We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location saved this rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #225 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
784 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Location saved this rating”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've stayed all over Manhattan at some point but I liked this location best to date. The hotel, on the other hand has some unique deficiencies:

1) there are only emergency egress stairs - which means that EVERYONE is forced to depend on the elevators. The only public restroom is 1 floor below the lobby which is not accessible if the elevators are down. Complete dependence on elevators is absurd. I do realize there are structural challenges with changing this situation but I can say that I will never book here again. I took Stair B from my floor and expected to come out near the lobby. I came out on the back side of the block. I had to walk the equivalent of 1 1/2 blocks outside to get back to the lobby.

2) considering the above comment the elevators (there are 3) get locked up and need "re-setting"

3) The hotel does not seem to adequately plan for the surge of tourist and business travelers. My suggestion is an efficiency study. There is no reason why the ice machine would break at the end of July and the front desk staff have no idea or option for providing ice to guests.

Besides the location, the room and public areas were clean. I opted not to have housecleaning during my 2 night stay so I have no comment on that. I had a refrigerator in my room too, which I always like.

Room Tip: Upper floors or view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeatOfMyPntsTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear SeatOfMyPntsTravlr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I was disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We do have 3 elevators in our lobby for guest use. Unfortunately the stairs are for emergency use only. They are located on each end of the building and are accessible from the guest levels only. The stairs open up to the front of the building and to the back of the building.
I apologize for the issue you experienced with the ice machine on the lower lobby. Unfortunately our ice machine did break down for one day. We did have it fixed as early as possible. Ice for our guests was available in the main lobby at our starbucks counter.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope that the next time you are in the New York area, you will give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    599
    149
    43
    27
See reviews for
448
380
84
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A was there on a business trip. The hotel is conveniently located in midtown close to different subway stations. Years ago, that area was rather boring. But now you can also find small restaurants and bars not too far away. It was during freezing winter and breakfast in the cafe downstairs was not too comfortable because the doors would not close. But overall a good place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk_rd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear dk_rd69,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am happy to learn you enjoyed our location and the convenience of the NYC subways. We are centrally located to almost every subway line in Manhattan.
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Friendly, very helpful staff. Concierge was terrific to help select & make dinner reservations & delectable dessert options. Room was small but exceptionally clean, comfortable, & modern -especially the shower/bathroom. Room lighting was quite nice as well. Location was excellent to enjoy an adventure in Times Square & the theater. The room was quiet & couldn't hear the city traffic. Hard to find a negative about our stay except for a heavy bathroom sliding door. Definitely an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaca577779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear vaca577779,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel and found our staff and concierge to be helpful and friendly.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you the next time you are in the NYC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My whole family enjoyed our stay here. My husband loved the comfortable bed. My son didn't complain about the pull-out sofa and the free breakfast was not only delish, but plentiful. It held us over until our early dinner while sightseeing. Great location, helpful staff and reasonable price. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMS124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear MMS124,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our facility.
We hope to see you the next time you are in the NYC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent location for theater goers. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Helpful concierge. Nosh offers a very limited selection of eats, but the sitting area is pleasant and a nice touch for a Courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear RM C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to our hotel. I was very pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be comfortable and well appointed. I am glad you were able to enjoy the city and the theaters.
Thank you for staying at our location. We hope you will return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely staff, beds so comfy, bathroom fine, wardrobes slightly odd as Ill fitting so be careful you don't lose stuff down the 'hidey holes'! However concierge staff just great. Basically all you need for reasonable price in prime location. Bar next door to the right is wonderful too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear peejLancs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. I was very happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and our rooms to be comfortable. I am very pleased our concierge was able to assist you in making plans in the city.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has a tricky elevator system but once you figure it out it's easy! The hotel has so many wonderful restaurants and bars to accommodate different palates. The staff was very helpful when we needed it. Great street access and theaters right across the street. Loved staying here in Times Square!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Jel1234,

Thank you for your review of your visit to our hotel and NYC. I am very happy to learn you enjoyed all that New York has to offer.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope to be of service to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an ideal destination for experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. Our hotel's refreshing amenities and intuitive service are complemented by an incredible location in the heart of the city. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests are less than a five-minute walk from Times Square and only two blocks from Bryant Park. Experience Broadway and the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park and Rockefeller Plaza, all within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel. Conveniently situated just a block from the 42nd Street Subway station, you can easily access other NYC destinations while enjoying the vibrant vibes, world-class museums, restaurants and shopping found in Manhattan and Times Square. Redesigned, our contemporary hotel rooms feature free Wi-Fi, luxury bedding, comfortable work areas and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy healthy breakfast options from nosh!, our signature cafe, and fuel up for a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing