We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Da Vinci Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Moderne Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dream Midtown(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ameritania Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
WestHouse Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
107
270
127
41
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
270
127
41
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbus circlecentral parkrestaurant downstairsgreat locationnew yorktimes squarebudget hotelfew blocksfirst floorthe theater districttwo double bedssubway stationbroadwaylobbymanhattanclosetrefrigerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location but rude personnel and hotel cancellation and payment rules (by the way read carefully the cancellation policy before you reserve, and also the hotel requires that you pay in full your stay at check-in which I found outrageous); you may want to see the room before making the payment). The breakfast is awful (just dome loaf of bred and coffee and milk) and is served in the tiny hotel atrium (despite the fact that there is a restaurant in the basement). I had the feeling that they just wanted to make money and cared less about customers' contort. If you have an alternative choice even with a little higher price do not check-in in this hotel.
Sid

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DespicableMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As has been said, the location of this hotel is unbeatable. This was my husband's first visit to NYC and to be this close to Central Park, Times Square and Broadway was fantastic. We never had to take a cab because we could either walk or take the subway.

The hotel was clean. We arrived before check-in and the lobby was being mopped. Our room was clean and very comfortable with wonderfully cool air conditioning.

The ladies working the front desk were very helpful, professional and friendly. We arrived prior to the 3:00 check-in and no room was available but I realized this would probably be the case. We were able to leave our locked luggage in the lobby with the front desk personnel and had no problem.

That being said, one should keep in mind that this is an economy choice. Our room (#102) had absolutely no view, unless a brick wall and air conditioning unit are of interest. This did not bother us because we were only in the room to sleep and it was wonderfully cool and quiet.

I made our reservation on Booking.com and did not attempt to change anything and everything went smoothly.

If you are used to economy hotels and looking for one in a great location, I believe you will be very happy at the Da Vinci.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadamstris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This tiny 20-something room between Broadway and 8th Avenue on 56th street is in a great location to access Central Park and the big museums up that way, plus an easy walk to Times Square, the Theater District and the Intrepid museum. We were looking for rooms with double beds for our family, and few hotels in midtown seem to be able to handle more than 2 people in a room. Pluses are the size and location and price. The rooms we had both featured nicely done marble bathrooms that were fairly roomy. We did have some issues with hot water as others indicated but only twice and the water was still lukewarm. We had double rooms on the first and 2nd floors. The rooms themselves were tiny, would have fit a queen bed ok but the 2 doubles made it tight. Windows were frosted, so unable to see out but outside noise was minimal. The beds and pillows were a disappointment as several reviews indicated the beds were comfortable. We found the beds unbearably hard and uncomfortable; we woke up sore and achy each day. The pillows were flat, maybe a couple inches thick so did not provide much comfort. Would we go back again? Probably not unless we hear their beds are better. But if you enjoy sleeping on extra firm beds, then this would be a good place for you to be based in midtown. One odd thing we noticed was that housekeeping would not show up until after about 5:00 when we'd be back resting for a while-- so we did not have our rooms cleaned 3 of the 4 days, just got fresh towels. Never been in a hotel where housekeeping came so late in the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaeljones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked this hotel online because of it's price and location - both good - but we weren't prepared for the lack of attention to cleanliness and repairs. It might just have been our particular room, but the carpet was stained, bathroom tile cracked and tub chipped, furniture scarred. The hotel hallway wasn't vacuumed in the time we were there (2 nights three days) and we had to ask to have out room serviced at 3:30 pm. That being said, we were able to walk to Times Square and Central Park, and it was less than a $20 cab ride to Penn Station. If we ever go back, we will be sure to ask for a renovated room (if there is such a thing)!

Room Tip: There is no view, ask for the cleanest and most recently renovated rooms available.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The place is clean, serves a continental breakfast and has a wonderful restaurant. This hotel is very European, economical but getting a little far for our advancing age. We have stayed there time and time again, it has everything you might need (except internet on the 5th floor) and at a great price but we need to be closer to Times Square.

Room Tip: There is not internet access on the 5th floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews