We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't recommend staying here - especially with kids!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 May 2009

The Marcel is a very nicely decorated hotel. That's the nicest thing I can say about it!

Its very cold, lacks charm or anything else to make it attractive or worth the $200+/night rates.

They also misinformed us and outright lied to us on the phone. We reserved 2 rooms that were adjoined, and were assured they could accommodate us - we even called to verify this twice. Each time we were assured we could have the 2 adjoining rooms. They did not specify any particular circumstances under which they might not be able to accommodate us.

We got there and were told at that point that they could not accommodate us. But then they went ahead and charged us for the rooms anyway! It took an hour of time out of my work day to get the charge reversed on my credit card.

Another guest yelled (literally!) at us because our baby was crying at 9pm. It is not exactly a family-friendly hotel, but they do provide cribs so its not like families with children are dissuaded from staying there.

In the rooms, beware of the snacks that they display - if you remove one of them for more than 20 seconds, you get charged for it! Even if you put it back after 21 seconds.

Also, you could use one of their 2 PCs for internet access - but no wireless otherwise. Very lame!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mjones37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,108)
There are newer reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 3,111 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2009

Instant check in, mannerly helpful staff. Room was average size but very well presented and maintained. location was amazing, 5 minute walk to union square, soho in 15 minutes,times square/port authority 10 mins. 5th avenue 2 minutes.
excellent bar and brasserie attached to hotel. plenty of bars & delis on street.
i have no bad things to say about this place. we paid €470 for a double room and looking back i think it was a bargain for what we got.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishmaninnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I stayed here alone for 4 nights and it was around £280, which I think is great value. The area was good and things were in easy walking distance.
The hotel was great, clean and nicely decorated. I didnt have a good view but it didnt really matter.
They have 30 min of free internet access and free coffee upstairs in the business lounge.
It was quiet and the staff were helpful.
They have a roof terrace where you can see the empire state buidling.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenDayRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed at Marcel in April. The first night we arrived they informed us that the Hotel was "overbooked". We were shipped up to their sister Hotel close to Times square, the Ameritena. We would not accept being re-located their for our whole 5 night stay. they subsequently upgraded us and paid our cab fare. We believe this was a policy of the Hotel rather than an "overbooking" issue, as we had seen other guests with the same problem. Be careful if checking in late in the evening to ring ahead and inform them.

Despite this, we found the rest of our stay enjoyable, the room was great and spacious in comparison to other rooms in the Hotel which we walked past. The decor was newly renovated, cleanliness throughout was excellent and staff were friendly. The location was good and the cocktail bar/ restaurant on the groundfloor was pretty cool also. Continental style Breakfast was served each morning on the 10th floor, views of the Empire state Building etc from here were fabulous. Overall we were very pleased despite being messed about the first night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Stayed here for 6 nights at the end of April.

Both room and common areas were nice and clean, the hotel was redecorated in 2007.

Location is very, very good, some 5-7 minutes stroll to the nearest subway station. And the Flatiron buiding one block further away. The area of Gramercy and Flatiron houses lots of restaurants and bars - both high end (Michelin rated) and more "common"

We stayed in room 609 (superior room) which is next to the elevator (but no noise from it what so ever). The room was big (very big for NYC) and facing the corner of 3rd and 24th.
Aircondition worked perfectly, no complaints - NY enjoyed som very hot days when we stayed there, temperature above 30 degrees (centigrade).
If you are wary for street sound, you may ask for a room facing the backyard - there are street sounds, no doubt about it, but thats just part of the charm of NYC - so it didn't bother us.

Service was good, although we didn't challenge them a lot regarding restaurants etc (we had booked all our restaurants in advance). Check in/out went smooth, luggage storing and airport taxi went without problems.

There is also a guest longe on the 10th floor with free internet access, and a rooftop terrace with nice views to some NYC landmarks (Empire State Building for instance).
value

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Stayed at the Marcel for 9 nights in Feb. This was our first trip to NY and I spent much time researching where to stay. We eventually decided on the Marcel given the great rate ($180 AUD) per night for a deluxe room and we could not have been happier with the hotel. The location is excellent and the rooms are fantastic, our room looked exactly like the pictures on the web site. We stayed on the 9th floor and did not have problems with noise. Rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day.

Staff were very helpful and the doorman very friendly. Staff were helpful in assisting us locate our lost mobile phone.

The italian restaurant beside the hotel "inoteca" is excellent. Great value meals and some delicious cocktails. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Also a great burger shop a few doors up. There are plenty of small supermarkets, pharmacy's etc very close by.

Hotel is within easy walking distance to the subway and its not too far to walk to Times Square and the Village.

Free internet on the top floor was handy and the view from here was great. Free coffee here also.

I would highly recommend this hotel. The area is great and away from the hordes of tourists in the Time Square area. The hotel is in a 'real' Manhattan neighborhood. Hotel is new and very modern.

For a great rate, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancing_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

This is a totally excellent hotel. The bedroom was spacious and clean with an excellent double shower. Very, very comfortable bed.The location was superb with lots of great bars along 3rd avenue. Everything is in walking distance. My room faced onto the street and it certainly wasn't noisy. (it's back ground noise but certainly didn't keep us awake) Great views of the empire state building).
Already booking to go back again.
Andrea in Kuwait

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreeq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
The Evelyn
#290 of 468 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 468 in New York City
360 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,225 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 468 in New York City
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing