We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #161 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    984
    350
    160
    124
See reviews for
464
1,143
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

From the moment we check-in and check-out, all the staff was very helpful, polite and courteous and they couldn't do enough for us! Our room was clean and spacious with a decent size bathroom too. The air con was left on at all time even without the room key in the slot! Some hotel room's air con would only work if your key was in the slot and from past experience, we've often return to very hot hotel bedrooms as the air con would not come on!
I/We didn't think much of the coffee on the 10th floor, if anything, it's a huge let down but we had the lovely view of the Empire State Building from our bedroom! The rooftop outside space is a bonus too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKCK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience.

We are delighted to hear that our team was helpful to you, we are very proud of our staff!

I am disappointed to learn we did not meet your expectation with our complimentary Kuerig
coffee in our guest lounge but delighted that enjoyed our rooftop patio.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Only problem some rooms are a bit small. The manager Kathy is very helpful. The terrace is extremely pleasant with wonderful view. The area is very nice. I would go back there. The breakfast is OK. Overall I find the hotel very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review n TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your feed back as well as mentioning our team!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This location was perfect for what I needed. The room was clean and comfortable. All hotel rooms in NYC are small so I don't understand why people complain. The front desk staff were wonderful and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your positive feedback and hope we can welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a beautiful and reasonably price hotel. I absolutely loved the rooftop terrace where many of the guests gather for wine and a take out dinner. I would definitely stay there again. Staff was very friendly and welcoming which always makes you feel at home. The rooms are small but this is NYC so we didn't expect anything else but the hotel is extremely clean which is most important.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our guest lounge and roof patio!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights from May 31st 2014. We liked the location on 3rd Avenue where there were lots of bars, grocery stores and restaurants without any noise. Our room was on the 5th floor looking out to E24th street, there wasn't a lot of noise apart from the usual NYC sirens at all hours. The rooms are small, yes but we had 2 wardrobes and a set of drawers and enough space to store cases down the side. The rooms are modern apart from the bathroom. Good hotel away from the hustle and bustle but an easy walk away. We didn't use public transport once. The staff we encountered were great. Thought housekeeping were a little sloppy as often missed items out of our room. Overall a good hotel in a pleasant area. Great trip apart from coming down with flu the last few days.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us as well as our amazing location!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 week in the middle of May, gorgeous hotel very modern and well decorated throughout. Staff are very helpful and friendly at reception. Room was cleaned everyday. Bathroom and shower was really nice. Only downside is our room was quite small struggled with our 4 suitcases , but we didn't spend much time there anyway. Would definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paigekasey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing