We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marcel at Gramercy
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,541)
Filter reviews
3,541 results
Traveller rating
1,713
1,122
398
176
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,713
1,122
398
176
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungefloor loungenew yorktenth floorthe empire state buildingroof terracemadison square parkboutique hotelfree coffeebigger roomrooms are smallcontinental breakfaststreet noisean upgradecorner roomaround the cornerlocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
2,080 - 2,085 of 3,541 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here from 11-15 February, and were pleased with the hotel. It was all we hoped for. On arrival we were upgraded from our smallest room to a superior. Ok, it had a 'view' of the wall, but apart from that it was great.

The room was much larger than we expected (average hotel size, compared to most UK hotels anyway), the bathroom and shower were perfect, and the bed comfy. It was also quiet and we slept well every night. (Our room was near the lift but we didn't hear it.)

The heating worked fine and we could control the temperature, and we could be cosy when it was -8 (Celsius) outside. It wasn't the quietest, but air conditioners never are. The window was a bit draughty, but it didn't matter as the heating was so powerful.

The lounge has great views across manhattan, and the location is fabulous, easy walking distance to everything in midtown yet feels very safe and quiet. Somewhere you'd like to live. There are great bars and restaurants very close too.

We paid £675 for 4 nights including virgin flights through london with lastminute. We'd go back to the marcel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing your experience in detail with readers.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent hotel to stay!Close to school and very comfortable. The staff was excellent and very helpful! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York or interviewing at the school. The location is very safe also.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for your five star review!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your recommendation is most appreciated!

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Everything was fine at this hotel except you could not control the heat. Our room was literally 85 degrees. So the bed was comfortable but you could not breathe. The staff were friendly but could not do anything about the poor heating system I would not stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you very much for posting your valuable feedback an TripAdvisor!

I appreciate your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our beds comfortable and staff to be friendly however I am disappointed to learn that you experienced a challenge with our heating system.

I would love to discuss more in detail of your stay if you can contact me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com

Thank you again for your review!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A fantastic hotel that's perfect for a short stay in NYC. Modelled on the chain of W hotels the location was great, staff very helpful, rooms clean and everything worked to a high standard. The rooms aren't large and a standard was cozy for two but frankly you don't need a huge amount of space when in New York and our room had a wardrobe with enough hanging space for two people for a few days. We stayed on the fifth floor in 517, which was at the back of the hotel, we didn't have any issues with noise so I'd recommend. We stayed in February so couldn't really appreciate the 10th floor terrace but I imagine this is a gem come the summer months.

Room Tip: Room 517 is at the back of the hotel. Not a great view but you can't hear any street noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lptravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your suggestions are terrific!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Really comfortable hotel. Perfect for a weekend break in February. We enjoyed the lounge on the 10th floor - although walking up the stairs was a little unpleasant due to uncovered wiring between floors.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feed back regarding your stay.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews