell when a room opened up. I figured it would take a long time, so I went out to find someplace where I could kill a few hours and presto... within 15 minutes, the young man from Hilton Garden Inn called - a room was ready! And it wasn't some leftover B-List room that they scraped together at last minute, either. It was a lovely room on the top floor. I can never thank the staff of the Hilton Garden Inn enough for that small, but very much appreciated kindness!

The Room: The bed was super comfortable. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and well-stocked. I do these NYC overnight theater marathons a lot and will be back to the Hilton Garden Inn every time from now on... if I can get a room!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmacjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Although the main part of my 2 week stay in this hotel is business, other time like evenings and weekends are pleasure. While the hotel is in a GREAT position for Times Square, Hells Kitchen, theartres, the tube etc it is let down by the fact that the rooms only have a VERY small bathroom, so small that you have to walk around the door to close it. The bath is only a sit up bath (unless you are under 3' tall), and you have to ask the housekeeping for shower caps as they are NOT left as a normal procedure! The actual bedroom area is big enough and complimentary internet is good. We had a great view of 8th avenue from our window. We had a problem with our room phones as the lights flashed constantly. Not a problem through the day but at night it was like sleeping on a runway. We reported it twice and had an engineer up to check it out, he said that it was something wrong with the exchange box and would call out an engineer to fix it....in 14 day it never got fixed!
The hotel has a restaurant down stairs/next door called Piggalli and its good for breakfast, thats all we ate there and it was a great place although a bit rushed and careless sometime, but still good and enjoyable.
Overall would i stay there again....I am not sure as its expensive and certainly not the best Hilton I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttrah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell , WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

My Husband & I stayed at this hotel purely because of the reviews. In every way it was great. Location was great for diving into the city weather it's your first time or not. I prefer the less gilts & lights, yet this is the place to be for hopping on the bus etc. The room was beyond great. So large for NYC standards. Beautiful, large, great air conditioning, low noise, fast elevator. The staff were helpful, personable, and fun. We did not eat in the restaurant. While in NYC there are fabulous little restaurants to be had. Just out side the hotel there is a fresh food market. Perfect to use your refer & micro in the room. Also free internet in the room Big cost saver. Also a local wine store. we stayed 8 days and booked through this hotels web sight. It was the cheapest. While in NYC don't forget to have a martini at the plaza, perfect:)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairhighness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This hotel is immaculately kept, and the housekeeping service very quick and helpful. Always lots of clean white fluffy towels and flannels in the bathroom. I loved the fact that after a hard day walking around New York you could arrange through the hotel a delivery of food from the Olympus Diner across the road. This diner does a great breakfast at reasonable prices. The free Starbucks coffee in reception was very welcome. I also used the tea/coffee making facilities in my room. Unlike other hotels you are allowed to purchase your own food and drink from outside and store it in the fridge in your room. There is an iron/ironing board and microwave in the room and free internet connection for your laptop.
We had a king size bed which was massive and very comfortable.
The reception staff were very helpful and I would like to especially mention Stanley who gave us lots of help in getting around on the Metro and buses when our feet could not take anymore walking.
The hotel is in a fantastic location eighth ave at 49th street west. Just around the corner is Times Square and just a few streets away is the bus station.
I would always stay at this hotel on any future visits and have recommended it to my family and friends

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsyanne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Another HGI winner. I flew red eye and was able to check in early (11:00am) with no problem. The hotel staff is professional and efficient. The location is great, right next to the subway stations. They also post a security guard at night to make sure only hotel guests can access the elevators.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location is excellent. It is on 8th Avenue, I block east of times square. Rooms are very nice, quiet and very clean. One advantage is that the beds are queen size if you are travelling with a child or children.

There is a good restaurant next door to hotel and you are in very close walking distance to theartres, reataurants and times square. Bus and subway are within 1 block. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I would definately stay here next time we visit New York

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGMOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 466 in New York City
6,784 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 466 in New York City
9,562 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 466 in New York City
5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing