We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #144 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed with my family at the hotel for 6 nights on June 2014. We had a spacious room on 18th floor, with 2 king beds and a comfortable sofa. Inside there was a fridge,iron, ironing board and hair dryer. The only downside was the tiny bathroom for 5 people, but it isn't a great problem, because we stayed there for a short time.
The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful for everything you needed. Everywhere wifi free. Our booking included breakfast for 4 people ( the price of room was for 4), but it was enough for the whole family: a drink as Starbuck's coffee and 2 cakes or a bagel for each one.
The location wasn't nearby to the most popular attractions, but the subway was right out of the door and our station was at the crossing of different lines. So you could get everywhere in a short time.
Beside the hotel there was a Duane Read Pharmacy, that had a small grocery with staple goods. I recommend this hotel for every type of travel, business or pleasure, because you can find everything you need.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarziaRobi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Glad you found the hotel location to be "Awesome". Though I don't recall a review about the size of our bathrooms, I would imagine they might be small for 5 people. However I hope the room size made up for that.

I am happy that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. New York has so much to offer we couldn't cram it into one area, it is spread over a big city. But it appears you mastered the NY Subway. I personally like the buses to see the city if I have time to explore.

Thank you again for your review and also for staying at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Let’s start with that I am truly sorry that I can not put a rate of 4.5 or even more...
We arrived to this hotel by a shuttle from Newark airport and were welcomed by a very friendly staff. Our suite was located on the last floor (Floor 31) with a wonderful view of the surrounding area. The beds were clean and comfortable and the restroom was large enough.
In order to save some precious time, we bought our tickets for the Museum inside the hotel and also ordered a shuttle to the airport. In addition, they gave us tremendous assistance for places where to eat or where to visit, which also saved us money and time.
When we checked out from the hotel, we left New York with a very good taste of the big apple.
We warmly recommended you this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hezkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for writing the review of our hotel and we're sorry you can score us higher also. But more importantly we are happy you had a wonderful time with us and in NYC. Thank you for your recommendation. Thank you for being a guest of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We a family of 5 visited this hotel recently. Arrived at 3:00 with our van and chose the valet parking in two seconds. Not from NY thought this was the best. The rates are competitive. Take everything you need from your car because if you forgot something it's about 45 min. to have the car brought to the hotel. Check in great. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We were given a room on the 22 nd floor at check in and I asked for a room on a higher floor. New room on the 31st floor!! Two dble beds & a pull out sofa ( not to comfortable) toilette & shower together. Bathroom sink apart. Low lighting here and the water restriction is really over done... room modern and good. The front desk is very helpful. With help for taking the subway to all general inquiries. Top notch. You will find everything you need within a block.situation of the hotel is great however think of good walking shoes & protection from the sun. It was very hot when we were there. Our 7 year old was a champ!!! We found the people in NY all extraordinarily friendly. BRAVO to you all!!!! One thing a server in little Italy told us is the Staten island ferry is free. Don't know if this is true but if so it would have been fun to hear this from the hotel. ( who doesn't like free) one night I didn't close the window well and there was noise of taxi and fire trucks. But this was my fault. Don't close the a/c because it gets hot quick and difficult to recuperate the coolness. 12 floor lobby looks really nice but did not use it. No noise from neighbours!!!!! Overall great place. Do not hesitate. As always your attitude can make or break a memorable visit to this great city & its even greater people. Thank you NY.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jalapenoQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. More importantly thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of your family memories of a wonderful trip. Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay. I will share this with our team. Yes the Ferry is Free and yes if you were going to that part of the city I think someone could have shared it also. I am happy you found our staff friendly.

Thank you again for being a guest of our hotel and for leaving your review. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

stood here for business, the local 6 train steps away, very good staff. rooms are spacious and very clean, a good walk to timesquare and central park will visit again. this hotel and coutyard upper east side are great locations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stormz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be happy to pass on the comments to our staff. I am very happy you found the hotel to your liking. Please reach out to me when staying again. Thank you for being a guest of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location is good for sightseeing (though not very close, the Times Square, the Empire State Building and MoMA are all in a walking distance). The major advantage of the hotel is the availability of rooms for a family of five - we had a reasonably spacious room with two Queen beds and a sofa. It was comfortable and clean. There is no restaurant, and breakfast is only available from a Starbucks situated in the building and closing at 9.30 during the week (but there are many cafes around serving breakfasts, so we found it nicer to go out). There is a small fitness in the hotel and some sodas/snacks available for purchase near the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for writing your review and being a guest of our hotel. This is for you and all the other guests that have written their reviews. We appreciate the time and effort you have made to write the review and let others know about your stay. I am happy the room met your expectations. Our Queen/Queen set up along with the size of the rooms is a very popular feature of our hotel. This along with the hotel’s location continues to attract our guests. As you mentioned there is a restaurant on our 12th floor for breakfast. But if you want to sleep late in our comfortable beds then just ask our doorman about restaurants in the area. Thank you again for being a guest of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Within a very sort distance from Central Park, the MoMA and Times Square, the hotel is very well placed. We stayed for a weekend beginning of August. The room was a bit on the small size, but smartly decorated, well equipped and comfortable. We stayed on the 27th floor, so we couldn't hear any noise from the street. The only minor problem was the noise from the a/c unit - turning it off was not an option as NYC was really hot in August. If back in NYC I would definately consider staying there again,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lab_rat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and being a guest. We are happy the room met your satisfaction. If you do come back to NY and decide to stay at our property please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel as loyal Marriott customers, but also for it's good location and reportedly larger rooms for NYC. Both reasons turned out to be well founded and we really appreciated the size of our room compared to other hotels we have stayed in here in Manhattan over the last ten years. The hotel room had definitely been updated in recent years and was comfortable, clean, quiet and perfect for our 3 night stay. It was convenient to the subway which we used to easily get to the 9/11 Museum and another day to get to Broadway and 52nd Street for a theatre show. There are lots of restaurants nearby ( we had a fun, casual, well priced dinner at Mimi's), along with a Duane Reed store right next door.. The staff was friendly and helpful and valet parking worked well for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lifetravelernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review and as you mentioned being loyal to our Marriott Hotels. I am happy that our hotel met your needs. You are correct we have gone through a major renovation. Since you put you would stay here again. When you do please contact me. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 469 in New York City
775 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#149 of 469 in New York City
1,123 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#230 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#152 of 469 in New York City
1,304 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 469 in New York City
888 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing