We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value hotel with great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #138 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value hotel with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

As our first time to New York and travelling as a family of 5 adults we found the hotel to be clean, warm, friendly and in a great location. The hotel room was plenty big enough for 5 adults and the fridge and complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries were an added bonus. We were not disturbed by any noise at night. I would definitely recommend the hotel for large families. As we had not travelled to NY before we were concerned at how many Taxis we would need from the airport as we were told yellow cabs only take 4 people, however the taxi rank also has alot of people carriers so no worries there and the cost was $55 from JFK to Manhattan,

The only thing to be wary of is the concierge who expect to be tipped all the time. On our last day we wanted a taxi for 5 which they said they could not book but could get us a limo, which was 3 times the price of a taxi. We said no and went out for breakfast, on the way back we managed to flag a people carrier down and went back to the hotel to collect our cases - these had apparently been moved from the reception storage to a room on the top floor and there was a queue of people before us waiting. When we got $10 out we were all of a sudden at the front of the queue! That was the only niggle of the holiday.

Room Tip: Room allocated on 17th floor was perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducs05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    925
    151
    28
    18
See reviews for
1,018
348
74
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Was here the second week in January for our first time in New York. We were more than plesantly surprised by the size and comfort of the room, considering the price we'd paid and the reviews we'd heard about tiny hotel rooms. The room was more than big enough for the three of us (plus a few more) and the view was great. The cleaner, who we bumped into on the first day was incredibly helpful and went out of her way to help with any problems. We had a delightful sty but it was ruined when we returned on our penultimate night to find our room freezing cold, as things in New York are, in January, with no heating. We reported the problem to the front desk and went out for dinner, only to find when we came back that it still wasn't sorted. Because we were exhausted we decided to wait until the next day to chase it up. Waking up cold was unplesant but not unbearable so we reported it again to the front desk who assured us it would be fixed by the time we got back. We came home again at 5 to find the room still bitterly cold and asked the maid if she could show us how to work the heating, in case we were just doing it wrong. She tried but when she found it was broken she rang down to the front desk. After waiting in our room for an hour we trooped down to the front desk to ask when something would be done, only to be informed our room had been changed, without us being informed, and we were going to have to pack all of our things to move, something made more annoying by the fact that one of our party had been down stairs asking the manager, and assistant manager where we could change money. a truely wonderful stay let down completely by the attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors spare you from the noise of the sirens, which go all night, all over New York!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Spent this past Saturday night here as a gift from our kids for the holidays. They know we always try to stay at a Marriott porperty whenever we travel, and once again, we were not disappointed. Friendly staff, large, clean room, convenient for walking, the subway line is right at the corner, and there are enough small restaurants and coffee shops nearby to satisfy an 'urge'. The walk to ithe theater district and Times Square was quick and easy. There is avaialble valet parking here, but for a short stay, an Icon parking lot a block away on 53rd street between 2nd and 3rd avenue was $11.00 cheaper. The room rate for the one night was only $135.00 which is a real value for the quality in NYC.

Room Tip: A high floor keeps the street noise low
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m252s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Was out there on business from 1/12 - 1/13 and stayed at this hotel for the first time. I've been to NYC many times and have seen good and bad places. This place was very clean and recently renovated. This hotel has no reports of bed bugs at www.begbugregistry.com and did not see anything during my stay. Also, excellent location for a nice run in and around Central Park.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrpme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Ideally located on 3rd Avenue and 52nd Street, this hotel is close to Bloomingdales and other stores for shopping, as well as being in a prime Business district.
Rooms are a decent size, only downside being the air conditioning /heating can be very noisey when it turns on.
Pleasant friendly staff. The restaurant that provides a decent breakfast. This hotel is good value at reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott's Midtown East location is an exceptional value. It's hard to find a clean and comfortable hotel for less than $250 in New York City. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. They were great about early checkin. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. After checking out, we had no issues with checking our bags while we explored the city. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossclaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hi,
I traveled for the holidays with friends and family, we were a party of 9 so had booked 3 rooms. We absolutely loved the hotel and would recommend it!
The staff was super nice, the rooms were large, modern and clean. The location is very close to the subway and walking distance to Rockefeller Center and Central Park. It is a very nice neighborhood, with a variety of shops nearby.
Although there is a coffee machine on each room, we would go to the 12th floor where they served free coffee each morning (breakfast is payed separately and was U$21 per day).
We had ordered some things through Amazon, and they received everything in advance and brought it up as soon as we arrived (this is an important plus for us!).
Overall we had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#226 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#153 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#235 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#142 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing