We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #220 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from an 8 night stay in this hotel with my wife. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, room was clean and tidy, also a great location for a first visit to NY
Room was not particularly big, but how much time do you really spend in the room

There is a 24hr pharmacy come supermarket on the same street, and a couple of decent bars on either side of the hotel, 39th & 41st

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a 1st visit to NYC

Room Tip: Like in other posts ask for a higher room, its gets you away from the street noise. We stayed in 250...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasondxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jasondxb,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit to New York! Our location is great for all there is to do and see in NYC. Im very pleased to learn you found our hotel to be comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you the next time you return to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    596
    149
    43
    26
See reviews for
446
377
84
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much. Great location near theatre district and times square, you can walk to many of the local attractions. Very clean, staff are very helpful and friendly. Very good value for the price. Great view of the Empire State Building , specially at night with the changing light colors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norma5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear norma5253,

Thank for your excellent review of our property. Im very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to New York and found our hotel to be convenient for all of your needs.
Thank you for being our guest. I hope we can be of service to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during the NRF conference. The location was convenient to the conference center as well as time square. Plenty of options near by. Also tucked in a bit so the noise is less noticeable. The room was small but it's Ny. It was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was acceptable and the staff was nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear alex h,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel. I am very please you found our location to be convenient to your needs while in New York. Thank you for your great comments about our friendly staff and clean rooms.
We hope to be of service to you again the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little River, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was on vacation with my sister so wanted a central location. This was perfect, near Times Square, the Port Authority, Empire State Bldg, shopping and many subway stations. The rooms were very nice, small but all you could need and very very clean and modern. A fridge is also in the room, which is very handy when you are there for a few days. The personnel could not have been nicer, always helpful, answered with a smile and just as helpful as can be. Expensive, but no worse than anywhere else in NYC. Will stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Joanie17,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at our property. I am so pleased you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I am very happy you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you upon your return to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for a family visit to NY ... Right on the door step of Times Square and a short walk to all the shopping areas (such as 5th Ave) and tourist attractions. Very close to Bryant Park - which is a great place for a picnic with the kids. There are lots of places to eat around the area. The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean but not fancy. The hotel cafe is basic - teas, coffees, bagels, muffins etc. there is a 24h drug store round the corner for snacks, water, etc. We only had breakfast at the hotel once because the choice outside is so much better. The hotel offers free wifi with good speed. If I were to go back to NY I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sunil_Mumbai,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Courtyard Times Square. I am happy to hear you found our location to be central to all you wanted to to and see while visiting New York. Bryant Park is beautiful, Im pleased to learn you were able to enjoy it with your family.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you the next time you visit New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect with Times Square just around the corner. Just a few blocks away from Empire State Building and more. The hotel was friendly and clean, all staff was very nice and the rooms were big and nice for the relatively low price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mats J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear matsjans,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is located a few blocks from times square. Rooms are a little small,bathroom was a good size. Rooms were clean and staff were very nice. Hotel a little pricey but what NYC is not that way. But overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkgirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear bkgirl95,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you found our location to be convenient, our rooms to be clean, and our staff to be friendly.
We hope to serve you again during your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#238 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an ideal destination for experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. Our hotel's refreshing amenities and intuitive service are complemented by an incredible location in the heart of the city. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests are less than a five-minute walk from Times Square and only two blocks from Bryant Park. Experience Broadway and the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park and Rockefeller Plaza, all within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel. Conveniently situated just a block from the 42nd Street Subway station, you can easily access other NYC destinations while enjoying the vibrant vibes, world-class museums, restaurants and shopping found in Manhattan and Times Square. Redesigned, our contemporary hotel rooms feature free Wi-Fi, luxury bedding, comfortable work areas and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy healthy breakfast options from nosh!, our signature cafe, and fuel up for a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing