We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended for New York City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #142 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for New York City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night the 2nd weekend of May 2010. On Saturday night, we stayed at a larger Hilton in midtown as we generally frequent full service hotels and stay at an occasional Hilton Garden Inn - usually in much more suburban areas. The full service Hilton was a hassle - the lobby was always overcrowded and the elevators were hit and miss. It could take you 15-20 minutes to get to your room.

We stayed at this hotel on the Sunday night as we had gotten an excellent rate. I could not rate this hotel with any higher marks. As a Hilton Honors Diamond member, the hotel guest service staff e-mailed me prior to my arrival to ask about any special requests. We requested a top floor corner room and a late check out - all of which were provided upon arrival. The hotel is in a good location in mid-town and was quite comfortable. The lobby was a breeze to get in and out and we never waited for an elevator. The room was large and comfortable. We had a great dinner out at a local seafood restaurant and spent the evening in a dark and cozy piano bar. The breakfast the next morning in the attached cafe was also excellent.

We enjoyed this stay so much that I took the time to e-mail the guest service staff that had originally contacted me. I have stayed at other hotels in NYC and honestly, I would choose this hotel over any of the larger ones in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen_M_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
Dear Colleen_M_Price,

Thank you for your most recent stay, and wonderful review and letter!

Our goal at The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is to provide our guests with a hotel experience with a sense of time and place unlike any other. I am pleased to hear that my team made such a positive impact on your stay, especially compared to our full service hotel!

We are all anxiously awaiting your return! I still have your letter posted up!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,678
    2,358
    464
    122
    80
See reviews for
2,036
2,312
341
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I was very pleased with everything. The room was spacious and the fridge/microwave was very nice to have. The entire staff was wonderful and pleasant. The location is great & within walking distance to broadway shows, Times Square, and good restaurants. I would like to give a special "shout out" to Jennifer Reyes, Director of Guest Experience. I would definitely stay at the hotel again while visiting NY. Thank you for everything

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
Dear Cathy0603,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for this visit to New York City.

I’m thrilled that you found our accommodations spacious and welcoming and our location convenient to all the NYC has to offer. I also want to thank you again for the magnificent email you sent me the other day, not to mention my shout out!

Your Hilton Garden Inn Family will be looking forward to your to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We really enjoyed the 3 night stay at this hotel. The reception were very efficient and friendly.

The location is great - just off Broadway you can be in Times Sqaure within literally a couple of minutes, but you are away from it. If you plan to do the varous tour buses, these stop very close to the hotel and there is a subway stop within a 5 minute walk.

Checkin was eventless.

The room was reasonably sized considering this is NY and very clean and new looking. There was actually a microwave and a fridge so if you love micromeals you're sorted!

There is a business centre where you can print for free and free wifi in the rooms.

A less positive thing to comment on (and it's not even negative) is when you go into the hotel you are greeted by a number of doormen which have the feeling more of 'bouncers and security guards than welcome doormen. They are super polite and helpful so not a problem - but an odd feeling.

The price is okay realtive to a number of other NY hotels in the area but is still quite steep.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CC-and-LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

First time to new york, booked via expedia - no need for proof of purchase upon arrival at hotel as they already had my details. Checked in several hours earlier and our room was ready which was very nice - i had also previously requested a room on a floor higher than the 5th which was done for me. Very quick check in - room size very good ( i hear rooms are not big in new york but this was fine). The only thing i would say could be improved if i had to pick would be the bathroom be a little bigger - but that really is a small niggle and overall the hotel was fab. Bed made and fresh towels each day. Concierge (especially Larry) very helpful in giving information and making restaurant reservations. Check out just as easy. Great hotel overall and brilliant location, one block from times square - still not too noisy. Couldnt fault it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizzmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

I love absolutely everything about this hotel. I have stayed here three times and think it is the best place to stay in NYC.

I sleep through just about anything after an exciting day in NYC, but it must be noted that the hotel is a block away from a fire station. A higher floor is recommended (5th or above), because the subway runs underneath the hotel (might hear some rumbling).

My favorite perks:
-Great comfort and convenience - bed is fantastic - service great - microwave and mini fridge in every room
-Just one block from Broadway and Times Square
-Food Emporium across the street - great for any craving you might have - grab gourmet coffee and croissants there in the morning and bring them back to the room (it's become a tradition with me)
-Shopping everywhere!
-Restaurants galore one block over on 9th Ave - try Marseille, 630 9th Ave. for the best dessert ever!
ENJOY!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaVacation9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
Dear AnitaVacation9,

Thank for choosing to stay at The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

I am happy to know you that you have been here 3 times and still find it to be a charm. Our Evolutions beds are divine, especially when set you your personal comfort. Our location is ideal, like you said one block away from Broadway (entertainment) and one block away from Hell's Kitchen (a mixture of cuisines). I have to agree with you, Food Emporium is definitely an added bonus.

Our goal is to build our loyalty with our guests and it’s great to see we have been successful with you. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

I got assigned this hotel through a blind-bidding website, and it did not disappoint. The location on 8th between 48th/49th is great, and there are lots of nice restaurants and attractions right outside your door.

We stayed in 609, which is a non-street view room, so we didn't have any noise problems. The cleaning staff was also quiet when going about their duties in other rooms on our hallway - something I really appreciated as I was sleeping late; they didn't violate my "do not disturb" sign, even though I lingered till close to noon (check-out time).

The king room was quite roomy for a NYC hotel, and the desk was big, with a nice business-type chair. Free wireless access in-room - HOORAY!

The bed was comfortable, with a nice plush duvet and sufficient pillows. The bathroom, as others have mentioned, was not particularly spacious, but totally adequate...the shower had great water pressure and good-quality towels.

The staff was very helpful and efficient; they let us check in early, gave a good brunch recommendation, and made check out a breeze. Special shout-out to Nick at the front desk for attentive service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannah98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
Dear Hannah98,

I cannot thank you up enough for this remarkable review! You touched on very essential details of our property.

I’m thrilled that you found our accommodations clean, convenient, and comfortable. Our housekeeping department does a fantastic job, and I’ll be sure and share your feedback with them. I will also be sure and share your comments with Nick. He is a great asset to our team, and genuinely cares for all of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eindhoven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Our first trip to NY from The Netherlands with our teenage kids was an amazing experience. We have stayed for 6 nights. The hotel was excellent in price/quality. Easy to reach from JFK by Airtrain, subway E, directly to 50th street. Near to Times Square, dozens of restaurants between 8 and 9th Avenue, bike rent around the corner, etc....
We had a room at the back; second floor. No fantastic view and some continuous noise from the outside air conditioning-machines, but comfortable beds for a good night sleep (we got easily used to the continuous noise).
The staff does a perfect job cleaning en refreshing towels and sheets. So when we returned after a hard day walking en looking around in the city, it was a pleasure to enter the room. The service at the reception and specially form the information desk was perfect and friendly. They took all the time needed to answer questions, give advise or book tickets. The free computer and internet was gratefully used by our children. We had a wonderful time also thanks to the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,377 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,596 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,133 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing