We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #358 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great hotel to stay nearby the main attractions at times square. Price is reasonable for the region, staff are really friedly and always helping the tourists. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in NY, I do recommend. Don't offer breakfest at hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    321
    219
    93
    90
See reviews for
109
277
183
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankenmuth, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I tried this hotel a while back and found that there were issues both times, such as bugs and worn out settings. Not always were the sheets clean. As for the condition, yes, I agree with the other reviews, the carpeting is so bad, I had a nail hole on my heel after walking down with slippers from the stairs. The staff, well, lets just say not the most steadfast in personality. They speak to you when the moment fits. When you complaint, it falls on deaf ears. The room had no heating not to mention the shower had broken handles. The one guy not sure his name has been there about 18 years, was not the most approachable person. Not professional at all. We will not be back! Pay extra and save the terrible management or there lack of.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small be aware if you have suitcases. And management IS TERRIBLE!!!!! THEY IGNORE YOU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

dingy, dark, cramped and beat up; TV remote didn't work; Internet was spotty (didn't work for first 30 minutes); Location was great - but that is it; Bar staff was nice;

If I didn't get the room for $150 I'd complain a lot more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel is in a great location close to Times Square. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was quiet a good size for NYC and was clean. There were some maintenance issues such as tape on the windows but we were not too bothered. Hotel was expensive for the standard but I guess this is the price you pay in NYC. The big issue for us was the public areas between front desk and rooms. The elevator and staircases were in really bad shape. Surely at these prices the owners could afford some paint and carpeting. So please don't expect luxury for your buck but I'm sure you'll be thrilled with location.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a deluxe room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHM_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

New York is a great city and we all understand that the hotel situation is competitive. But the experience I made at the Mayfair was so unplesant that I can only warn. I have stayed here before and despite the almost always impolite receptionists and the minute, worn rooms, the location is so good that I decided to book again. I stayed for three nights in December. The first room was very cold and i had the impression of an icy draft all night. The next morning, I discovered a huge hole in the wall next to the air condition which was only covered with a towel. The house manager seemed not surprised about this and I was assigned to another room further up. The room was very warm and the heating could not be regulated. The temperature was about 80 to 90 degrees Fahrenheit. It stayed like this - even after opening the window for a long time. It was not at all possible to sleep. The receptionist told me that they had major difficulties with the heating (although it was not a very cold day resp. night).
During the next night (same temperature), I was woken up by a huge noise in front of my door. When I looked out, I discovered that a large piece of the ceiling had broken down directly in front of my door and water was dripping from the ceiling. I would not have stayed another night...A complaint which I sent per mail was not replied at all. This shows that the management of this once very respected hotel has no interest in happy guests, but only in quick money. Book another hotel if you can,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulSalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMDEN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The rooms are very small, the décor is aging, the hall carpets are well worn, the elevator old, but the desk staff is great and the place is clean. I never saw the cockroaches other reviews mention, and we enjoyed a drink at the hotel's cozy bar with its vivacious bartender. If you want to stay a few nights in NYC, see a play or musical,enjoy Times Square ambiance without breaking the bank, and you don't need luxurious quarters, this is a good place for you. I would hesitate to stay in the summer because it appears the A/C is broken and the staff doesn't seem concerned about it.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back of the hotel to avoid the NYC street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,666 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#375 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing