We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Hotel with a Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #146 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stellar Hotel with a Great Staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Every time we come to NYC we come to the Courtyard Marriott. It is clean, has a great location, and the staff is the best. Pedro, Wilfredo, and Wil make you feel like great friends every time you are there. They have remembered myself and my family each time we come, starting from the first time in 2008, and ever a year later. We have stayed a total of 8 times. The rest of the staff is quite helpful and polite as well, and I've never had an issue with any of them. The concierge men, the two who have always been there, are great and go above and beyond to help. They took the time to help us find dining places for my sister with celiac disease. The security guards are also very friendly, saying hello and good night when you pass. The entire staff is great, but Pedro, Wilfredo, and Wil really set this hotel above the rest. You really could not ask for a better experience and treatment from employees at a hotel. This goes to show you don't need to pay outrageous room rates to get the best treatment from a hotel staff, this Courtyard Marriott stands head and shoulders above the rest. The rooms are always clean and well stocked with what you need. The 12th floor has a dining area we have yet to use, but a place with computers and printers and a sitting area with a great view. I was able to use the computers and printer free of charge to print my Yankees tickets this past trip. The Midtown East Courtyard has made each NYC trip enjoyable, easy, and better than any hotel I've been to before.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel! I have shared your awesome comments with Pedro, Wilfredo and Wil. They as well as the rest of the staff look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    964
    157
    36
    18
See reviews for
1,061
357
77
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed here for a conference nearby in midtown Manhattan. I arrived pretty early and was unsure if a room would be ready. But, after a warm greeting by the front desk staff (who recognized my Marriott Gold elite status), I was upgraded to a corner suite on a high floor (20s).

The room was very nice--no doubt big by New York standards. Though the sofa seemed a bit dated, the flat panel TV had plenty of channels and the bed was comfortable. The view was breathtaking! One big downside was the HVAC system. It tended to cycle on and off frequently (which quickly became annoying).

I ate two breakfasts there. The restaurant staff was very pleasant. The buffet offerings seemed above average for a Courtyard.

I found the hotel to be very clean and quiet. The location cannot be beat. The subway is just steps away from the front door!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishbrahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Not a great deal in the way of facilities other than a rather expensive breakfast room but friendly and efficient staff and high standard of housekeeping. Rooms are big and can be worked in.

well located for transport with subway outside hotel. We found it a good base for sightseeing

we used the Chinese laundry across the road 9ask the concierge) - much faster than the hotel service

Not oo many open eateries i nthe neighborhood on a Sunday

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed there recently with a few friends.
The staff was friendly upon arrival. We were late arriving due to our plane being delayed. We were hungry at that point. They referred us down the street to the Pig and Whistle, where we were able to get something to eat at a reasonable price.
The room was large enough to accomodate 3 of us comfortably. The whole hotel was clean and well maintained.
We had breakfast in their restaurant. The breakfast buffett was filling and they make to order your omelettes.
Would stay here again when I go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

What I liked most about this hotel is the location and the fact that the rooms can accomodate a family of 5. The subway is less than half a block away, but also you can walk to many attractions. We did'nt have breakfast at the hotel because there are 2 nice places just across the street, tasty and unexpensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pilar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stunning views, huge clean spacious rooms, super friendly staff - there was nothing to fault. Made a family of 5's 10-day trip to New York City all the more enjoyable. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGH127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 1 night and really enjoyed my stay. Especially relative to the Holiday Inn on 57th St. where I spent my previous evening (which was horrible- see my other tripadvisor review), the Courtyard was very comfortable, clean and a great value for the price. There is free internet and the gym was in pretty good shape (3 treadmills, 2 TVs, fans, other machines and weights). All in all, I really liked this hotel and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,203 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#238 of 468 in New York City
1,098 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#102 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing