We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marcel at Gramercy
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$503
US$365
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$335
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$220
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$492
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,492)
Filter reviews
3,493 results
Traveller rating
1,682
1,110
395
176
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,682
1,110
395
176
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungefloor loungenew yorktenth floorthe empire state buildingroof terracemadison square parkboutique hotelfree coffeebigger roomrooms are smallcontinental breakfaststreet noisean upgradecorner roomaround the cornerlocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,768 - 2,773 of 3,493 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed at Marcel in April. The first night we arrived they informed us that the Hotel was "overbooked". We were shipped up to their sister Hotel close to Times square, the Ameritena. We would not accept being re-located their for our whole 5 night stay. they subsequently upgraded us and paid our cab fare. We believe this was a policy of the Hotel rather than an "overbooking" issue, as we had seen other guests with the same problem. Be careful if checking in late in the evening to ring ahead and inform them.

Despite this, we found the rest of our stay enjoyable, the room was great and spacious in comparison to other rooms in the Hotel which we walked past. The decor was newly renovated, cleanliness throughout was excellent and staff were friendly. The location was good and the cocktail bar/ restaurant on the groundfloor was pretty cool also. Continental style Breakfast was served each morning on the 10th floor, views of the Empire state Building etc from here were fabulous. Overall we were very pleased despite being messed about the first night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Stayed here for 6 nights at the end of April.

Both room and common areas were nice and clean, the hotel was redecorated in 2007.

Location is very, very good, some 5-7 minutes stroll to the nearest subway station. And the Flatiron buiding one block further away. The area of Gramercy and Flatiron houses lots of restaurants and bars - both high end (Michelin rated) and more "common"

We stayed in room 609 (superior room) which is next to the elevator (but no noise from it what so ever). The room was big (very big for NYC) and facing the corner of 3rd and 24th.
Aircondition worked perfectly, no complaints - NY enjoyed som very hot days when we stayed there, temperature above 30 degrees (centigrade).
If you are wary for street sound, you may ask for a room facing the backyard - there are street sounds, no doubt about it, but thats just part of the charm of NYC - so it didn't bother us.

Service was good, although we didn't challenge them a lot regarding restaurants etc (we had booked all our restaurants in advance). Check in/out went smooth, luggage storing and airport taxi went without problems.

There is also a guest longe on the 10th floor with free internet access, and a rooftop terrace with nice views to some NYC landmarks (Empire State Building for instance).
value

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Stayed at the Marcel for 9 nights in Feb. This was our first trip to NY and I spent much time researching where to stay. We eventually decided on the Marcel given the great rate ($180 AUD) per night for a deluxe room and we could not have been happier with the hotel. The location is excellent and the rooms are fantastic, our room looked exactly like the pictures on the web site. We stayed on the 9th floor and did not have problems with noise. Rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day.

Staff were very helpful and the doorman very friendly. Staff were helpful in assisting us locate our lost mobile phone.

The italian restaurant beside the hotel "inoteca" is excellent. Great value meals and some delicious cocktails. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Also a great burger shop a few doors up. There are plenty of small supermarkets, pharmacy's etc very close by.

Hotel is within easy walking distance to the subway and its not too far to walk to Times Square and the Village.

Free internet on the top floor was handy and the view from here was great. Free coffee here also.

I would highly recommend this hotel. The area is great and away from the hordes of tourists in the Time Square area. The hotel is in a 'real' Manhattan neighborhood. Hotel is new and very modern.

For a great rate, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancing_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

This is a totally excellent hotel. The bedroom was spacious and clean with an excellent double shower. Very, very comfortable bed.The location was superb with lots of great bars along 3rd avenue. Everything is in walking distance. My room faced onto the street and it certainly wasn't noisy. (it's back ground noise but certainly didn't keep us awake) Great views of the empire state building).
Already booking to go back again.
Andrea in Kuwait

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreeq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

After reading trip advisor my husband and I booked a deluxe room for our 4 night stay in New York. Upon arrival the guy on reception told us that they'd 'lost' our booking. After 30 mins he said he had a room, but didn't explain that it was a standard and we'd paid for a deluxe room. After my husband complained he finally admitted that there were no deluxe rooms available (although we met another couple that had to spend their first night in a standard room so clearly this isn't a one off mistake) and his response was 'what do you want me to do about it'. He said he'd only charge us for a standard room, which was good of him! The first standard room we received was on a smoking floor and absolutely stank, so after complaining again he finally moved us to another tiny room with no outside window and a buzzing air conditioning unit outside our room - really great! I complained and he said he would reduce the first night room rate by $20 (I would rather have a decent room!), but still gave no apology and this was after quite a few trips to complain. I think the reception staff here clearly need to go on customer training and I'm not sure this is a one of mistake as other people have experienced the same problem so take care if you book a deluxe room, you may not get it!
On the second day (late in the afternoon) we did finally get our deluxe room, which was nice, but the single glazed windows in New York aren't the best if you are trying to sleep.
The location is excellent so my advise would be stay in this location but a different hotel.
We'll wont be going back to the Marcel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews