We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hood River, OR
Level Contributor
148 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Incredibly convenient location for a family looking to take in the whole city and the concierge was fantastic!. He answered all our questions and could find anything in the city. Even when he was gone after hours the front desk proved very helpful. The room was great: Quiet, cool, and clean. Only negative was the small size of the sofa sleeper that my kids sharred. The 12th floor lounge was superb! Very large, several TV booths, couches for reading, charging stations, computers to use, and a breakfast bar. Great place to hang out. Below is our walking experience with our 11 and 13 yr olds.

Subway right out the door and is a convergence of several lines. Go north to queens and south to the brookland bridge on one line or west to times square or uptown west on the other line.

15-20 minute walk to FAQ Shortz toy store and the Plaza for Eloise....and that puts you at Central Park
10-15 minute walk to Rockefeller Center (or take subway)
20-25 minute walk to Times square (or take subway)
10 minute walk to Grand Central Station and Chrysler Building
You could combined this walk into a loop following the order I listed for a great tour

Take the subway to downtown and your in the heart of it all
Also the restaurants around this hotel are amazing. From street carts with Bagels and Smear, to Fallafal or lamb gyros. 4 or 5 pizza by the slice places, Thai, Starbucks, french bakery, and the amazing Smith and Wollenskys steak house from the travel channel. Also a drug store in the building for grocery items.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueC0llar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review and what a review it was :)

Believe it or not the city has even more to offer so make sure to come back. I am very happy that we met your expecations and it seems like you and your family enjoyed themselves. Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving your review. I will make sure to recognize the concierge for his assistance to you.

Feel free to contact me should you need any assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    943
    151
    30
    18
See reviews for
1,033
350
74
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a simple and very modern hotel. We only stayed one night. The bathroom looked clean but smelled bad (like body odor). They had a one cup coffee maker with one regular coffee filter and one decaf (for a room that slept 6 people). We called for more coffee and they brought a bunch up but we didn't realize until we got up a 4a.m., that they had brought us all decaf! The ironing board was bent and horrible, iron didn't work well. Front desk was very nice. Parking attendant handled the car well (but it was $52 per day and you had to let them know a half hour before you needed car ---but they informed us and all was fine for us).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet your expecations nor ours. If you can please contact me so I can find out some more information. There seems to be that there were great opportunities to assist you and give you the stay you expected that were missed. I again apologize and hope you will reach out to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just a block from the Lexington subway, this Marriott Courtyard is in a perfect location at the east end of midtown Manhattan. I got a last minute rate of $199, and was upgraded to a corner room. Room was bright and airy with beautiful modern décor, and was large by New York standards. Large windows provided lots of light and a view of the skyline. Absolutely loved the 12th floor lounge; modern and very spacious...a good place to read, relax, or watch the news on several flat screen t.v.s. There was also a nice café in the lounge which was convenient for a basic breakfast and Starbucks coffee. Staff was friendly and attentive. The manager took the time to show me a room before I committed to my stay here.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are super nice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I am happy we met your expecations, looks like the hotel met your needs for a great stay. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying. Safe travels till we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

marriott gold member- loyal to marriott only- first stay at the midtown courtyard. Great location with walking distance to all midtown locales- restaurants, shopping etc. rooms are larger then average nyc hotels- about 350sq feet. redone newer style- nicely done- nice views. 12th floor offers the lobby lounge and starbucks- no other amenities other then a small gym. great option for midtown- minuses would be the a/c unit is on all the time and loud and the street traffic is loud even on the 25th floor- also the bathrooms are tight but room size makes up- very solid nice stay!

Room Tip: higher the room less the noise- but there is noise all around
See more room tips
Green Features: marriott will not wash towels if left hanging to save water-
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and also for being a gold rewards member. We our know for a large rooms especially in the NY market. I like to take credit for alot of things but the nice views, thats a New York feature we just try to take advantage of what NY has to offer. Thank you for mentioning the Green Feature bout our Laundry reuse program. You also mentioned NY is the city that never sleeps yes there is sound in the area and we are looking at ways to make your stay more comfortable. We appreciate your review and for staying at our hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed for 3 nights. We had 2 beds and a sofa couch. Very nice sized room with mini fridge and a great view as we were on the 29th floor. The room was very clean and the ladies were more than happy to bring us up some more towels and such (even late at night). The guy in the lobby that sold tickets and such was really helpful as my dad went down and asked him a million questions. The bellman guys were friendly and helped us get cabs. It was a great location with a grocery story right beside it, the subway station across the street, bus stop 2 blocks away, restaurants galore, and was within walking distance to time square, fifth avenue, Central Park, and more. It is not right in Times Square so you get more for your money. We will definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. Room was big. The location was perfect, close to subway and all major attractions. The concierge guy was extremely helpful and patient by showing us directions.Those are probably all the good things I can say about this place. We arrived there really late after our plane delayed almost 6 hours at Chicago the first night. The last things we want to have that day was the front checkin lady were very cold. After I requested a quiet room, she shaked her head and gave us a lowest floor room that right next to the elevator. For the next four nights, we could always hear the loud noise from the elevator even deep into the night. This sort of ruined the whole experience. The bathroom water flow was extremely low, that you always have to wait for the sink to fill. I never found a hair dryer in the room, first time ever during my life staying in a decent hotel. The small coffee maker was covered with dust when we walked in. I had to wash it before making my coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calanesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for writing your review of our hotel. Please contact me I would like to know more about some of the information you mentioned in your review. When staying at any of our hotels please let us know when something is not meeting your expectations. I am sorry we didnt meet your resonable requests. I hope you can take the time to contact me. Thank you again for writing your review and for staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

very nice hotel cant rave about it enough rooms are amazing with veiws over the city wow !! staff all very nice apart from a lady on check in was a little frosty and after traveling 7 hours thats the last thing you want. the hotel is in a great area with loads of food places around. subway right outside which was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Yes NY does offer some beautiful views. I personally enjoy going up to some of our high floors and looking at Queens/Brooklyn and some of nearby skyscrapers. Chrysler is my favorite but the Citicorp building still amazes me. I see that you found dining in the area. Most of our guests like to walk aound and explore all that NY has to offer. If you can contact me I would like to know more about the receptionist you mentioned. Thank you so much for your review safe travels till we meet again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing