We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated mediocre hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2008

I just spent 7 nights at the Marcel so I have a pretty good sense of this hotel. They try to project a fancier image with doormen, funky decor and wine and cheese in the evening, but it didn't really live up to my expectations. My room--one bed-- was very, very tiny. I know it's New York, but when there's no place to put your suitcase, it's rough. The room decor is clashing but fun. I enjoyed the modern colors and prints. The biggest problem was the cleaning folks. Despite leaving our room repeatedly because they kept knocking on the door, the room still wasn't clean by 5:00 in the evening. I didn't feel comfortable with how well they cleaned. One day we came in to find the uncleaned room filled with cigarette smoke and the window open as if our room was the smoking lounge. I had to pay extra for the wireless service, which isn't cheap, and while it was adequate, it was rather slow. One plus was the front desk staff and doormen. They were always friendly and helpful. I think if this hotel works on improving their cleaning staff, it can get better, but you might want to ask if they have larger rooms.

  • Liked — friendly front desk staff and doormen
  • Disliked — the cleaning staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apoxeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    984
    350
    160
    124
See reviews for
462
1,143
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

With the location and the price, my expectations of this hotel were pretty low. I was quite surprised to find how nice the hotel was. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

Upon check-in I requested a quiet room. I know, a quiet room in NYC, dream on! Again, shockingly surprised to get an interior room that was so quiet you couldn't have guessed you were even in a city.

The beds were harder than I like and the bathroom had one of those annoying new square shallow sinks, but the wine and cheese reception was warm and friendly. Don't miss the chance to step out on the terrace from the hospitality suite, what a view!!!

Overall, a most pleasant experience, one I will seek out again!

  • Liked — service/price
  • Disliked — beds too hard
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2008

I thought it was excellent. I was staying on my own and had a massive bedroom which was slick and clean and groovy. Staff very helpful indeed and I was given a glass of sparkling wine the minute I checked in.
A couple of downsides.. Bedroom terribly overheated. Loved the 10th floor where you get free internet and excellent coffee but the breakfast was very disappointing. Rock hard bagels and indifferent cereals. Don't waste your money when there are so many great places a 10 minute walk away. Overall I would definitely recommed it and would stay again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank radio4girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2008

For New York this is quite a resonably priced hotel-I stay in hotels quite frequently due to business and would give this hotel a 7/10, rooms were clean and had trendy decor. Good location for bars and food bad for shopping as at least 10 blocks away.

Great TV!

The only bad things about the room was obviosly small, odd layout as door opens onto your bed, bathroom okay style didnt fit rest of decor. NO VIEW-ours was of a bricked up alley.

Resonably helpful staff.

Nice stylish budget hotel.

  • Liked — Stylish
  • Disliked — compact
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ast1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abell44
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2008

I love this place! The Marcel is extremly clean, the staff are fantastic and our room was huge! The lounge on the tenth floor was great - computers with free internet access (great when you want to google a Restaurant), free coffee and tea, and an amazing roof deck! I booked it through hotels.com and got a deluxe room- we paid $250 a night, but it was definitly well worth it! Also, I called the Hotel and requested a corner room. They only have 1 corner room per floor, so be sure to call early. Parking was across the street for $27 per day. Great location - close to the village (about a $6 cab ride). All in all - I Loved this place and would recommend it to anyone! We stayed in room 607 and it was amazing.

  • Liked — The room & the lounge
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night to celebrate valentines day. We arrived around 730pm and the check in was quick and simple, gave us our key and we were off.

The entrance way had a wide fireplace built in th wall and a doorman. There was a parcking deck right across the street and for 24 hours they charge us 27$ which isnt that bad at all for parking in the city!

We stayed in room 311. It was VERY tiny, but clean and very modern. The bathroom was clean and was pretty decent sized. The bed was comfortable except the fitted sheet wasnt very tight and kept moving when i moved.

Liquor store and convenience store right around the corner.
Cab to Lafayette was only 10$.

Check out was simple and quick as well!!

I would DEF recommend this hotel to couples... its worth the money!!!

  • Liked — location, cleanlieness and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — the tiny rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbarlics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

I loved this hotel. It was decorated the way I would love to have my place done. It was modern and sleek.. the rooms are small, but it is NYC.
I didn't care much for the shallow bathroom sink, but the bathroom was very well appointed.
All in all: I loved this place and totally will stay there again!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The internet for 10USD a day
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JazzyTravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing