We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #147 of 467 Hotels in New York City
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL !”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The minute I walked in .. LOVED IT !
Rooms were Perfect .. STAFF was VERY HELPFUL & FRIENDLY !
The Roof Lounge was PERFECT for some Sun Time or just Coffee w/ Friends.
Couldn't ask for a Better Wknd Getaway !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    1,026
    361
    166
    125
See reviews for
498
1,190
271
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My experience at The Marcel was a wonderful one. I found the rooms to be very comfortable and the availability of a room bar made the stay so much easier. Wi-Fi in rooms is very good and free too. The staff were fantastic from the ladies at the reception to the guys on the 10th floor. Special mention: Mohamad - what a gent. Very friendly and very helpful......

Room Tip: Rooms away from the corner 23rd street are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdviosr!

We appreciate the mention of our team! We are very proud of them and we love that you noticed the attempts to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first room was extremely small with no window and nowhere to put luggage. I assumed all of the rooms were similar until we saw our friends' room the next day so I asked the front desk. We were moved the following day to a room on a higher floor with a large window and normal storage. The only complaint we had was a lack of outlets for charging cell phones/computers etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the location was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We appreciate your kind review!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here on a quick trip to NYC. We were initially placed in a bed with a full sized bed, when our reservation was for a queen. The front desk sorted out this issue promptly and professionally, and we were placed in another room with a queen-sized bed. Yes, the rooms are small, but it's NYC. I recommend paying a little extra for a queen or king room so that you'll have the extra space for your bags, etc.

The room was immaculately clean. There were small touches like CO Bigelow toiletries and complimentary earplugs that were appreciated. The beds were extremely comfortable. The walkable neighborhood is definitely away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas, but still conveniently located near multiple subway lines. A great value for the money, and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel. But why don't they offer free Wi-Fi. This annoyed me no end. There was a great little restaurant, where had breakfast every day, Bluebell, which had free Wi-Fi. I don't understand hotels that have not adopted free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and opinion!

We are priced very competitively and many of the boutique hotels in our area do charge a fee for Wi-Fi as well. We do offer our business center with free internet access as well as printing services also we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our guest lounge.

I am sorry that you found this to be an inconvenience and will be sure that your opinion is heard.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although a bit disappointed with the size of the room, I still recommend The Marcel as a good hotel option.
It's a small sophisticated hotel with a lovely terrace where you have a wonderful skyline view of NY.
Its location is perfect if you want to scape from the turmoil of midtown NY.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria de Lourde... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome time wonderful place to visit and a great hotel to stay at easy acces to all attractions in the big apple and the hotel staff always had time for you and your needs well worth staying in this friendly hotel in the heart of Manhattan Deffo go back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
453 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#229 of 467 in New York City
3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing