We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, mini, modern”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #84 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Wonderful experience, like living in a modern doll´s house. Reception was friendly solving all problems and wishes. The room was big enough and fresh. Only problem was the tempting king-size beds feet/ground which caused some bruises and the air conditioning the first night when we had not found the system. We stayed a week and got used to the possibility of fresh lounge when greate views was not possible from the room. We´ll come back! Thanks! Leena and Lennart

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We don´t know if they exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Leena R,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I loved everything about this hotel, including the perfect location! I will definitely go back in the future! The staff is great. I called the day prior to my visit and the front desk was very helpful in letting me check in earlier. We had to wait an hour still to check in when we arrived but the staff held our bags in a private room while we walked around the city and grabbed some lunch! They also allowed us to keep our bags there after we checked out because we didn't want to leave NYC right away. Everything we did was in walking distance: Time Square, Broadway, ABC studios, Central Park, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juliegrodzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Juliegrodzki,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us! We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the attentive service you received from the staff. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Really enjoyed my 5 night stay in this convenient location.
Staff's attitude is excellent. They are looking to help their guests.
I think this hotel represents very good value for money.
I would definitely go back, although air conditioning very loud if required constantly it would be hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Fiona B,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Staying at the hotel was a great getaway. Excellent service by all especially Robbi at the front desk who went out of his way to ensure our stay was perfect - from the second we walked in!

Rooms are small but perfect size for couples - well laid out with a good size modern bathroom. Second floor guest lounge a thoughtful touch.

Great location, recommend cafe metro round the corner on 7th ave for a lively breakfast. Will definitely be back soon!

Mahesh & Karishma

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mash44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mash44,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Robbi will also be very pleased to hear your compliments on his service. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The room was nice and the location was great, walking distance to Times Square, while still far enough away to get sleep at night. Also very close to Central park and a couple Subway lines, which made it easy to get around to different areas of the city. My only complaint would be the wait to check in, as our room wasnt ready until 2 hours after check in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear jhogan316,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. However, we regret that you were not able to check-in when you arrived, but hope that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

First of all, don't look at the picture on google earth! It does appear drab on the outside and a big lot of nothing across the street. Well, that has all changed. Beautiful new building there now and striped awnings are back just like Advertised on the website. Wonderful stay in NYC. Close to so much to do and see. Convenient Parking right next door. We were automatically upgraded to the junior suite upon arrival and Robbi was awesome and so friendly. Bathroom was tres chic. Even the pullout was very comfortable. 2nd floor lounge was fun to hang out and people watch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sicmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Sicmig,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and service you received at the hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Of course no lodging in Manhattan is really cheap, but the price is quite reasonable for the location between Columbus Circle/Lincoln Center and Times Square. Comfortable bed, clean and perfectly delightful, despite the coffee maker on the 2nd floor lounge not functioning properly in the morning (gave dirty brown water instead of coffee out of the Keurig device). Hopefullyfixed after I let staff know.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jazzyalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear jazzyalan,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our central location and comfortable beds. We regret that you had issues with the coffee machine and your feedback was shared with the appropriate departments to ensure the issue was resolved. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 469 in New York City
5,294 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 469 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,856 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,372 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £161 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing