We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personel is great~maintenance, problematic”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #80 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The first night we were there, it was very, very cold. The heater was not working. Every guest received a space heater late at night to keep warm. Night 3, we came back late from the theatre and the ceiling in the bathroom was pouring water. 2 floors were affected. They offered to send us to another hotel, but finally got us a room that due to damp carpet, they had on hold. Today, friends who'd stayed here and given a free upgrade, found out their upgrade was not only free, but charged the rack rate. Day 4, no heat again. We were told it might be a few days. Back came the space heater. the good news, the young staff is very, very nice.

Room Tip: I just would not stay here again so I have no tips. Be aware, there are no bath tubs in the entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Susie,

I am very sorry for the issues that you faced while at Moderne, the issue you had was a one off situation and I am sorry it happened while you are in town to enjoy a special occasion.

I would like to chat with you and please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com

Many thanks,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not often I find a place that I can't fault (must be my innate Britishness and moaning about everything!), but this place certainly bucked that trend!

Great location (for those of you that know/care it's directly oppostie McGees from How I Met Your Mother) in easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, Central Park and Midtown.

Room was spacious, clean, comfortable, inviting and modern. Absolutely faultless. The guest lounge offering free coffee, water, fruit and cakes in the morning is a nice touch, especially in a city where if someone says "bless you" you have to tip them.

The staff are amazing; Robbie, Penny and one more who's name I unfortunately never caught - well they just bent over backwards to help us on our first trip to New York. Bar recommendations where we wouldn't be fleeced, local restaurants off the tourist paths, and helping us book our Yankees tickets through ticketmaster instead of their own corporate expensive tour operators to save us some cash, all these things done with a smile and patience as well, amazing.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you can find it on half price sale as we did, worth every penny and would stay here again any time!

Quick word of warning not affiliated with the hotel but more with New York in general - watch out for city tax! Decent rate per night ballooned on check out with not 1, or 2, but three seperate city taxes adding an extra $60 per night onto the rate!

But that's New York as we found out, bring a full wallet and an empty credit card...

Room Tip: Ask for a suite facing the road. Not too noisy as far as NY streets go and at least some view as opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Michael V,

Wow!! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding our staff, they strive to create a memorable experience and I am thrilled to know they exceeded it!

We do hope to welcome you back in the future and please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next stay.

Best,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

True, NY rooms are small but if you are in your room in Ny, for too long, something is wrong. Location ideal, rooms good, definitely modern and staff friendly and helpful. All good and we would stay next time. Across from great Irish pub as well. Wifi free, water hot,sure rooms dark but for sleeping worked a treat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Donna G,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next booking.

Best,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Me and my wife had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Comfortable room, excellent shower, free wi-fi, free water, free coffee, and a very nice location near Central Park and Times Square. I couldn't forget to mention the excellent service too. Congratulations to Rinaldo, Bashir, Angel and the front desk guy that receive us every night with a smile. Hey guys, you are awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Alexandre,

Wow....Thank you for all the wonderful comments about our staff as they take great pride in this and makes their day!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please feel free to contact me at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com to assist with your next booking.

Best,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

i loved the modern hotel. we stayed last week and the room was big and the bathroom was nice :)Such a refreshing change from most hotels in ny that we've stayed that were in the same price bracket.
it was the perfect location since we wanted to see a broadway show on 45th and then the next morning see a taping of a tv show on 63rd.....right between the 2 and only 1/2 mile walk each time.
Penny at the front desk was delightful. we will stay there again in future trips !!!

Room Tip: if you can spring for a suite...it had huge windows and could see the blue sky :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mimi T,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next stay.

Best,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were really looking forward to our Babymoon, being 5 1/2 months pregnant. We Arrived at the Moderne after 12am very tired & exhausted from our journey looking forward to the reviews we'd read and the pictures we'd seen. Well, a nasty surprise when we reached the Moderne. The dingy, dark reception area said it all but still we give it a chance.... Was given the key to our room. After walking though a depressing, horribly decorated hallway, we reach our room which instantly made our hearts sink even further. Dirty carpet which looked like it should have been black and white, stains on the bed, damaged lightshade, grotty bathroom and a beaten up old cupboard. The room was horrible. The place looks like a converted hostel.
Having returned to reception with our suitcases, we were shown another room which was even worse! Red stain on the dirty carpet, bathroom just as grotty, stains on the chair in the room, another tatty beaten up cupboard.
This place is a dump. It's what I imagine a brothel to look like with its poor lighting to hide the hideousness. We checked out immediately around 1am in the morning having not even been in the place for an hour. The clerk was polite enough but seemed puzzled as 'we've had no complaints like this before'.
Yes well, had we been taking a group of school kids to NYC to an ungraded hostel, this is what we would have expected. BUT not a so called four star property and not at the price paid. I have been NYC several times and never been misled by a hotel like this. We were promised that no charges would be made and yet over a week on, just when I though that horrible experience was behind me, I have Booking.com trying to bill for one nights stay. They say, it's the hotel sending the bill. Well Moderne did email to say that I had not been charged for this booking. They need to sort it out and update their pictures and hotel description. It was a very disappointing start to our vacation, not good at all! I'm so so glad we had the guts to traipse around NYC at 1am in the morning and find somewhere else. Who knows what we could have caught staying there. Eurgh.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LornyPorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear LornyPorny,

I am very sorry for your experience and would like to discuss this with your further, if you would please contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that we can talk.

Regards,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Overall I'd still recommend this place. Excellent location and reasonable rate. The interior design is fancy; not my cup of tea but it looks good. Free wifi is another plus. However, I'm not very satisfied with the house keeping. Some towels given to us weren't clean. Another problem I had is that the heater wasn't working well. The temperature stayed at low 70's even though I set up the heat to 80 F.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank csu398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear csu398,

Thank you for review, I am happy to know that you enjoyed our staff and our second floor lounge. I am sorry for the mechanical issues that happened while you stayed with us in our heating and A/C and I have discussed this issue with our teams.

I do hope to welcome you back and please feel free to contact me directly at Jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist in your next stay.

Best,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,392 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
712 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#327 of 469 in New York City
1,133 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing