We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms for NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #147 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Large Rooms for NYC!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staff was wonderful! The hotel allowed early check in and late check out which was helpful. The room is large for NYC but typical Marriott Courtyard size and value. Beds were comfy and rooms were quiet. Very convenient location --subway right out the front door. The 12th floor lounge was a nice spot to meet up before heading out into,the city. The12th floor has Starbucks coffee and breakfast items for purchase (only open during breakfast hours). However 24 hours a day you can use computers are lounge area to meet up with friends. Free Wifi throughout the hotel. The staff here was very professional and efficient. By the way, our room on the 28th floor had a view of the East River! Large rooms, great location!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLux2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    963
    157
    36
    18
See reviews for
1,061
357
77
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Has a great view of the city and excellent service. You are very close to subway station that will get you almost everywhere on the city. Apart from that, you are very close to almost the most important points in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian_sdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Pros:
- Subway right across the street (direct to Penn station). Short walk to Grand Central
- Corner king room (15th floor) has lots of light and great view of 3rd avenue
- Free, fast wi-fi
- Very professional and efficient staff
- Contemporary rooms, large, very clean and comfortable
- Lightning-fast check-in/out
- Complimentary late check-out
- Unbeatable price

Cons:
- None!

Room Tip: Corner king room on 15th floor had lots of light and great view of 3rd avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Never a bad stay at Marriott, only downside was Wi-Fi access was down at check-in. However very courteous and helpful as a very early entry @ 11AM with a room available. Very comfy bed, roomy shower and accommodating small pullout sofa for my guest. Nice view of sixth avenue and nearby Macy's. Location would be good for a mad shopper with all the nearby stores. I'd stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was excellent. Had a fairly good rate for a busy weekend. The hotel is close enough to the action, but not right in the middle of it.

The hotel lobby is closet sized, and gets tough to get through when a number if folks are checking in. The folks at the reception desk were pleasant and helpful. Reception kindly arranged for a limo to LGA for us - which was only a few bucks more than the cab ride in. He said getting a cab to the airport early on Sunday morning might be a problem.??

The elevator was amazing speed-wise. We zipped up 20 some floors in about the tine the pokey hydraulic elevator in your typical Hampton Inn could make it to the 3rd floor.

The room was comfortable and clean - no great view (I guess we weren't high enough) . The bathroom was tiny but adequate. It has limited toiletries, no hair dryer, no night light (often found on hair dryers these days) and no towel bars, save for one in the tub area. The bed was great. Noise from the street below not particularly well muffled (couldn't tell if the windows were doubled-glazed or not).But having lived in Manhattan as a child, the constant honking didn't bother me as much as it did my wife.

The hotel has a "shop" for stacks and toiletries. $10. for a pint of ice-cream. No great bargains to be found there.

There is a concierge on the first floor, crammed in between the reception lobby and the elevator lobby. Among other things, he can get you show tickets.

Handy to the hotel is a drug store out the front door (where you can get a bottle wine, if you'd like).. Around the corner is the Cafe Europa - which serves a great selection of sandwiches, soups, salads, and pasta - but no wine or beer.

Breakfast at the hotel's Bistro was O.K. - selections a bit esoteric and service fairly slow (there was one gal taking orders and working the registers, while others buzzed about performing various functions. The one gal routine kept movement of the line slow).The "ambience" was fairly nice, with somewhere good street views from the 12th floor location. A little too many TVs scattered about for my taste - hard to escape.

We walked everywhere from the hotel, to a restaurant on 33rd St. to. the Metropolitan Museum of Art on 80th. (20 blocks is about a mile). The hotel is really well located.

All-in-all, we'd do it again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pfadfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After reading all of the great reviews on this property I decided to give it a try. I must say that all of the reviews were spot on. The suite was very spacious and clean. Housekeeping did a great job each day. We requested extra towels a couple of times and they brought them within minutes of us calling.

The hotel was very nice and quite as well. We never heard our neighbors or anyone in the hallways. We were on a high floor and the views from the room were spectacular! As stated by other reviewers, it's also close to many attractions.

The only negative is the fact that there is no restaurant onsite; therefore, also no room service. There is a bistro that's open for breakfast; it's very nice and clean, however, it has very limited choices for breakfast. We ate there the first morning, but went outside of the hotel the other mornings that we were there.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for leaving this wonderful review. I am happy we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will pass on you comments to our Housekeeping staff, at our daily morning meeting.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and more importantly for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have stayed at several (four star hotels in Manhattan). Despite the fact that this hotel is probably ranked as a four star, it has large rooms and is convenient to all you need to do in Manhattan. I traveled there recently to go shopping and go to the theater. There's a subway station on the corner and it was only three stops by subway to Broadway. I actually walked back to get my 10,000 steps in for the day! The room was clean and as many others have commented, the hotel has been newly renovated. There is one restaurant in the hotel which only serves breakfast. However, there are many eateries nearby. Its located in a business area, so there are not a lot of establishments open after 7 pm in the area. Next door to the hotel is a 24 hour drugstore which has some limited food and drink (including beer and wine). I got a phenomenal deal through an online vendor. I would definitely stay again if I could find the same deal again. The size and cleanliness of the room sold me. I have paid so much more for rooms in Manhattan where the room were literally the size of a closet.

Room Tip: I was on the 20th floor and had a king room with a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetset53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. 10,000 steps- I actually do the same thing. Since the subway is so close to the hotel I get off a couple of stations away and walk (Have to keep in shape). However, you do have another option we do have the fitness center on the 12th floor to use.

I am happy you were pleased with the cleanliness and size of our rooms. As you mentioned many of our other guests have commented positively about this also.

I wanted to just update something you mentioned there are many latenight restaurants located on 2nd avenue near the hotel, are staff would be happy to give directions to some of them.

Thank you again for your review, it means alot that you took the time out of your day to write this. Also thank you for being a guest of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,201 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#238 of 468 in New York City
1,097 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 468 in New York City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing