We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location!”
Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #363 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for a long weekend. Couldn't beat the location 2 min walk to Columbus Circle, Central Park, MOMA etc....Discounted parking right across the street. The rooms are a decent size. We were on the first floor, kind of a cave, but not bad. Free wifi and coffee.

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 1 first floor. Like a cave sort of quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storrowdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    262
    119
    35
    38
See reviews for
68
273
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here for a week in August. There are a couple of minuses with the Da Vinci, but they are well and truly outweighed by the pluses. The location is brilliant; close to Central Park and Broadway and with many restaurants close at hand, as well as many subway stations. The Italian restaurant below the hotel (where you get a discount) and the Fuji Sushi next door but one, are two I dined at a couple of times. Both very good and reasonably priced. The Da Vinci itself, which I booked via Booking.com,is very well priced. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help. The hotel is small, but this is what gives it its character. There is free wifi in the rooms and two computers downstairs in the lobby, which are for guests' use. In the rooms there is a small safe, a fridge and an ironing board. They could do with a bit more hanging space for clothes, but there are two drawers as well. Actually if they took the safe out of the wardrobe it would help. I found the bed extremely comfortable and slept well there. My room was not serviced till quite late in the afternoon, which was sometimes a little inconvenient, but not a huge deal. Breakfast is included in the price and although this is just tea/coffee and rolls/croissants/pastries down in the lobby, I still found it quite handy on a couple of days. If you are looking for something flashy with bells and whistles, then go somewhere else, but if you are looking for something with character, clean and safe in an ideal location at a very reasonable price, then you can't do better than this.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is small and narrow, most rooms wouldn't have a view. Mine looked across to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, NJ
Level Contributor
238 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had walked past this hotel many times and never noticed it. However, I was searching online for a reasonably priced hotel in midtown Manhattan and found a terrific price for this hotel. The reviews were good so I booked it. The price was 35% less than a hotel around the corner that I bought with a Travelzoo coupon and this room was just as large. The staff was excellent. There are 2 PCs available in the lobby and the wifi is fast and free. There is even a free continental breakfast that is not common even among pricier hotels. And the other hotel did not even have one draw to put things away in while the Da Vinci had more than adequate draw space. There is no doubt that I will stay here whenever in NYC.

Room Tip: The first floor might be noisy since everyone has to walk thru it to get to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

First who is the hotel managment is unclear, I had to contact the Secretary of state in Albany to find out since the manager of the hotel lied about it. Second, after telling both the hotel manager and the person who worked in the front desk no to use my card SINCE I PAID IN CASH, THEY USED MY CARD WITHOUT AUTORIZATION. when asked why, the hotel manager LIED!!!!!!. Third, check your receipts since when you pay in cash, they write "paid in credit", an IRS issue which benefits them and not you. BE CAREFUL

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was one of three NYC hotels I stayed in, during three stopovers in NYC during a nine-week vacation in USA, Bermuda and Canada.

I stayed here for 4 nights; the first night was not great; some room issues including NO wardrobe, no ability to adjust or open blinds, and no room information/folder, or telephone call instructions/ message retrieval etc. I had to drape my clothes in various places around the room; on the spare bed, over the bathroom door, on a lamp shade and off a painting which made for a messy and a depressing scene!

This was remedied the next day, when I was moved to another room that was fully provisioned and "operational."

Staff always very friendly and keen to please.

Excellent budget hotel; definitely "no frills" though. Perfect for those who do not plan to spend a lot of time in their room/s ; who want something clean safe and central/handy ...and prefer to save their extra dollars to spend elsewhere, rather than splurge on expensive accommodation.

Hotel quite basic, but clean linen/towels etc, secure and convenient location.
Good value too (apart from my first most uncomfortable and unsatisfactory day !)

European" pensione-feel" type, small hotel ...with (free) provided:- coffee, tea and rolls in foyer each morning. A nice touch!
( Just wish the jam had been "real jam"...rather than that awful American "jelly" full of high-fructose corn syrup ...that cheap genetically modified alternative, to real cane sugar that is helping all waistlines in USA expand ! ( Loaded into dressings, sauces, mustards etc too. Have a look at the labels!) ( Cane sugar is used in quality jam.)
Needless to say, I never ate the "jam!" But would have loved some, had the genuine article been provided.)

I would stay here again, if I wanted a budget stay in NYC?

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting...and check everything is working...and that you have a wardrob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentsinglediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel is in great location. Subway, stores, restaurants, central park - all are few minutes away,
Very clean rooms. Free WiFi in the room and two computers in addition in the lobby,
Rooms also include a small refrigirator and a deposit safe box.
Very helpfull and welcoming personnel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
österreich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Near times square and central park and many tube stations :) you can reach important things like times square, 4 2nd street and empire state building by foot in 5 - 15 minutes. Great!!! ... there is breakfast offered in the hotel, it is like ever second shop on the street, to take away and only sweet things like croissants, muffins and so on. It is ok for the first big hungry feeling in the morning, but there are some nice coffee shops near the hotel were you get really nice breakfast :).... the staff was very helpful to find the right way and by ordering a shuttle bus. ... wifi was only working near the reception. we had a room.in the 4th floor and it was not the hugest room I ever saw, but it was ok for two persons. The bed was about 1 meter or more high. A little.bit unusual but ok. The only thing I have to criticize is that the walls are very thin and in a hit summer night you have to turn on the cooler the whole night. Otherwise the room will be very warm.in about 10 minutes. I can recommend this hotel for all people with average standard ;) thanks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityhopperin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#307 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#432 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Da Vinci Hotel
Address: 244 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-4306
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of New York's busy midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vinci
Da Vinci Hotel New York
Da Vinci New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing