We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
408 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Good location. About a mile walk from Broadway theatres, close to MOMA, Lex Ave. subway right out the door. Rooms are good size for New York. They have a great lounge on the 12th floor that has lots of space, computers and breakfast service. Fitness room is well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    939
    151
    30
    18
See reviews for
1,032
350
74
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at multiple Courtyards and other Marriott properties in NYC and this was such a nice one! The room size was beyond anything I have had in a NYC Courtyard before. Most NYC hotel rooms are quite small, and this one had a bed and a sitting area with a pull out sofa. We were so shocked to see all that space for us to use. We also had a fridge in the room which was unexpected and came in handy for storing some bottled waters.

The bed was a little less comfy that usual-harder than most Marriott beds, but acceptable. The room was clean, and the wireless internet was included in the rate which is always a good thing. There were not enough towels, barely enough for one person let alone for two adults and a child, but that is a quite manageable concern.

I would say that my only complaint was noise. I have never heard traffic noise when staying in a NYC hotel-no matter what the location, but in this one even 18 flights up I heard every horn and siren. I don't know if the window glass is not as good of quality or what that is about but I did hear everything the first night. The second night I was so tired I would have slept through the siren next to my bed!

Check in was great, there is a small Market shop for snacks and drinks next to the front desk but I didn't make use of it as it has been my experience that this is generally over priced. There is a Duane Reade right next door and CVS, Dunkin Donuts, and Starbucks all within very close walking distance.

This location was great for us with the E train literally at the corner to take us downtown or over to Times Square (and therefore easy connection to other subway lines). If you are going to MOMA, American Girl Store or Central Park this is also an excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdsansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

we have 3 kids so needed a place for 5 and this was a great location! Right next to the E and M train entrance. clean room, great help at the desk. We left our keys in the room and they overnighted it to our house (they got there the next morning!)...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_H_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I last visit this hotel before the re-vamp and loved in then. Since the refurbishment its even better. Great staff, lovely clean modern rooms, comfy bed with good quality lines and towels. Nifty coffee maker and friendly helpful housekeeping. We didn't try the restaurant so cant comment on that. Wi-Fi was great and I made use of the computers on floor 12 and printed my boarding passes. Door staff were also helpful and friendly, they stored our cases on our last day and arranged a town car for our trip to JFK which was cheaper than a taxi. Location as previously mentioned is great for walking to numerous tourist attractions and the subway is just yards away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariechez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

By far the best thing about this hotel is the location. We were within walking distance of good restaurants, Times Square, Central Park and more. The room was large and clean, and it was quiet. They have a nice lounge area and work out room on the twelfth floor. We did get a lot of street noise even though we were on the 18th floor. If that bothers you, as for a room away from Third Avenue.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotels.com highlighted this hotel and we are so glad they did. We were able to check in early after taking a red eye flight and they were half a block from the E train stop connecting from the Air Tran. We loved the hotels central location and even enjoyed breakfast at their Starbucks Cafe the final day there. I will definitely stay at this hotel again because of it easy access to the subways and the pleasant Marriott staff that took care of us!

Room Tip: The 2 queen room with the pull out sofa was ideal for the 4 of us.
See more room tips
Green Features: Early check-in was welcomed even when we showed up at the hotel at 6am.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kepi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 boys 9&6 yrs) stayed here March 7-9, 2014 to explore NYC before boarding NCL Breakaway at pier 88. We arrived well before the published check in and were accommodated, which was a pleasant surprise. Our room was a king bed with pull out couch, I had to make up the pull out, but housekeeping was prompt in delivering extra bedding. The bed was fine for the kids, but I would not have slept on it! The refrigerator was small but adequate for 2 nights. Room size was bigger than I expected.
The location is very convenient for visiting NYC. We walked to Times Square, the Intrepid museum, NHL store, FAO Schwartz and Central Park (a total of 8kms or 5mi), all while feeling safe and without difficulty. The subway was easy to access, express lines were within a few minute walk of the hotel.
The 12th floor lounge was a perfectly fine spot to have breakfast before leaving for the day, Starbucks but with a larger menu than we are used to at home. The concierge made some great suggestions for take out pizza as well as a nice family friendly restaurant for a sit down meal, both within a few blocks of the hotel.
The hotel is not fancy, nor does it have the bells and whistles of other locations, but was perfectly fine for our purposes and we would stay there again. It was easy to drive to from the Lincoln Tunnel, and very easy to get to pier 88 on a Sunday morning to board Breakaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZandBMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing