We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #148 of 467 Hotels in New York City
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It's fine for what it is, which is your run of the mill typical small room hotel in NYC

The shower pressure is Terrible. It is also an open shower with no door and only a half wall.

It's clean and small and in a decent neighborhood with plenty of restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DMACK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location and clean rooms.

Please know that we do offer a number of room types that vary in size. It seems that you may have reserved a standard guest room, which is average in size compared to most NYC hotels.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a challenge with the shower pressure and appreciate you bringing to our attention. We will be sure to address this matter.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and we hope that you would consider us again upon your next visit to New York City.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    1,026
    361
    166
    125
See reviews for
498
1,190
271
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night with my husband for a one night getaway (without the kids). The hotel was very clean with modern decor. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Location is terrific for walking. Parking garage is directly across the street. Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank julielbmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for posting your experience on TripAdvisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our convenient location, clean rooms and our wonderful team!

We hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I have just spent three nights at this fantastic hotel. The location is superb being midway between the busy Times Square/Central Park area and the downtown 9/11 Memorial. There are lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance and the nearby Union Square/Flat Iron building. The best feature of the hotel is the 10th floor rooftop terrace with views of the Empire State and free wine Wed/Friday! All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Kathy, Brittany and Britney on reception and Mohamad on concierge duties. This is a review so I have tried hard to think of any weaknesses and I could only think of two - little storage (one wardrobe and no drawers at all in the room) and the shower was tricky to use at first. We have been to NY several times before and we will definitely book here again. David B

Room Tip: Most rooms facing Third Avenue and on the Northern side have a view of the Empire State.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for you five star review!

We are most appreciative of your positive feedback as we strive to exceed our guests' expectations at each interaction. I am thrilled you were able to experience this.

We are grateful for your time and hope we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice hotel in a central area in the city. You can walk to a lot of city attractions and you have a perfect view of the Empire State Building from the very nice rooftop they've got. We had a very nice experience all together!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alexis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our roof top while staying at our hotel.

We hope that you keep us in mind upon your next visit to NYC!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Small rooms, no storage, poor lighting, no fitness center. Not sound proof, I could clearly hear the people beside me and above me. Very slow internet connection. Hotel was not a very good value for the price paid. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Freqtrav450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very disappointed that we did not live up to or exceed your expectations.

I hope that you made us aware of your challenges while staying with us with regard to the internet and the noise around your room. While some of our rooms are considered small by national standards, our standard room category is average in size with other New York City hotels and are priced quite competitively.

On a positive note I am very pleased to learn that you found the bed to be comfortable and the room clean.

I hope that upon your next visit to NYC you will give us another opportunity to ensure a comfortable stay.

Thank you again for your time!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Yotrk, N.y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you eed a place to decompress after a full day or business or sightseeing, this is a wonderful downtown oasis. Located in the residential Gramercy/Rose Hill area, the hotel is close to excellent, affordable restaurants of all kinds. For great Diner fare, try the Lyric Diner ( 22nd and 3rd Ave. ) just a few blocks down.
At the end of the day, there is a wonderful lounge on the 10th floor with a great view of the Empire State Building, which now has lights that pulse. Do whatever you can to make sure a stop in the Lounge is part of your stay.
Also, my wife and daughter enjoyed the Continental Breakfast servied in the Lounge for $ 12+. That's a bit pricey, but I don;t know of anyplace else where you can wake up to such a view

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our central location is very convenient and there are so many amazing restaurants nearby. I am also glad that you enjoyed the view from our Guest Lounge!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in a deluxe king room -- and it was truly deluxe! The location is perfect for me. Do take advantage of the car service to the airport -- the friendly doorman will arrange it for you -- and hold your luggage for me if your plane does not depart until well after check-out time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your kind words as well as your loyalty to us!

Our economical car service is quite convenient and glad to hear you appreciated this amenity we offer.

We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
5,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,830 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#44 of 467 in New York City
451 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#230 of 467 in New York City
3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing