We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just right!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in New York, as a family of four and with a moderate budget we picked the Courtyard, mainly due to it's larger room size when comparing to others of similar price range. The hotel didn't disappoint, the room with two queens was perfect, quiet and had all that we required for NYC and the staff were most helpful with whatever we requested. The hotel was in a great location, from our doorstep we had Duane Reade (Convenience Store), the best coffee in New York at Ground Central, Chipotle for delicious Mexican treats and Toasties for whatever your taste buds required for morning starts. I would definitely stay there again if I was to return to NYC.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
What can I add to this review other than thank you so much for staying at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    955
    155
    33
    18
See reviews for
1,052
353
76
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here while my husband was having surgery at Sloan Kettering and it was a perfect oasis. The rooms are a good size and up to date, with all the amenities you expect from Marriott. It's a great central location, with easy access to the subway and good shopping and plenty do restaurant choices.

Room Tip: Watch for special pricing, but don't expect to extend it if you decide to stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good place to stay. They ran out of double beds so my adult son and I shared a king bed and sofa bed room. The room was otherwise comfortable. Coffee pot, hair dryer, mini fridge, flat screen TV, light blocking window coverings. There was a wedding party on the premises and we could hear a room full of women chatting late at night and in the morning, clear as day. It was as if their voices were traveling up a pipe. The room was non smoking and had a safe in the closet. Would stay here again, if needed.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. Cars honk at all hours
See more room tips
Green Features: Average. Housekeeper didn't empty the trash cans
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urchie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now, both times for a Friday evening event in mid-May. The staff has been wonderful about letting us check in a bit early and the breakfast cafe is great. This time we had a terrific view of uptown Manhattan. We plan to book again for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review. When you arrive for your next stay please let me know. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay both times. Till next time safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I am Marriott Silver Rewards customer and my family and I have stayed at this property several times before and have in the past been extremely pleased. In most respects our recent stay was also excellent; we absolutely loved the large, corner room with two queen beds (perfect for our family of four), the staff was as always very polite and helpful, and we love the convenience to midtown attractions and the subway. We have found that many of the recent renovations and upgrades have enhanced our experience, however there is one aspect that will unfortunately result in our family avoiding staying at this hotel in the future: the café experience on the 12th floor has been changed significantly, and not for the better. In the past we enjoyed having a choice between a quick continental breakfast or a larger buffet breakfast. Currently the small café has very limited offerings, and the lines were very long. The poor women behind the counter were working feverishly to keep up but it was clear that they were overwhelmed and understaffed. Our room rate came with breakfast included but it was very confusing what options were available, and it took much longer than should be necessary to place and receive our order. In addition the food was quite unappetizing and much of our food was uneaten. There were several large families behind us in line and some were still waiting to order after we had finished our breakfast. This is unacceptable, especially when visitors are eager to get their day started as quickly as possible so as to maximize their time enjoying the city. We consider these changes to be a downgrade compared to the former experience, and for this reason we will not be staying at this property again unless this situation changes. I am saddened to have to say this about our “go to” Marriott hotel in NYC, but with so many other competitors and options, there are other choices which offer higher value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRickG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for being a Marriott Silver Rewards Member. I am happy that you enjoyed our large rooms which we are known for and also that you found our location able to meet your needs.

We are committed into looking at alternatives that will enhance our guest dining experience including the speed of service. We are also looking into different alternatives to assist our team members.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. I would love if you come back to our hotel. Please ask for me in the future. I would love to speak to you further about your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

It was a good stay in this hotel. The room were very confortables and spacious for a normal hotel en NY. Good front desk service. Clean. The hotel has a good coffee shop for breakfast. Nearby has the 34th Penn Station that has many train lines. For me a good choice in Manhattan.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this hotel. We got a great deal through Westjet Vacations. It was one of the few hotels in Manhattan offering two queen beds in one suite. We had a great view of the Chrysler Building from our 28th floor suite. The suite was very large and also came with a sofa bed which was very convenient. The bathroom was average size. Clean. I would highly recommend this hotel. We travelled with a family of 4. The lounge on the 12th floor was very convenient, like a Starbucks. Wifi access was great throughout hotel! Location of the hotel very convenient to the M, E and 6 trains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canada689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing