We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #144 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our family of four just stayed at the Marriott Courtyard at 866 third avenue. Our kids are 13 and 10, and we had a great stay at this hotel! I highly recommend it! The 12th floor lobby, eating and working area is absolutely fantastic. It's a great place to hang out with your family between NYC events and sightseeing. We took time out to watch a Carolina Panthers football game here--lots of televisions and seating areas. The breakfast is very good including great coffee. The location is very good with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. There is a drugstore right next door with a small deli area where you can get healthy snacks and drinks much less expensively than the hotel market. The hotel rooms are newly renovated and look brand new! The beds are comfortable and the hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed for a great price and had a room with 2 queen beds given our family of four. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The only negative I could come up with--and it's a stretch--is that I would like to have seen higher quality bath towels that were heavier and thicker--these were pretty standard low end hotel towels. If they upgrade the towels, this will be one of the best deals in all of Manhattan.

Room Tip: We had a room in the same elevator stack as the 12th floor which enabled easier access to the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arellmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had a few extra Marriott points and decided to use them to stay on the East side for the first time. Really happy we did! My family of 5 was perfectly accommodated at this hotel. It has been completely refurbished both public areas and guest rooms (including bathrooms) and is in wonderful condition. Our room was standard Courtyard layout - 2 queen beds + sofa bed - but that is spacious for NYC and the decor was modern, clean and stylish. I think mattresses had been replaced too. We did have a minor plumbing issue with the sink not draining.

The staff was wonderful including graciously helping us with a special request. We also loved the 12 floor lobby / breakfast area which is so spacious and attractive.

We also had a good experience with the valet parking. This is an expensive location so the $48/24 hour charge is market rate not exorbitant.

If you don't know this location, check it out. It is easily walkable to the biggest attractions (under 15 minutes to Central Park or Times Square, and less than 10 mins to the theaters and 5th avenue shopping) while still being somewhat quiet along 3rd avenue - comically so compared to crazy 5th ave on this busy weekend. There is also a subway stop on the same block as the hotel. I used to prefer the west side but I am gradually changing my view and would be very happy to return here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My family was in NY for a funeral and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Pedro S. was a terrific help for all of our transportation needs. The front desk team were also very helpful and friendly. The rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable. We will definitely visit again for a happier event.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Everyone from front desk to housekeeping to the bell men. Restaurant suggestions and assistance with luggage was especially excellent from Wil T. The sushi restaurant he recommended was Fantastic! I also wish I know the front desk lady who helped correct the problems I had with my room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great Location, Great Hotel, Great Staff. This Courtyard was just recently totally renovated and it looks great. The staff was very, very helpful. Lastly the Prices were very reasonable and the Location was great! Can't wait to stay there again and I highly recommend it. FYI, I do not work for Marriott (;

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigphillydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip, with my wife tagging along. We arrived quite early in the day, but the front desk staff checked us in immediately, giving us a 30th-floor room with a decent city view. The rooms was large and arranged conveniently for the modern traveler (e.g. electrical outlets on the desk and nightstand, roll-out desk for the laptop). The free Wi-Fi worked well, though it was a little annoying to have to "renew" the connection every 24 hours. The soundproofing could be done a little better; there was some noise leaking through from neighboring rooms by the windows.

Room Tip: There are some good views on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great hotel especially for the money. Walk to everything. The staff was friendly, like staying with family. Room was very tastefully decorated.the check-in staff was lovely and our door man Pedro was a true gentleman.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcyodarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 469 in New York City
775 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#149 of 469 in New York City
1,123 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#230 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#152 of 469 in New York City
1,304 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 469 in New York City
888 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing