We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations Worth Waiting For!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #136 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed one night the weekend before Christmas to see the Seurat exhibit at the MOMA. We had stayed about nine months before in early summer. At that time the hotel was completing a much needed renovation. We were not lucky enough to get a renovated room that time and the room showed its wear. I remember feeling quite disappointed that the room was much more drab and worn than the display photos showed. This visit the renovations were finished and the hotel was transformed. The lobby and reception area are tasteful, comfortable, and (particularly welcome in December) features a sitting area with a gas fireplace. The person at the reception desk was friendly, helpful, and happy to explain to us that while the hotel no longer offered free espresso in the lobby, they did offer free coffee in the tenth floor lounge. Our room, this time, was on the tenth floor. The hotel now has two elevators, one larger and one very small. I only remember one at our last stay. On the tenth floor were several rooms and the lounge. This area had the promised free coffee, a large flat screen TV and two computer stations offering free internet access (one was not operational). When we entered our room we were shocked. It featured a sitting area with two white leather arm chairs, a white leather lounger seat with a footstool, a snack bar and stocked refrigerator, and a flat screen TV. The carpet was new, clean, and with a simple narrow black and white stripe. Pushing our way through a set of double frosted glass doors we found a room with a king sized bed, another flat screen TV and a closet. Peeking into the bathroom we saw new modern fixtures, a hand-held shower, and the deepest bath (with jets!) I'd ever seen in a hotel. Nervously we called down to the front desk to make sure of our rate (a fantastic rate, prepaid though Expedia) and to make sure there'd been no mistake. The person apologized for frightening us and said that he gave us a free upgrade to the best room available, he thought we'd like it. Well, we did. I know that we were in an atypical room, more deluxe than one we would usually stay in, but the entire hotel was clean, tastefully decorated in a simple black and white theme, and staffed with friendly, helpful people. There were only a couple of issues that could be improved. There was an issue with the cable TV in our room and while we had many of the channels we could not get the pay-per-view to work. That was a disappointment. One of the computers in the tenth floor lounge was not operational and it would have been helpful if there was a sign on it that informed of this fact. Our room and bathroom was spotlessly cleaned, but when I filled the tub and used the jets it became obvious that they had sat unused for quite a while because they shot out some black flecks that looked like mold had developed in the jets. No big deal, and fixable by filling the tub and operating the jets on a more regular basis. So, a clean, safe, well staffed hotel in a safe neighborhood two blocks from the subway with some very minor maintenance issues. We'll be back!

There is a 24 hour diner a block away and a coffee shop just across the street from that. There is also your typical small NY market that sells just about everything; we were able to buy the toothpaste we'd forgotten to pack and the bottled sparkling water we prefer to drink.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston_Traveler_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 3,163 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2007

After reading the reviews, i was having second thoughts but i'm glad i stayed. the boyfriend and i were originally booked for the standard room, but upgraded to deluxe when noticing the price for deluxe was only $10 the night before.

Cons:
-the toilet didn't flush, but the boyfriend fooled around and fixed it within 3 min, so nothing big.
-they didn't have their pay per view or On demand setup.
-TV was a little blurry
-mini bar was overly priced
-the last morning we were there, we heard some random loud drilling and hammering around 7 or 8 am, not good.

Pros
-clean
-nice neighborhood
-great shower!!
-convenient
all around i Would stay there again, its not the plaza, but its adequate and nice.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

After reading the reviews of the Marcel here on trip advisor i was prepared for disappointment. I had wanted to stay at 60 Thompson or The Chambers (both 4/5 star boutique hotels where i've had pleasant stays previously, and both double the price of the Marcel), but they were totally booked out - as were all the other options i would have taken over this particular hotel.

On arrival my concerns were not exactly alleviated when i was told by reception that there was no hot water AND no telephone / internet service: both facilites were being 'upgraded' and would not be available until the following day.

Not a good start.

However, i had made the effort of contacting the hotel directly two weeks before travelling and secured a corner room on a high floor. This truned out to be a VERY good move because the room was utterly wonderful: it was large (larger than rooms at either 60 Thompson or The Chambers), furnished in a very hip yet very sophisticated style, and everything from the carpet to the bed to the leather desk to the flat screen tv to the i-pod dock clock-radio appeared to be brand, spanking new.

I had two huge, beautiful windows and a double aspect view. Even the bathroom was a pleasant surprise - much better than expected after looking at the 'reviewers' photos on this website. If you ever stay at this hotel - definitely try and secure a corner room (there's only one per floor).

There was a fully stocked mini-bar (but interestingly without any alcohol) and the extra ameneties were as good, if not better, than any boutique hotel.

The following morning the hot water was back on and the telephone was working fine, with no more problems for the duration of my 4 night stay.

There were two great, traditional diners just two blocks from the hotel, and a great bar / restaurant called VERTIGO serving some truly excellent contemporary American food (and - amazingly - English cider!).

The bottom line? There really is no need to spend double the money. Excellent stay - i'd definitely go back, but they'd have to guarantee me that corner room!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pbs1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

After reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor, I approached the Marcel with some caution. It turned out okay, no major complaints, but not exactly the best value either.

Some caveats: this was supposed to be a romantic getaway weekend for the wife and & I, and we looked pretty casually for a place until about a month before. As it turned out, the first weekend in Nov. is Marathon weekend in NYC. No wonder all the rooms disappeared seemingly overnight. What we were left with was little choice, and much higher rates than expected.

The review: The Marcel is a standard european style boutique hotel with a modern decor. You see these places popping up all over the last few years. Most recently we stayed at the Roger Williams (back in '03) for dirt cheap ($140/nt), but now it's almost $500 a night.

The rooms in the Marcel (we saw 2) are small - 9' x 12' or so. The beds are nicely sized, but take up a lot of room. Add up the small dressers, mini fridge, and night tables and it becomes pretty tight. This was not a surprise, as most hotels like this are similarly laid out.
The bed was comfy, and linens were soft and fresh. No laundry or bleach smells. The Bathroom was really tight, but ample. The shower was a walk-in style, which I'll save for the "Cons" part of the review.

The Closet was small, but adequate, the "dressers" consisted of a 2 whole drawers and a space below. The night tables each had a drawer, but we just put our extra clothes in a pile on the floor next to the bed.

We had room 910, which had a huge window overlooking 24th st. This provided a respite from what would have otherwise been a claustrophobic experience. Plenty of light and air (thru open windows). Not an inspiring view, but nice to have one just the same. Close the blinds at night, unless you don't mind being on display for the apartment building across the street - they sure don't....

Based on reviews here, I originally asked for a room away from the stairs. We were given 501, I believe. It had a view of the interior of the building - essentially a black brick wall. The room was a scosh bigger, but the wife said no way. So they moved us up to 910. No stair issues to contend with, however it was right next to the elevators. This proved to be a non-issue, even on a weekend. Very little noise there, or from outside, for that matter. Unless you're visiting from rural Montana, I think you'd find it surprisingly quiet.

The Bad:
Walk-in shower. Why do hotels insist on this? the curtains leave a 2 inch gap and spray soaks the whole floor. Ask for an extra towel.

Mini-bar. I'm going to agree with the reviewer who said to leave space for my stuff too. Not only is the contents ridiculously overpriced, but there's a tray on top stocked with goodies that sit on little sensors. If an item is removed for more than 20 seconds it gets charged to your account automatically (WTF?!!). Insideous, no? We moved the tray out of the way and used it for our own crap.

Outlets. These days, most travelers come packed like a gadget store: cell phone, digital camera, video camera, iPod, laptop, etc. and all these things come with charger. Knowing this, why are the outlets tucked away under the night tables (that don't move), virtually unreachable, and filled with lamp and clock plugs? Sure, there's one by the TV, but it's 3 feet of the floor, better hope your little charger doesn't fall out. Would a courtesy outlet be so wrong?....

In a nutshell:
Nice decor, Nice neighborhood - (Pick-a-Bagel 2 blocks south was awesome) quiet, plenty of amenities nearby, #6 train 2 blocks east.
Friendly staff, willing to accomodate if asked. Clean, small rooms. Inconvenient outlets, and a somewhat messy shower.

Would I stay again? if the price dropped $200, yes.

Take a look at my review for the WalkNYC (.com) private walking tour we did. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

we had cold showers for 4 days and the reception really didn't care. they didn't even know what MOMA was and when the museums were open. the central heating was broke for 1 day. but the rest of the hotel (beds, location, furniture) was ok.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank marcstrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

After reading several of the reviews of the Marcel, I was seriously worried about what to expect when we arrived for our 5-night November 2007 stay. But when we arrived, My husband and I, as well as our friends we traveled with, were so pleased with what we found! The hotel, after going through renovations this past summer, was in great condition. Modern, simplistic & clean are the words I'd use to best describe the accommodations. Although we had booked the base-level room, we found we were upgraded to a slightly larger room with a king bed, which was incredibly comfortable. Unlike other travelers who reviewed this hotel, we had no trouble with the temperature of our room and had no issue with noise. This was our first trip to NY and we were pleased with how centrally located the Marcel was. Easy access to the subway, and short walks or cab rides everywhere. We'd stay at the Marcel again anytime and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank famouspota2es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

I've stayed at the Marcel three times. The reason I came back is that even though the rooms are minscule, they are nicely appointed - everything is new so it gives you the impression you're staying at a more upscale hotel - even though for Manhattan, I would describe this as mid-priced. The problem is that for this stay - I was on the third floor - so fairly well accessible by stairwells as opposed to the elevator - which is programmed such that it will skip your floor to make the total round trip - getting as many people into it before stopping to get you... frustrating to watch it wizz by you several times before stopping... sigh. In any event, because of the low floor, the stairwell doors never stopped slamming. Also, the hotel staff with the luggage carts bang their way through the halls without regard for how much noise they're making! All the maintenance staff - housekeeping etc. are very nice. But I've found the front desk staff to be variable - and in my three times here, I have never seen the same person 2x. Well I can say the same for the 5 star where I stay in Seattle (for the same price I might add as this 2.5 - 3 star hotel in Manhattan). I would stay here again, I guess. Because in Manhattan your choices for good price are limited. Bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ToulouseToutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#42 of 469 in New York City
697 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#243 of 469 in New York City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
542 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#221 of 469 in New York City
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £116 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo. Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing