We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great.”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #132 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was reasonably priced and touted itself as a four star hotel, but there wasn't much special about it. For me the best thing was the proximity to Korean food (its in Korea town) which I ate everyday. Otherwise the neighbourhood isnt as charismatic as Greenwich or Soho.

The front desk staff and the bell-staff were lovely, but the downsides are:
- there is no room service. I had a massive hangover one day and couldn't get out of the room until 5pm to go and get something to eat.
- they say they offer discounted daily guest passes to Equinox, but it was $25 and I don't believe this was discounted (not the same day as the hangover), it was good gym though 2 blocks away
- the lift was ancient and took forever
- no view

Although the staff were helpful, the hotel itself doesn't offer much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Sandst0rm,

I’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Avalon. We value your feedback and are very sorry that your visit was not what you had expected. We apologize that we could not offer you free passes to Equinox, but hope that we can make it up to you next time. Please contact my office directly if you visit New York again, as I would like to extend to you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Everything about the Avalon lived up to or exceeded our expectations, which is why it gets a top rating. We were a party of 5 and stayed for 4 nights from 31st May.

We arrived at the hotel at midday, our luggage was taken care of and were told that we could book in straight away if we didn't mind rooms on different floors, but the rooms reserved for us were close together on the 7th floor and would be available a little later. We chose to wait, went to a local deli for a coffee just along the road (which the doorman recommended). We were not disappointed with the quality of the rooms, and the beds were extremely comfortable, as mentioned by others.

All through our stay the staff were helpful and friendly, giving advice on how to get to places, booking cabs etc. all as you would expect. There is free internet and printing, which was extremely useful.

As for location, just about perfect. Between 5th and Madison Avenue, you can get uptown or downtown in a short time on the subway for a flat single journey fare of $2.50! otherwise the cabs are relatively cheap we generally paid about $8.00 to get anywhere on Manhatten.

New York was a fantastic experience, and we did all the usual tourist sites. A few tips, we pre booked the New York Pass and did the Empire State Building at about 09.00, no queues, we were at the top in about 10 minutes. By the time we came down about an hour later, there were hundreds queueing. The Skyride experience was a little disappointing. The Rockefeller Centre was done in the evening with only minor queues. Other attractions were 'The Beast', exhilarating and fun. Liberty Island is worth the trip, although access to the Statue is closed at the moment.
We also visited the WTC memorial site, which was hugely emotional.

All in all a great experience, will definitely go back, there is so much more to see and do, when we do without doubt we will stay at the Avalon.

The Hawes family, UK

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_Hawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Alan_Hawes,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that it was a great one. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your experience with the staff and the activities around the hotel-- you've given some great suggestions that we'll definitely give to future guests! We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was our first trip to NYC and stayed at the Avalaon from June 6 to June 14. We had booked 2 DeLuxe Suites for 6 people via Hotels.com. Whilst the rooms coontained 2 queen sized beds and a sofa bed and so would have accomodated us perfectly well but the Manager (Michael Rawson) decided to make some changes and we ended up with an Executive Suite, a DeLuxe Suite and a Double Room, yes 3 rooms for the price of 2!! The rooms were clean, spacious and there was maid service every day with fresh towels and toiletries. The staff could not have been more helpful even on the odd days where there some some hiccups they were dealt with promptly and professionally. You certainly got the unmistakable sense that you were a special customer and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is in the perfect location between 5th Avenue and Madison and literally just around the corner from the Empire State. It is also close to several subway lines and there are several good places close by to have breakfast if you do not want to have breakfast at the hotel.

There was very little to fault accommodation wise and the staff are clearly the hotel's greatest asset - I would certainly not hesitate to return when next in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CityTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear CityTraveller007,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that it was a great one. We aim to offer the best customer service possible, so we really appreciate you sharing your experience with the staff. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

great location, large room, clean, friendly helpful staff. a stones throw from epmire state building .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear barry c,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience—we are glad that you liked the room and hope you got a chance to visit the Empire State Building. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit. Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York, as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is average as far as NYC hotels go. The room was just OK but one of the good things was that it had hard wood floors instead of carpet. The size of the room was pretty large for a NYC hotel and the location was great. It was 2 blocks from Macy's and had easy access to subway stations. It served it's purpose but I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatever240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear whatever240,

We very much appreciate your feedback on your stay at the Avalon, and are sorry that your visit was not what you had hoped for. We value your comments and would like to make appropriate changes in the future, so if you would like to discuss at further length regarding what you found disappointing about your stay, please contact me. We’d love the chance to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you return to New York as I would like to provide you with a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Avalon from May 26th to June 1st. Can't say enough good things about the hotel or staff. A special thanks to Aylin Gonzalez, who looked after us. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite. The beds were new and very comfortable. The furniture may be a little older but more importantly everything is clean and there are no bugs! The linen and towels are good quality too. The continental breakfast offers a good variety of fresh cut fruits, Danish, breads, bagels and cold cereals. They even make fresh beet and carrot juice every morning! Though New York is a noisy city our room was extremely quiet and we never heard traffic noise. The hotel is within walking distance to Times Square, Soho, Central Park and pretty much anywhere within Manhattan providing you enjoy a walk. We couldn't ask for a better location. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return in the future.
Bev & Roger - Calgary, AB. Canada

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Bev B,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit, and are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast service during your stay. Thank you for letting us know about your experience—we will certainly let Mr. Gonzalez know that his efforts were appreciated. We also hope that you will return to the Avalon, so please contact my office directly if you do, as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great hotel - with free wi-fi, spacious jr suite, and great location to NY attractions. Close to Grand Central & airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MW2012JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear MW2012JA,

We are so glad that your stay at the Avalon was a great one. We are thrilled that our location made getting around easier, and hope that you got the chance to hit all of the New York hotspots in the area as a result. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#129 of 469 in New York City
3,426 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
540 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#177 of 469 in New York City
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#148 of 469 in New York City
2,831 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 469 in New York City
755 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#207 of 469 in New York City
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing