We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marcel at Gramercy
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,541)
Filter reviews
3,541 results
Traveller rating
1,713
1,122
398
176
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,713
1,122
398
176
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungefloor loungenew yorktenth floorthe empire state buildingroof terracemadison square parkboutique hotelfree coffeebigger roomrooms are smallcontinental breakfaststreet noisean upgradecorner roomaround the cornerlocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
1,994 - 1,999 of 3,541 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I gave this place 3 because it is listed as a 4-star property. It is a nice property with great staff and good decor, but it is really more of a 3 or 3.5 star property. I'd give it a 4 rating if it were 3 star. The good: proximity to 23rd St and Mad Square Park, decor, friendly front desk, evening wine reception, decor. The bad: minuscule outdated dimly lit bathroom, noisy A/C, tight room (I think my room was the smallest on the floor possibly due to my bargain website reservation). The bottom-line is that they have most of what you'd expect from a 4-star hotel, but the outdated bath and A/C unit doesn't give you the feeling that you just stayed at one.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 24th street are probably larger than rooms facing 3rd Ave
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achilles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We will look into the points you mentioned and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I recently booked three rooms at the Marcel to attend a wedding. The other hotel considered was the Gramercy. I chose correctly!
The Marcel staff are polite, attentive and friendly. No airs of importance here! Just warm, knowledgeable service.
The rooms with the queen beds were quite small,but completely adequate. Decent closet, lovely bathroom, and very quiet. They provide ear plugs, but none of us needed them. We were spread throughout the hotel, floors 3, 5, and 10, with varying views of buildings or streets, and we all slept well.
The room on the 10th with two double beds was huge by NYC standards, with free wifi, and coffee and tea available free all day right down the hall and around the corner. There is an outdoor terrace for sunning and enjoying a glass of wine!
The hotel also offers a wine social for guests on Wed, Thurs, and Fri.in their reception area.
The cleanliness and attentiveness of the staff was my favorite feature. I would definitely book again.
It is close to the subway, an easy cab hail on Lexington, and walking distance to anything you could possibly need.
The Gramercy area is lovely, with well kept buildings, and public parks nearby.
A great choice!!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the 10th floor, it is nice to be close to the coffee, the terrace and the computers provided, (with wifi), for those who do not have their own.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golf2gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was at The Marcel last week for 6 nights. The first one was very difficult, little but nice room, with a great problem for me, no windows, or better, one window in hidden position and impossible to open. I ask immediately to the team a ghange, promptly resolved the day after due to the hotel overbooking. The new room was fantastic at 6th floor, with a great windows on the street, clean and in good conditions. For my next trips to NYC I'll reuse the Marcel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeloFeltrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am delighted that our team was helpful to you throughout your stay. I am very glad you mentioned your challenges while staying with us, this way we are able to ensure your comfort while still on property. We appreciate this communication!

We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our first nite we were put in a very small room on the 2nd floor, but the management offered to move us the next day, which they did while we were out for the day. Our next room was much larger and more to our liking. For us, the location is ideal so we would stay on future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!

We hope we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you are looking for a low-key, clean, well-run and reasonably priced hotel a few blocks from Union Square, Madison Park, and Gramercy Park, The Marcel @ Gramercy should be on your short list. The front desk & lobby staff are courteous and professional. A very modest breakfast buffet is offered on the 10th floor, which also features a relaxing lounge and outdoor deck. The rooms are "NYC small", but NOT the smallest I have seen in similar boutique hotels. Drawbacks are: rooms located on the low to mid level floors that are on 3rd avenue get a lot of street noise. The hotel does furnish earplugs, which help, but I would request a room away from 3rd avenue when we return in the future.

Room Tip: Stay away from 3rd avenue unless you are on a high floor (?)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russelldevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews