We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very effective staff, reasonable prices, great location, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #141 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Dear Trip Advisor people

I was a guest a couple of weeks ago (at the tail end of the UN GA meeting) and I forgot my bag of chocolates and medicine. First, Mr Ferguson from Lost & Found was very helpful in safekeeping the items and relieving me from worry. I tried to get someone to pick up the items, but he was out of town. I called again, and Mr Aaron Shaw was very helpful in a subsequent phone exchange in making sure my items could be sent, double checking (both address and my name, as well as shipping policies) and calling me back within 15 minutes. These small professional details matter and are always remembered.

I had an outstanding stay from A to Z (the very friendly desk clerk found a super room for me at a great rate three consecutive nights even though my reservation seemed to have not popped up) and look forward to returning to this finely run hotel when I am back in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy when our staff meets our guests expectations. I will be very happy to recognize our Loss Prevention associates that you mentioned as well as pass on your positive comments to the Front Office team. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and the positive recognition for our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed 8 nights and staff was helpful, friendly, and kind. I cannot say enough about the front desk staff, the concierge, the maids, security staff, and the restaurant staff. They all made my stay very comfortable. Breakfast was always hot and delicious. It was a highlight of my day. Thank you for making my stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I am happy the staff and hotel met your expectations. Thank you so much for the positive words and for staying at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for business. Very nice courtyard. Clean, perfect location and courteous staff. I would say that the one downside was no area of 24/7coffee/tea that some Marriott Courtyard offers. 1/2block to the subway, so very convenient! Will stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gingerbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad you found the location of the hotel to and cleanliness to be perfect. Our staff does try hard to be courteous, I will review your comments with our staff during our daily meetings. Thank you for staying at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were very impressed with this Marriott Courtyard and will definitely stay there again next time we go to NYC. We actually don't have a single negative thing to say about this hotel. Location can't be beat, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and our Queen Queen room, which was at the end of a corridor, was huge! Seriously, this was not your normal reasonably sized Courtyard room, this room was enormous! The cafe on the 12th floor is very nice, bright and airy. I got there at 10:00 on a weekday morning only to find that they had closed a half hour earlier; the people who worked there couldn't have been nicer and they managed to find some coffee for me even though they were closed. All of the people we dealt with at the front desk were very friendly. The shower was great: perfect water pressure, easy to get the temperature adjusted right. The mini-fridge came in handy for our bottled water and juice. Beds were very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I am glad our hotel me your expectations. I am happy you were pleased with or room sizes and of course the fridge in the room (Thats a must for me when I travel).

I am sorry that the Bistro had closed for breakfast when you arrived its open a little later on weekends.

Most importantly I am happy you had good interactions with our staff.

Thank you again for writing your review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Perfect for a girls weekend. My girlfriend and I brought our two tween daughters for four nights. Very close to TImes Square, great shopping, Rockefeller Center. Very reasonably priced. The hotel was much quieter than I expected. The rooms were great size. Must compliment the hotel staff. Everyone was so friendly. Our first morning I was chatting with two of the ladies working in the hotel's bistro - Julissa and Rachel. I mentioned this trip was a birthday present for my daughter. Later they brought to our room a sweet birthday breakfast for her with a card! It was lovely! Nothing but nice things to say about this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasMama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

A belated Happy Birthday to your daughter from me. It was nice to hear that ou staff empowered themselves to reach out and acknowledge your daughters Birthday. Thank you for your positve comments about the hotel and also for recognizing Julissa and Rachel's efforts. I will be sure to pass on your comments and recognize their efforts. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Courtyard is an excellent hotel with a great location, right above the subway station so all of NYC is right at your doorstep. The front desk staff werent as professional as they could have been. A female team member was chewing gum louding with her mouth open whilst giving directions to a restaurant, it doesnt give a great impression. Sometimes they were seen slouching over the desk and chatting to each other like they werent in a professional environment. Granted I come from a hotel background which may be why I'm picking up on all the little things, but the little things build up.
The maid service was amazing, they cleaned everything top to bottom and left it sparkling, well done to the whole housekeeping team, they definitely deserve much appraise for their efforts.
The rooms were big and spacious, with comfy beds and pillows. The aircon ran a little loud but it was only when the fan would kick back on for a short time. I will definitely be back next time I'm in the Big Apple...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

I am happy that you were Happy with our Housekeeping staff and also the rooms themselves. I will be happy to passon your comments to our housekeeping staff.

I will mention both the positive and negative information to the respective departments to make sure they are aware. I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for 6 nights on a recommendation from a Trip Advisor review. Review was SPOT ON. This hotel is in a good location in Midtown, you can walk to Radio City, Times Square and Central Park easily. The subway is at the end of the block. By any standards the romms are a good size, we had 2 double beds ans a sofa bed with room to spare. Staff were polite and really helpful, we didn't arrive at the hotel on the first night till after midnight, the only concern from the ladt of the front desk was to get us checked in ASAP so that we could get to bed!! For the price you can't beat this hotel, especially if you are looking for 4/5 peaople in a room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidofWatford2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for writing your review of our hotel. I am happy that someones positive comments pursuaded you to stay at our hotel. Our rooms are often commented on because of their size in a positive manner. Additionally as you pointed out Location, we are close to the major sights and near adjacent to a major Subway Stations for E,M and 6 trains. Thank you again for staying at our hotel and writing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#147 of 469 in New York City
1,284 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#230 of 469 in New York City
1,183 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#157 of 469 in New York City
1,110 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#167 of 469 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £142 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing