We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #153 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed here with my husband in Oct 11 for two nights, We had a room overlooking the Lipstick building on the 18th floor (i think :) ). The room was a lovely size, very clean and comfortable bed. All the staff we dealt with were very helpful and friendly. The business centre was useful as was the tea and coffee on the same floor. We were minutes from the subway and a short walk from many of the sites. Ot seemed quite a busy hotel but there were no noise issues.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariechez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,296)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

Quieter part of town, especially weekends, but not a long walk to Rockefeller Center or Times Square (20-25 mins). E and M subway lines were steps from the hotel. Check in was efficient, room was larger than many NYC hotel rooms, as were the halls (unusually roomy). Upon leaving we were asked by the bellman if we wanted to take a car to the airport and were told that gratuity was included in the fare. The sign clearly said it did not so we hailed a cab (bellman did not offer once we turned down the car) which was easy. Concierge on lobby level but we did not use his services.

Room Tip: Street noise can be an issue. Higher the better view and less noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charli3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

It is hard to be hard on a hotel that gave you a room at a relatively decent rate when just about everyone else in town was gouging. There are some times in Manhattan when rates go up or down with as much frenzy as the stock market. Whether it is mega trade shows and conventions, seasonal shopping or all those eager foreign tourists, there are times in the Fall when finding any room in NYC is a challenge. I tried to book this past weekend back in April to attend a social event in the city. Dozens of hotels were "unavailable" and others were showing rates 50-100% higher than shown on more normal dates.

This Courtyard was about my 75th choice. I am not trying to disparage it. I have stayed there before and it is a decent enough, although fairly bland establishment. Marriott has certainly perfected a high level of clean, predictable and business oriented hotel brands at a number of price points. Out on the road, Courtyards are reliable redoubts of middle class comfort at interstate intersections and other highways. In cities, They afford some working and sporting amenities without raising the eyebrows of members of your accounting department. Still, you are apt to wake up one morning and not know where or who you are.

While there are a number of chain hotels in Manhattan, this has always been a bastion of independent hotels. I usually prefer to stay at a hotel that is one of a kind or in a small grouping. I circle back on my Marriott and Hilton Guest memberships only as a last resort.

Taking an old tired office building and turning it into a new hotel is usually a good thing, Recycling and restoring a tax paying business. Unfortunately, this still looks a lot like a tired office building. The front lobby makes airline waiting rooms look more inviting.

Our greeting when entering the hotel on a Saturday afternoon was lackadaisical at best. It was more cheerful and efficient at checkout.

Our room was on the 18th of 31 floors. There are nice views of too many office buildings and a small sliver of the East River. Sound proofing is rather good, which is important in the city that never sleeps. A few oversized trucks and police emergencies will bring decibels above the white noise of the HVAC, but for this part of town, you should be able to get a pretty good night sleep.

Hallways are well lit and cheerful in a bland Marriott sort of way. Our room, a squared off king was certainly a tad larger than most New York hotel rooms. Pity that the king sized bed mattress was somewhat lumpy and soft. Time to replace it! A large flat panel television, internet access and a generic desk in a corner meet the basic business and entertainment needs for someone crazy enough to stay in your room in Manhattan. the rest of the decor was about the same as every other Courtyard except for a few New York themes prints of dubious quality.

The bathroom was clean and adequate, albeit rather austere and cramped. The bathroom consists of an undermount sink on a pretty nice piece of granite, somewhat cheapened by the fluorescent lighting and the half closet immediately behind you (why do they put a safe in it larger enough for a couple of bowling balls, but cramping the space to hang clothes? Through a door is the inner sanctum of a water closet and prefab tub-shower combination with a ceiling light adequate for dark room work, The walls, and tile are all in amorphous beige. Obscure designer soaps are just a shade better than Lux and Ivory. Towels are adequate, but fairly thin.

The breakfast room on the 12th floor offers a half dozen menu items, and a buffet which we chose to avoid. (Probably ok, but I prefer to be served). Service was very pleasant. But the breakfast was the same as you would find in Dubuque or Durango. At least there were plenty of windows, featuring views of the same surrounding office buildings. This is NY! There are real bagels out there not the supermarket variety! Didn't anyone tell them? I violated my basic survivor instinct by staying at the hotel for breakfast. Not that it was bad, it was just generic.

Would I stay here again? Perhaps? Not if any of my usual suspects or something more interesting was available without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Probably a higher floor, as long as you don't mind waiting for elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel is a real find for me. I usually stay near Times Square and it was a pleasure to stay in this neighborhood. The hotel is very close to the subway and there are several good restaurants nearby. Also a Starbucks right around the corner. The room came with a mini fridge (score!). The bathroom only had shampoo and conditioner, no body lotion so bring your own. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dohertys53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel is in an area I was not too familiar with but I needn't have worried, it's ideally situated for most attractions and yet far enough away from the Times Square area. Super large room, tastefully decorated and clean. The restaurant offers a very good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passepartout56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I highly recommend this hotel! The staff very helpful, the room couldn't be better. Clean, comfortable with good view. Even though it is not located in the most crowded places visited by tourists, it was fairly close to everything. Easy to get a cab and the concierge was always willing to help. We didn't eat at the hotel. I will go back again to this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luraygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was my 2nd trip to the Marriott Courtyard Midtown. We just finished up a 3 night stay and I have to say everything was just as excellent this trip as our prior trip. The rooms are very affordable, clean, large by Manhattan standards, and the customer service is top notch. I have stayed at alot of nice hotels -- Waldorf Astoria, Four Seasons, SoHo Grand, etc. on my trips to NYC, but this hotel has become my go-to spot.

We were in room 1802 this trip, which was very nice. It had 2 queens, plus a sitting area with a pullout sofa and coffee table (booked at the standard room rate). Check-in is seamless, and the staff was more than accommodating when we needed cars, directions, or towels/toiletries.

Shower pressure is great, no issues with running out of hot water, we could not hear our neighbors on either side, we had great city views, there is a mini fridge in the room, plenty of towels and all toiletries, very pleasant housekeeping staff, excellent, experienced concierge,quick $7-$10 cab ride to Upper East Side, SoHo, Meatpacking, etc.

Excellent restaurants within either walking or a quick cab ride away. Our favorites were Sparks Steakhouse (infamous for John Gotti's takedown of mafia-boss Paul Castellano) and The Standard grille (be sure to make reservations months in advance).

All in all, a wonderful weekend, facilitated by a wonderful, accommodating hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01, 02, and 03 are larger than others on the floor and have great views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goheels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#229 of 468 in New York City
1,157 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#150 of 468 in New York City
1,265 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#155 of 468 in New York City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
757 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#164 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £160 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing