We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #228 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed here last week for 4 nights. We arrived at 2pm on Wednesday and although check in was not until 3pm, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and found us an available room for early check in. Every time we passed the front desk, we were greeted and asked if we needed anything. The room was extremely clean and well kept. Cleaning arrived everyday and changed our towels and straightened the room. The room was not loud as most hotels in NYC can be! All 4 of us will be staying here again next year!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Kim S,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience! I am so pleased to hear that you found our front office staff to stellar. We look forward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

For a quick stay in New York, where most of your time will visiting NYC, this hotel was perfect. It's a small, narrow hotel, so I felt very UNDERwhelmed by the entrance and the small lobby. But the staff made up for the lack of personality in the entrance by being both NICE and courteous (over the phone and in person).

Style & Cleanliness: The hotels rooms were small, not unlike most NYC hotel rooms. But the rooms were squeaky clean, the bathroom was a good size, and the beds were comfortable. The rooms are a bit more modern, but quite simple. Nothing you are going to tell you friends about, but no ugly polyester floral patterns on the comforter either.

Location: What really sets this hotel apart from some of the other Marriott-branded hotels in the area was the location. This location was SUPERB. Plenty of parking lots in the area (just download the NYC Parking APP to LOCK in a reasonable rate), and a spitting distance to the subway. It's just a few blocks south of Time Square, so you don't have to step out of the hotel and get hit by all the hustle and bustle immediately, it's a couple of blocks before you get there. Also very close to Penn Station, Herald Square, Bryant PARK (my favorite small park), New York Public Library. It's just a great central location, with 10 minute cab ride to Central Park, and 15 minute cab right to the Freedom Tower. Awesome spot for tourists and business travelers.

Final Say...
Would definitely stay here again. Save time and money by being more centrally located, and relying on short cab rides and the subway, verse staying somewhere in an inconvenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear jmcend

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff.
Thank you for being our guest! We look forward to having you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed in the Courtyard Marriott hotel for a week, after working for 8 weeks in New York, being 19 there were a lot of things I wanted to do. I am not very confident when booking places to stay so I traveled with two family members one being 67 and another 42, this for me was an amazing place to stay. Situated on 37th street right near Times Square! The place was extremely clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful when we had queries about places to go and see, and the airport taxi service. The facilities in the hotel were also very good. I just wanted a cosy bed, there was that with amazing bathroom facilities and a room with a view! The hotel itself had lovely breakfasts, and a private area to sit outside and enjoy the sun whilst munching breakfast. Visiting New York in June till August will definitely book with this hotel again outstanding service! Would HUGELY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaKeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a great experience while staying here. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. They really made things easy for me during my stay. Special thanks to Merick Forrester, who went out of his way to help me whenever he was there. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Omar T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your trip to New York. I am also very pleased to hear about the exceptional service you recieved from our bellman Merrick. I will be sharing your comments with him.
Thank you again for being our guest. We look foward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a week for business. Great location near Times Square and Bryant Park. It was easy to get to using the Subway as there's station just across the street from the hotel. The staff is friendly and the hotel is up to marriott standards. The rooms are not too big but that's to be expected in downtown manhattan i suppose. The room came equipped with a safe, iron and i was able to open a window for some air. I didn't really hear any streetnoise and the rooms where clean. Breakfast was in marriott 'cafe' style and there was plenty of room in the restaurant area downstairs. The lobby has a small mini market with some basic stuff. The one thing i didn't like was the elevator. It was soooooooo slow. sometimes you had to wait 5 minutes and sometimes it just got stuck. They really need to fix that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Dutchman02,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and the rooms to be clean. I am very sorry the elevators were not working properly during your stay. I have shared your comments with our engineering staff in order to have that problem resolved.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Looking for a quiet room in this bustling city? Look no further. I usually find it hard to sleep in NYC, but not here. The hotel is located on W. 40th street, so that it is a short walk to Times Square. It is very basic, as far as amenities go. There are a few things in the room that require fixing too: the safe and the coffee maker were not working. There were no coffee or tea bags available. The concierge did not give good directions at all and had an attitude.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor so you won't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Margaret C.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive for your best overall satisfaction. Unfortunately we came up short this time by not providing you with superior customer service. I can assure you that this will be reviewed with our staff members. Thank you for being our guest. I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future. If there is anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 212-391-0088.

Best Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here with my son on a sightseeing trip to New York and can highly recommend it. Our room was reasonably spacious by New York standards and was clean and comfortable. We had a room at the back and fairly high up, which was very quiet. The lobby staff are all exceptionally helpful. The wi-fi is free. We ate all our meals out and it is close to a great diner for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ovvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Ovvin,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent visit to our hotel. I am so happy to hear you and your son enjoyed all of the sites NYC has to offer. I am so pleased you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#157 of 469 in New York City
1,110 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#208 of 469 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#253 of 469 in New York City
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 469 in New York City
764 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 469 in New York City
1,184 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#146 of 469 in New York City
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £153 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an ideal destination for experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. Our hotel's refreshing amenities and intuitive service are complemented by an incredible location in the heart of the city. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests are less than a five-minute walk from Times Square and only two blocks from Bryant Park. Experience Broadway and the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park and Rockefeller Plaza, all within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel. Conveniently situated just a block from the 42nd Street Subway station, you can easily access other NYC destinations while enjoying the vibrant vibes, world-class museums, restaurants and shopping found in Manhattan and Times Square. Redesigned, our contemporary hotel rooms feature free Wi-Fi, luxury bedding, comfortable work areas and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy healthy breakfast options from nosh!, our signature cafe, and fuel up for a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing