We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #146 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay here. It's a very unique and memorable property. I really liked the modern theme. Also, it was kept very clean and everything was in good condition.

The staff was also courteous, pleasant, and fun. The location was great, as there were many great dining choices nearby.

Would HIGHLY recommend staying here. I plan to stay here many more times.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    1,028
    363
    166
    125
See reviews for
499
1,191
273
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was probably one of the best trips of our lives! And the hotel was a huge reason for it! My best friend and I were extremely pleased with Marcel. Customer service is impeccable! Kathy from the front desk gave us a VIP treatment! We will never forget this trip and will always stay at Marcel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabriela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your stay! We appreciate your kind words and are delighted your found our team helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I don't know where to begin.

We (me, the boyf, my best friend and her hubby) stayed at the Marcel for 3 nights between 17-20 May... in two rooms!! We were on the 5th floor.

Every dealing with the team at Marcel was just brilliant - they were genuinely friendly, professional and always seemed to look for that little extra way they could help or make the stay better.

Example 1: We booked the hotel through Lastminute which was a right faff so I called the hotel directly. They sorted out the multiple bookings that Lastminute had made in error, and then gave us a bottle of Prosecco to make up for the confusion... Which wasn't even theirs!!!

Example 2: The jetlag kicked in quickly for me, so on our first morning I went up to the 10th floor terrace for a cuppa (of complimentary tea/coffee - which is available ALL day) at the crack of dawn, only to find I was a bit early and the doors were locked. But the chap getting the breakfast ready, saw me and immediately opened up early just for me, put the kettle on and turned the TV on so I could relax!

These are just 2 examples of many! Special mention to Brittany, Jennifer, Kathy and Mohammad but also the chap on the 10th floor whose name I didn't catch!

The hotel itself is in a perfect location for everything. We could walk to the Lower East Side for brunch (amazing!) or walk uptown to the Empire State and all the shops. The hotel gives you a map which came in really handy.

The rooms were small - but that's typical for NYC so we expected as much. We didn't expect the noise of the road to be so loud and constant. It literally went through the night which was a bit tough to get used to, even though we were on the 5th floor. For some reason it seems like if there is a siren in the car, it has to be on and everyone honks their horn for the smallest thing no matter the hour (sort it out NYC!!). But again, the hotel provides earplugs for guests... :)

We were room only so can't comment on the food, but the free tea/coffee on the 10th floor was handy and it was great to sit out on the open roof terrace with a view of the Empire State Building. We sat out there on our last afternoon on the sun loungers in the gorgeous sun with the bottle of Prosecco - perfect!

I think we would definitely stay here again if we're ever back in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccada30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review!

We appreciate your recommendation and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Marcel is our home in NYC., and our 3rd or 4th visit
Excellent location - close to my daughter's apt, NYU, Eataly,
Epiphany Church, Bluebell Cafe, Pan de Sal, etc. Loved our double queen room on the
top floor with great views. It was immaculate and ready for nap time after tea time at the lounge
@3 good for elderly Mom & Aunt Staff always amazing and accommodating.. Special thanks to
Nalini, Brittany, Cathy, Mo, Nori etc. Love you guys.

Room Tip: Book early for better rates especially if you are returning... hotel has 11 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for you review!

We enjoyed hosting you and your family at The Marcel once again. We really appreciate your loyalty as well as your recommendation!

We are thrilled that our staff was able to make you and your family feel at home and we look forward welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent location and easy to access. The bed/pillows/linens were among the stars of our stay. We enjoyed the easy access to local foods and bars, and the upscale décor of our room. The complimentary cocktail hour was a nice little relaxing surprise before we headed out for the evening. We'll be back.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy our complimentary wine reception and you found our rooms comfortable.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Reception meet and great was the worst, they charged us rediculous fees that we never used. Room smells like cigarette. Over would never recommend. And would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Hector B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!

Please accept my sincere apology for the challenges you experienced during your stay. It is extremely unusual that you had the smell of cigarettes in your room as we are a non smoking hotel. I will be sure to follow up with our team. Upon our research, it seems that you have taken some items from your mini bar the charges are a result of this.

I am disappointed to learn that you were "terrified" during your stay. I am unsure of exactly what you mean and would love to discuss further.

Please feel free to reach to me direct at nsullivan@marcelhotelnyc.com

Thank you again!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend here to see the sights and do some shopping. Our deluxe king room was clean and spacious with nice views down Third Avenue. We were surprised that being on the seventh floor did not spare us from the street noise; maybe that is why earplugs were provided in the room. Our stay was slightly disrupted by the loss of internet service and room air conditioning, but Britney, Kathy, Mohamed and the rest of the staff were quick to fix those problems. The Friday 5 PM complimentary wine reception was also a small slip. We arrived at 5:45 to find all the wine glasses and white wine were already gone. Again, we told the staff and the situation was quickly corrected. Overall, we did enjoy our stay and we will become repeat customers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DoubleD1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure that we address the issues in which you mentioned.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 466 in New York City
672 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 466 in New York City
2,289 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,834 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#42 of 466 in New York City
459 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#232 of 466 in New York City
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing