We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironically not so "moderne"”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #83 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

So at first I have to say that that the customer service was excellent. We checked in early, everyone was very pleasant. The lobby was cute and cozy. The first problem we noticed was the elevator. Yes, you read it right. The elevator. Only one elevator for 9 floors. We waited for a good couple of minutes, before we got on, and were taken to the second floor, people came in, and we went back down to the basement, because the workers had to share the elevator with us. When we were finally going up to our floor, I actually thought the elevator wasn't moving. The elevator was obviously old. Trust me, you can count to three before you see the number change. We walked into a stifling hallway, which was very brightly and nicely designed, but it was small and cramped. The card wouldn't properly open the door, you had to try multiple times and wait for quite a while before the light went off and you could enter. The first thing you see is a giant low bed, less than a foot away from the door. It is the majority of the room. The furniture is brightly colored (the one red chair) against grey walls, and at first it looks very pleasant. When I first saw the tv, I was very happy about it's size until I turned it on. It may be large, but it's also very outdated. What they lack with entertainment they make up with free fast internet. The majority of the night was spent on my laptop watching netflix. The quality of the tv was grainy and stretched, the very few channels wouldn't work, and while we read there was movies you can purchase, we were wrong. The paper lamps, had holes in them and you could draw in the dust. The dim, yellow lighting right above your head was so painful, that I chose to sit in the dark. We looked for a window, and when we realized the black out shade was covering we gave a sigh of relief, because without a window the room feels like a box. We opened the shades, and what we thought would be a nice view of the city street, or at least a block, was a filthy fire escape and a black wall. There was cabbage on it, and no light would come into the room. The wall was right in front of your face. You can literally stretch out your body and almost touch it. It was filthy, and very claustrophobic. I was scared to keep the window open in fear of bugs, so I turned on the air conditioner. The noise was an annoying pounding and rhythmic thumping, that while I could tune it out with blasting the television, I couldn't fall asleep, and gave up, turning it off and sleeping with no window or ac. Every fifteen minutes, the toilet would scream. Yes. It was emit a loud whining noise, then when I first heard it, I thought it was someone calling for help. Soon, I wanted to yell for help too. I am happy I got a deal on expedia, because 200$, is still too much to pay for this room, which seems like a joke, and is very very far from "moderne".

Room Tip: Ask for windows that have a view, because you might end up having a wonderful view of a cabbage litt...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Asif,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations for your stay.

I would like to discuss further you with you and I can be reached at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com

Regards,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,853)
There are newer reviews for Moderne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Emmet O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was simply not worth 400 - 500 dollars a night. The air conditioning was the only thing not renovated, it was an old, outdated air conditioning unit that had dirt in the vents. I couldn't sleep it was so loud and took so long to get cool. The bedding smelled like recycled ciggarette smoke from a previous guest, it had a certain musty smell. I moved rooms, the new room smelled the exact same. There was flooding in the majority of the rooms during my stay because it had rained the night before. Given the renovations one could justify the price increase of this hotel, however it's like putting a suit on a pig, it's still a pig.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Chloe,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations for your stay.

I would like to discuss further you with you and I can be reached at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com

Regards,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The first night we were there, it was very, very cold. The heater was not working. Every guest received a space heater late at night to keep warm. Night 3, we came back late from the theatre and the ceiling in the bathroom was pouring water. 2 floors were affected. They offered to send us to another hotel, but finally got us a room that due to damp carpet, they had on hold. Today, friends who'd stayed here and given a free upgrade, found out their upgrade was not only free, but charged the rack rate. Day 4, no heat again. We were told it might be a few days. Back came the space heater. the good news, the young staff is very, very nice.

Room Tip: I just would not stay here again so I have no tips. Be aware, there are no bath tubs in the entire...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Susie,

I am very sorry for the issues that you faced while at Moderne, the issue you had was a one off situation and I am sorry it happened while you are in town to enjoy a special occasion.

I would like to chat with you and please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com

Many thanks,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not often I find a place that I can't fault (must be my innate Britishness and moaning about everything!), but this place certainly bucked that trend!

Great location (for those of you that know/care it's directly oppostie McGees from How I Met Your Mother) in easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, Central Park and Midtown.

Room was spacious, clean, comfortable, inviting and modern. Absolutely faultless. The guest lounge offering free coffee, water, fruit and cakes in the morning is a nice touch, especially in a city where if someone says "bless you" you have to tip them.

The staff are amazing; Robbie, Penny and one more who's name I unfortunately never caught - well they just bent over backwards to help us on our first trip to New York. Bar recommendations where we wouldn't be fleeced, local restaurants off the tourist paths, and helping us book our Yankees tickets through ticketmaster instead of their own corporate expensive tour operators to save us some cash, all these things done with a smile and patience as well, amazing.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you can find it on half price sale as we did, worth every penny and would stay here again any time!

Quick word of warning not affiliated with the hotel but more with New York in general - watch out for city tax! Decent rate per night ballooned on check out with not 1, or 2, but three seperate city taxes adding an extra $60 per night onto the rate!

But that's New York as we found out, bring a full wallet and an empty credit card...

Room Tip: Ask for a suite facing the road. Not too noisy as far as NY streets go and at least some view as opp...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Michael V,

Wow!! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding our staff, they strive to create a memorable experience and I am thrilled to know they exceeded it!

We do hope to welcome you back in the future and please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next stay.

Best,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

True, NY rooms are small but if you are in your room in Ny, for too long, something is wrong. Location ideal, rooms good, definitely modern and staff friendly and helpful. All good and we would stay next time. Across from great Irish pub as well. Wifi free, water hot,sure rooms dark but for sleeping worked a treat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Donna G,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next booking.

Best,
Jon Goldberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Me and my wife had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Comfortable room, excellent shower, free wi-fi, free water, free coffee, and a very nice location near Central Park and Times Square. I couldn't forget to mention the excellent service too. Congratulations to Rinaldo, Bashir, Angel and the front desk guy that receive us every night with a smile. Hey guys, you are awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Alexandre,

Wow....Thank you for all the wonderful comments about our staff as they take great pride in this and makes their day!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please feel free to contact me at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com to assist with your next booking.

Best,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,214 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,267 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#112 of 468 in New York City
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,806 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing