We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this is not a hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is not a hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

this was the most uncomfortable room we have ever stayed in.
The bed was very hard.
The bathroom the size of an airplane bathroom
We were not given the room we reserved. The superior room on the higher
floor was till not ready at 4:10 pm/ We had an engagement and could
not wait. We had to occupy room 205

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy our stay with us. I appreciate you sharing your experience as well as taking the time to complete our guest survey.

I have emailed you in private and I look forward to speaking with you!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    948
    341
    159
    122
See reviews for
433
1,114
247
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed a few weeks ago and overall it was very enjoyable. I got upgraded from a queen to a king room and got a free b+w cookie. My one issue with the room was noise from 3rd ave which kept me up each of the two nights.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms away from the street if you're a light sleeper. I was upgraded into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you to our hotel!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wonderful hotel. Excellent attention to detail. Clean rooms but a little on the small side. Extremely helpful staff. Safe and fun neighborhood. Easily accessible and affordable parking across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a King Superior - not the least expensive. The room was extremely small. The lighting is poor - the bathroom is so small that the door smacks into the commode. The neighborhood is good - the staff was friendly. They offer complimentary wine from 5-7PM which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

I am very pleased that you found our team to be friendly and our convenient location nice. I am disappointed that you found the Superior category room to be small. They are, on average quite spacious compared to our Standard rooms and I am sorry you did not see the value. We will absolutely look into the the lightning issues you experienced and we appreciate you pointing this out.

I am pleased that you took advantage of our wine reception in the evenings, this is a great way to unwind and relax after a long day.

I have also responded to your survey in private and hope you give us another opportunity in the future!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff across the board, which is clearly the result of a well managed smaller spotlessly clean hotel who care about guests. (Special mention to Doris, a great help with my booking!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as the service our team provides. We appreciate your mention of Doris and will be sure she is aware of your kind words!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was a very Nice hotel, good beds. We stay in Luxery room, so there was plenty of Space. The breakfast was not the best. I would like to og back. The staff did a splendy job, and the eariar was Perfect for traveling round in NY

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ove J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was very pleased with The Marcel and will definitely stay there again. I looked at many places online and the hotel is a good value. The location is great - walkable to lower east side, Chelsea and midtown, with great subway and bus access. My room on the 8th floor was spacious by NYC standards and nicely appointed. I was traveling with my mother and we were very comfortable in the room with all our luggage. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The bathroom was nicely updated with lots of space for toiletries. A very thoughtful touch was a large extension cord with plenty of plugs for our phones, iPads, etc. by the side of the bed. The staff were also very pleasant and extremely efficient. We had a number of requests and they always responded very quickly no matter the time of day or night.

The hotel does appear to have a wide variation in room size with some much smaller than ours. We booked a superior king room.

Room Tip: Book a superior or better room if you care about how much space you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am very pleased to hear you found our staff accommodating and efficient! We are very proud of the service our team is able to deliver to our guests and love hearing about it!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing