We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
144
375
264
120
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
375
264
120
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews book of mormon times square great location new york the theater district rooms are small single room food emporium around the corner hotel room bed was very comfortable central park broadway block subway nyc jfk
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Very expensive for standard of hotel though did like location, not noisy at all and staff very pleasant. Did not eat in the restaurant attached to hotel so unable to comment but lots of good places nearby. Rooms bit claustrophobic and dated but clean. Hey in NYC so not in room much! Would go back.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Yes, the room was small but it and the linen and towels were spotlessly clean. However the whole place is in dire need of refurbishment with peeling wallpaper and dingy paintwork. Did have to report two maintenance issues - a running tap in the bathroom (what a waste of water) which was sorted out the same day. Couldn't say the same for the hairdryer which had live cables showing as the on/off switch was broken and still wasn't repaired after our two night stay. All in all, the price was good value and the location was excellent. You make up your own mind!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank spanishrose1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

What can I say, yes it is need of some decorating and updating but for the price it is very good value, Near to the subway, theatres, and restaurants. The rooms are small but bathroom is spotless, the bedding also spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. There are no facilities in the rooms which was a shame as I love a cup of coffee first thing and don't always want to go out and find a stand or a café that does take away. We stayed Six days and I have to say we became quite fond of the old place even the rickety lift. If ever they do update it I hope they are able to retain the character of this old building in the middle of all the new skyscrapers.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor at the back, there is no view and A/C unit very loud but i think there was less noise from the traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nannyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

If you don’t need fancy hotel rooms and don’t mind the peeling wallpaper or the lack of view, the Mayfair is a well located old hotel that gets the job done for a reasonable price (considering it is Manhattan). The sheets and towels were clean, the TV and WIFI worked. The staff was very friendly and happy to accommodate an extra night.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank alanlP3589QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Great location for subway, theaters, food and enjoying the city., ! Very personable, restaurant is excellent! Rooms are small but great for visiting New York!! We definitely will stay again!! Great character hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tboo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews