We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, reasonable service and reasonable amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #358 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable service and reasonable amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Da Vinci was recommended by a friend as an adequate hotel for someone who only needed a place to sleep after wandering around town to galleries and museums all day long. The recommendation was justified. The hotel is clean, the room had the necessities (comfortable bed, radio, flat screen TV, shower, etc.) but the décor is a bit dated. The front desk staff were helpful. The location is great, within a few blocks of the Rockefeller Centre etc. The best thing I did upon arriving was to buy an unlimited subway pass to get wherever I wanted to go that wasn't close to the hotel.

My booking cost about $100 less per night than other three-star listings on Trip Advisor. It is in no way a stylish place to stay in NYC, but is a very acceptable utilitarian way to afford 4-5 days in NYC rather than 2-3 days, which is my preferred mode of travel.

As of my last check, their web-site sucks. Book through Trip Advisor or by phone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    262
    117
    35
    38
See reviews for
68
272
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is in walking distance to many New York city must do"s for tourists. We visited for about four days and never needed a cab. I would recommend this hotel to any one who would wants to do NYC on a budget without sacrificing quality, location or comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanklin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Da Vinci is in the perfect place for walking to the main sites up town. Really good resturants nearby. This is a small older style hotel and for the money spot on.The room was clean and tidy and could not be faulted. The staff were helpful, and friendly.If you are looking for a room with a view its not for you,but if you want to be just where you need to be, up town look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed In t hotel for three nights the room, I ask then for a wake up call was very very small and they never did It.
They had two vacuums cleaners in the front of our door, we ask then to please to remove then and they never did. We where afraid then in case of fire or any emergency and we had to run our of the room, of course they ignore us, plus the WI-Fi never work.
We pay there rate, but they never give the service they promise

Room Tip: Two beds are better then one single bed the room is very small you can do not turn around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIRNA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a fantastic trip to NYC! Hotel was great, could not be in a better location 5 mins walk to Time Square, 20 mins to 5th Avenue. 2mins to nearest subway station. I had a problem contacting my bank in the UK and the girls in reception were extremely helpful to help me resolve. Desk is covered 24/7 and were very friendly and helpful when we asked for directions and gave us suggestions of places to go. Room was good size, air-con in room was great as weather was very hot during our trip. Housekeeping in every day. Tea/coffee / croissants in reception each morning - very nice touch to start your day. HIghly recommend this hotel we will definately return again. Well done to all at hotel - thanks for giving us great memories of our time in NYC!!!!!! Tip - try Brooklyn Diner on West 57th Street - it's great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location but rude personnel and hotel cancellation and payment rules (by the way read carefully the cancellation policy before you reserve, and also the hotel requires that you pay in full your stay at check-in which I found outrageous); you may want to see the room before making the payment). The breakfast is awful (just dome loaf of bred and coffee and milk) and is served in the tiny hotel atrium (despite the fact that there is a restaurant in the basement). I had the feeling that they just wanted to make money and cared less about customers' contort. If you have an alternative choice even with a little higher price do not check-in in this hotel.
Sid

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DespicableMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

As has been said, the location of this hotel is unbeatable. This was my husband's first visit to NYC and to be this close to Central Park, Times Square and Broadway was fantastic. We never had to take a cab because we could either walk or take the subway.

The hotel was clean. We arrived before check-in and the lobby was being mopped. Our room was clean and very comfortable with wonderfully cool air conditioning.

The ladies working the front desk were very helpful, professional and friendly. We arrived prior to the 3:00 check-in and no room was available but I realized this would probably be the case. We were able to leave our locked luggage in the lobby with the front desk personnel and had no problem.

That being said, one should keep in mind that this is an economy choice. Our room (#102) had absolutely no view, unless a brick wall and air conditioning unit are of interest. This did not bother us because we were only in the room to sleep and it was wonderfully cool and quiet.

I made our reservation on Booking.com and did not attempt to change anything and everything went smoothly.

If you are used to economy hotels and looking for one in a great location, I believe you will be very happy at the Da Vinci.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadamstris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#297 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#427 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Da Vinci Hotel
Address: 244 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-4306
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of New York's busy midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vinci
Da Vinci Hotel New York
Da Vinci New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing