We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers NY”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First timers NY”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Small personal and friendly. Really helpful staff and Liza was just awesome with recommendations and fun too!
Great location but rooms ending *04 no natural light as next to stairwell so request *01...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Jacquiehr,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and location of the hotel. Please reach out to me the next time you intend on staying so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    549
    147
    64
    46
See reviews for
316
799
99
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

All the great ratings for this hotel are well deserved. It is clean nicely decorated, comfortable with more space in rooms than expected for a NYC boutique hotel. Wonderful location and the service was exceptional - i think this is a four to five star location and we will return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: do not expect views from windows as these are strictly for fire escapes and view only adjacent build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear doug-7,
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, decor, and location of the hotel. Our staff will appreciate your compliments as well. Please reach out to me personally for any future reservations. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My partner and I just finished a three night stay in NYC at The Moderne Hotel and had a wonderful experience there. We booked a King Loft room but were upgraded to a suite when we got there. The room was very roomy for a boutique midtown hotel, was very clean and cutely decorated. There was a bit of noise from the room above but that is to be expected in NYC. We used earplugs and slept like babies. The guys at concierge were always friendly and very helpful. We loved the staff!

Location-wise, you cannot beat this place. It seemed to be within three blocks of everything midtown: Time Warner Center, Central Park, Bergdorf Goodman, Hell's Kitchen, Broadway and Time Square. This was our first trip to NYC and we couldn't believe our luck for being so closely located to everything we wanted to see. For the price, this couldn't be beat.

We loved this place and will stay here again. You should too!

Craig, Austin TX

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Craig V,
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service, cleanliness, and central location of the hotel among other things. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me personally for any future reservations. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is really small; you'd easily walk by it on the street. However the hotel, like the name suggests, is very modern. The Lobby is small but the space is used well, the hallways are very colorful from the wallpaper selection but what I am really excited about is the room. The room size is as expected. I had the choice of choosing either a king bed or the only room with a balcony, only downside to the balcony room is that it does not have a king bed, it has a queen. The room was clean with a nice little closet, perfect size for a short stay. It had an iron and an ironing board along with a safe. The desk and chair, though necessary, made the room seem a little crowded. The rooms are generally for two people however there was one robe, I asked for another however it was never brought up. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was really cool; there is no counter space in the bathroom. The shower is not separated from the rest of the bathroom; to one corner is the sink, to the next the toilet and the other the shower. The idea of the shower not being separated is cool, but became problematic after you shower and then go back to use the bathroom; the entire floor is wet and cold. Maybe heated floors could remedy this dilemma. The balcony, being the reason I chose this room in the first place, proved to be lackluster. The size of the balcony was not an issue, it was bare with construction materials tucked to one side with no awning covering it to prevent us from getting wet from rain. All in all the location was great, it isn't too far from Times Square or other trains but is far enough that you won't feel overwhelmed by all the hubbub of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimoyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear TimoyL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located, quiet, and clean. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice enough although no counter space. The most problematic issue is the unrelenting darkness. Our only window lead to a dark air shaft. Granted, we could have gotten better for a higher price. But, if you have no natural light, then add light bulbs! Nope. Only dim lights. And the walls and carpet are shades of black, aggravating the issue. The breakfast was lame. Coffee and pound cake and fruit. The breakfast room had one six chair table and couches because no one eats breakfast there. They should change it to small tables and provide a slightly better breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jmisdraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear jmisdraji,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your commentary. As the items offered on the second floor lounge are complimentary and available twenty four hours a day, we do not see them as breakfast but rather just a light refreshment. We are actually in the process of switching out all of our light bulbs and hope you will come back to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here on the 7th floor, close to CITIBIKES and Broadway, Central Park and the mall at Columbus Circle. We walked from Port Authority for a four day stay. The hotel lobby is very small, the service isn't bad. The beds were fantastic, really comfortable, but for US$300 that was about the most luxurious offering. No HBO, no restaurant, only one small elevator which is SLOW, the rooms aren't tiny or enormous. Probably good for first time in NY because of location, but don't expect any frills. After a day pounding the pavement, those beds were divine.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the floor. Make sure you're facing the street or it could be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dibbyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear dibbyfromtheblock,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. We agree that our location is fantastic and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After looking at probabaly 100 NYC hotels i decided on The Moderne for our 4 night stint in 'the Big Apple'. The location is perfect for 1st timers in the city, 2 blocks to Central park, 5 to Timesquare and Broadway, there is lots of places to eat close by andeasy access to the subway for anywhere not in walking distance.
The Moderne is a cute little Boutique Hotel, nestled in amongst the bigger buildings its easy to miss if your not looking for it. Our room was teeny tiny but moderne (hehe) and comfortable, the bathroom had a great shower but did leak a little.
Our window faced another building so no view and quite dark but I saw this as a blessing in disguise as there was no noise to deal with, i'm guessing if you faced the street the trucks that came out of the place next door 24/7 would be very noisy.
All in all, i was very happy with our experience at this hotel, the desk clerks were always friendly and helped us out with directions and a car to the airport when it was time to leave. Only qualm is that the elevator was quite slow and the wifi woudl always drop out.

Room Tip: You'll find it very difficult to find anything under $250 a night in this area of the city thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Stephanie K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us for your first trip to NYC and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,631 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 468 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing