We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Was very clean, staff friendly and helpful especially when you are checking in late and are very tired. The rooms are smaller than they appear in the photos. However, the beds are very comfy. Bad thing is that the wi-fi is not free and there is a fridge already in the room but is full of items for pay and unable to put anything in there of your own. Bathroom has modern fixtures. I was quite pleased with the motel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your loyalty to us and for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    1,018
    359
    165
    125
See reviews for
489
1,181
270
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My first time in New York so wasn't sure what to expect from its hotels. I went with this one based on a deal I got and the reviews on Tripadvisor. I wasn't disappointed.

My room was small but perfect for a solo traveller (would probably have suited a couple if they weren't spending a huge amount of time in the hotel) and had a view of the Empire State, which was a lovely surprise. The room had all the basics, and a nice shower. There is a great lounge area upstairs on the 10th floor with amazing views, wifi access and coffee. There are even lounge chairs if you fancy a bit of relaxing or sunbathing.

The staff were all great, particularly the girl at the reception desk (never got her name) who was very helpful and receptive despite my asking her the same questions again and again (I was very tired after taking the train from Boston).

The area was perfect for me. Quiet enough, but with some nice bars in the immediate vicinity and just two or three blocks walk to the subway.

Room Tip: It might be worth asking for a room with a view (if that's your thing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your loyalty to us and for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I were visiting our son in Manhattan. The location was perfect. The street was quiet. The staff was friendly but not in our faces. The room was clean. Worth the price. My only complaint was no free internet.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank atlantasteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've stayed at the Marcel three times now - each for business - and each time I've been quite pleased. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are tiny but lovely and efficient.

Given the prices for most hotels in the city I highly recommend The Marcel - a great value!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we are able to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is a good hotel to stay in for business. When my aunt who lives in New York, stated that I had a very nice room. She also stated this hotel was located in a very good area of New York. When I come to New York again I would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Marcel is a great choice and very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. We were offered a free upgrade upon check in and found the location to be excellent. The hotel has a roof top outside sitting area.

Room Tip: large king bedroom was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertobaggio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for your five star rating on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled to learn you had a great stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The rooms were super tiny which I guess is expected in NYC. This was my first time there, so I was surprised at the tight quarters I stayed in for 3 days. The floors (in rooms and all hallways) in this hotel squeak and the walls are super thin, making the complimentary earplugs necessary. For $200+/night, I expected more from the room. The staff was great though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased to learn that our staff was accommodating to you during your stay. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apology for this.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future, please fee free to co ntact me direct upon your next visit o NYC at nsullivan@marcelhotelnyc.com

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
659 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,247 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
3,603 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
428 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing