We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in a Solid Economy Hotel”
Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #374 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As has been said, the location of this hotel is unbeatable. This was my husband's first visit to NYC and to be this close to Central Park, Times Square and Broadway was fantastic. We never had to take a cab because we could either walk or take the subway.

The hotel was clean. We arrived before check-in and the lobby was being mopped. Our room was clean and very comfortable with wonderfully cool air conditioning.

The ladies working the front desk were very helpful, professional and friendly. We arrived prior to the 3:00 check-in and no room was available but I realized this would probably be the case. We were able to leave our locked luggage in the lobby with the front desk personnel and had no problem.

That being said, one should keep in mind that this is an economy choice. Our room (#102) had absolutely no view, unless a brick wall and air conditioning unit are of interest. This did not bother us because we were only in the room to sleep and it was wonderfully cool and quiet.

I made our reservation on Booking.com and did not attempt to change anything and everything went smoothly.

If you are used to economy hotels and looking for one in a great location, I believe you will be very happy at the Da Vinci.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadamstris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

This tiny 20-something room between Broadway and 8th Avenue on 56th street is in a great location to access Central Park and the big museums up that way, plus an easy walk to Times Square, the Theater District and the Intrepid museum. We were looking for rooms with double beds for our family, and few hotels in midtown seem to be able to handle more than 2 people in a room. Pluses are the size and location and price. The rooms we had both featured nicely done marble bathrooms that were fairly roomy. We did have some issues with hot water as others indicated but only twice and the water was still lukewarm. We had double rooms on the first and 2nd floors. The rooms themselves were tiny, would have fit a queen bed ok but the 2 doubles made it tight. Windows were frosted, so unable to see out but outside noise was minimal. The beds and pillows were a disappointment as several reviews indicated the beds were comfortable. We found the beds unbearably hard and uncomfortable; we woke up sore and achy each day. The pillows were flat, maybe a couple inches thick so did not provide much comfort. Would we go back again? Probably not unless we hear their beds are better. But if you enjoy sleeping on extra firm beds, then this would be a good place for you to be based in midtown. One odd thing we noticed was that housekeeping would not show up until after about 5:00 when we'd be back resting for a while-- so we did not have our rooms cleaned 3 of the 4 days, just got fresh towels. Never been in a hotel where housekeeping came so late in the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaeljones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked this hotel online because of it's price and location - both good - but we weren't prepared for the lack of attention to cleanliness and repairs. It might just have been our particular room, but the carpet was stained, bathroom tile cracked and tub chipped, furniture scarred. The hotel hallway wasn't vacuumed in the time we were there (2 nights three days) and we had to ask to have out room serviced at 3:30 pm. That being said, we were able to walk to Times Square and Central Park, and it was less than a $20 cab ride to Penn Station. If we ever go back, we will be sure to ask for a renovated room (if there is such a thing)!

Room Tip: There is no view, ask for the cleanest and most recently renovated rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The place is clean, serves a continental breakfast and has a wonderful restaurant. This hotel is very European, economical but getting a little far for our advancing age. We have stayed there time and time again, it has everything you might need (except internet on the 5th floor) and at a great price but we need to be closer to Times Square.

Room Tip: There is not internet access on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. This hotel is ideally situated, within minutes of a subway station and numerous attractions including Times Square! The Da Vinci offers great value with the free breakfast and WiFi an added bonus.The staff couldn't be more helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashaBustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Booked this hotel on short notice. It's by no means a fancy place. The room was very small which we expected and the only window in the room was tiny. The great thing about staying here is its location, it's in the theatre district and a few blocks away from Central Park. It's a good choice if your looking for a reasonably priced no-frills hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliTwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is almost too good to be true. It's in an unbelievable location. Only a couple blocks from Central Park, Times Square, and all sorts of museums. The service is very helpful and the room are immaculate. A little small, but you don't stay in your room much anyways! Especially given this hotel's amazing location. And the room is an incredible value given all of this. I Would absolutely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArdynN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#312 of 469 in New York City
1,659 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#368 of 469 in New York City
932 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 469 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#394 of 469 in New York City
6,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Address: 244 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-4306
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £79 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of New York's busy midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vinci
Da Vinci Hotel New York
Da Vinci New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing